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What is a Restaurant Beer and Wine (RBW) license?

An RBW license allows a restaurant to serve beer and 
wine to patrons who order food. Montana law defines 
“restaurant” as a public eating place where:

•	 the staff prepares and serves individually priced 
meals that patrons eat on the premises;  

•	 at least 65% of the establishment’s annual gross 
income is from the sale of food;

•	 the space includes a dining room and a kitchen;
•	 there is a sufficient number and variety of 

employees needed to prepare, cook and serve 
meals and to satisfy the department that the 
space is intended as a full-service restaurant; and 

•	 dinner is served at least four days a week for at 
least two hours, between 5 p.m. and 11 p.m.

A fast-food restaurant, an establishment that serves a 
majority of its food and drink in throw-away containers, 
does not meet the definition of restaurant for the 
purpose of this license. Gambling is not allowed in 
conjunction with an RBW license. 

Restaurants with an RBW license can request from the 
Department of Revenue a catering endorsement that 
allows the licensee to provide food, beer and wine at a 
special event within 100 miles of the licensed premises. 
At least 65% of gross income earned from the event 
must come from the sale of food.

Where do I start?

Montana law requires the Department of Revenue to 
issue a limited number of RBW licenses and allows the 
department to issue them only inside, or within five 
miles of, the limits of an incorporated city or town. The 
number of licenses is limited by the population of the 

city or town in which the licenses operate. 

To see if any RBW licenses are available in the city 
or town you’d like to operate the license, contact the 
Department of Revenue toll free at (866) 859-2254 or 
in Helena at (406) 444-6900. 

If a new license is available, you may begin the 
application process.  If a new license is not available, 
you may be able to purchase a pre-existing license. 
Check with a local real estate agent or the Montana 
Tavern Association for a listing of licenses for sale.  

What are the associated Costs?

Applicants have to pay 20% of the one-time seating fee 
listed below at the time they submit an RBW application. 
The remaining balance is due before approval of the 
application.

•	 One-time Liquor Control processing fee: $200
•	 Annual license fee: $400
•	 One-time seating fee for restaurants able to seat 



60 people or less: $5,000 (20% = $1,000)
•	 One-time seating fee for restaurants able to 

seat between 61 and 100 people: $10,000 (20% 
= $2,000)

•	 One-time seating fee for restaurants able to seat 
101 people or more: $20,000 (20% = $4,000)

•	 Catering endorsement fee (if applicable): $200
•	 Fingerprint card fee for each individual with 10% 

or more interest in the business: price subject to 
fluctuation

Seating fees apply only to newly issued licenses. The 
other fees apply when buying a pre-existing license 
and are in addition to the cost of buying the license 
from a third party. 

How do I apply?

To apply for a new or existing license, you’ll need to 
provide the Department of Revenue with the following: 

1.	 A completed Alcoholic Beverage/Gambling Operator 
Combined License application, including: 

•	 A personal history statement
•	 Liquor authorization to disclose tax information 

form 
•	 Certified survey affidavit

You can file your combined license application at 
https://tap.dor.mt.gov/?Link=CombinedAPP. You can 
obtain a complete application package, as well as fin-
gerprint cards for background check, by visiting rev-
enue.mt.gov/home/liquor/forms.aspx or by calling 
(406)444-6900 or (866)859-2254. 

2.	 Financial records showing the purchase of the 
license and/or building, including:
•	 Copies of any loan agreements, contracts, notes 

and all related security agreements. If you didn’t 
take any loans, then you will need to provide 
copies of your bank statements.

•	 Copies of lease, rent, purchase options, 
financing agreements or other evidence showing 
possessory interest in the building

•	 Financial statements, such as balance sheet, 
income statement or tax return for the business

•	 Franchise agreement
•	 Purchase/transfer documents for liquor license, 

such as buy/sell agreement, contract for deed, 
warranty deed and bill of sale

•	 Copy of business’ bank signature card 

3.	 Ownership information, including:
•	 Copy of partnership agreement documentation 

(if applicable)
•	 Copy of Articles of Incorporation and Amendments 

or Addendums
•	 Copy of Bylaws and Amendments or Addendums
•	 Copy of Certificate of Fact (for LLCs and LLPs)
•	 LLC organizational information
•	 Copy of stock certificates, corporate minutes 

and attachments



•	 Stock ledger or register
•	 Copy of Certificate of Existence (for instate 

corporations)
•	 Copy of authority to conduct business in Montana 

(for out-of-state corporations)
•	 Copy of documentation from the Secretary 

of State verifying that the use of the assumed 
business name (ABN) has been approved

•	 Copy of federal employer identification number 
(FEIN) verification from IRS

•	 Completed personal history statement form from 
each individual with 10% or more interest in the 
business

•	 Two fingerprint cards from each individual with 
10% or more interest in the business (for the 
purpose of background check)

•	 Fingerprint card fee for each individual with 10% 
or more interest in the business

4.	 Management information, including:
•	 Copy of management agreement, contract or 

minutes identifying who is managing the daily 
operation of the business (necessary only if 
applying as entity) 

•	 Personal history statement form from each 
manager

•	 Two fingerprint cards from each manager (for 
the purpose of a background check)

•	 Fingerprint card fee for each manager 

5.  Miscellaneous information, including:
•	 An Authorization to Disclose Tax Information 

form to verify that all involved parties are up-to-
date with their tax filings and payments

•	 A floor plan showing any areas where you intend 
to serve or store alcohol. The floor plan should 
show seating areas, external dimensions, entry 
ways and any patio area.

•	 A certified survey identifying the exact location, 
including address and quota area (city or county), 
of the premises. The survey may be completed 
by a licensed surveyor.

•	 A copy of the restaurant’s menu showing that the 
restaurant serves an evening dinner

•	 A document stating the restaurant’s hours of 
operation

Mail all documents to: 
Department of Justice, Gambling Control Division 
2550 Prospect Ave 
P.O. Box 201424 
Helena, MT 59620

What are the steps in the application process?

The application process takes between 90 and 120 
days and begins when the Gambling Control Division 
(GCD) receives a complete application package and 
all supporting documents. The process follows state 
statutes, as written in Montana Code Annotated. 

•	 The Department of Revenue, Liquor Control 



Division (LCD) reviews the application.  
•	 GCD sends a letter to the applicant requesting 

any additional documents it might need.
•	 After GCD receives all documents it requires, 

LCD then publishes a legal notice in a newspaper 
circulated in the city, town or county in which 
the license would be issued. The notice informs 
readers of the applicant’s intent to acquire a 
license. The notice also tells readers where they 
can send any objections they might have to LCD 
approving the license and the deadline for doing 
so.  

•	 LCD notifies local agencies with jurisdiction over 
the area (e.g. law enforcement, fire department, 
health department, etc.) of any deficiencies in 
the application. 

•	 After the protest deadline and the completion of 
the audit review, LCD and GCD conduct a final 
review of the application. If necessary, LCD and 
GCD request from the applicant any additional 
documents that the audit review might have 
identified as needed. 

•	 If one or more people filed a protest, LCD 
schedules a hearing with the applicant and 
protestor(s). The application process is 
discontinued until the hearing examiner makes a 
ruling on the application.  

•	 Once the hearing examiner makes a ruling and/
or LCD has received all additional documents it 
has requested from the applicant, LCD promptly 
issues a final decision.

What are the rules of an RBW license?

State rule, as written in Administrative Rules of Montana 
(42.13.101): All licensees, their agents, and employees 
must conduct the licensed premises in compliance with 
the rules of other state and local agencies and abide by 

all: provisions of the laws of Montana and the United 
States related to alcoholic beverages; county and city or 
town ordinances related to alcoholic beverages; Indian 
liquor laws applicable within the areas of Indian country, 
as defined by 18 USC 1151, provided a tribe having 
jurisdiction over such area of Indian country adopted 
an ordinance, certified by the Secretary of the Interior, 
and published in the Federal Register; and rules of the 
department relating to alcoholic beverages.  

Serving
•	 You must serve dinner four days a week for at 

least two hours, between 5 and 11 p.m.
•	 All employees serving open-container alcoholic 

beverages must be 18 years or older.
•	 You may provide samples of beer and wine, with 

or without a charge, to customers ordering food.
•	 You may serve alcohol on your patio, deck or lawn 

if the area was specifically designated on the 
floor plan you submitted with your application, if 
it has a perimeter barrier and if it is immediately 
adjacent to the indoor portion of the licensed 
premises. 



•	 You may serve beer and wine from 11 a.m. to 11 
p.m. You may stay open after 11 p.m. or open 
before 11 a.m. as long as you do not serve alcohol 
during that time. 

•	 You may serve beer and wine to customers who 
are seated for table service and intending to 
order food. 

•	 All beer and wine purchases must be stated on 
the food bill. Beer or wine may not be purchased 
separately.

•	 You may serve beer and wine to customers in 
designated waiting areas if they are waiting to 
be seated and intending to order food.

Consumption
•	 Customers may consume alcohol in a “smoking 

hut” if the hut is part of the approved premises on 
file with the department. You need to be aware 
of local laws regarding open containers, which 
can change from one county or city to another. 

•	 No one, including customers, is permitted to 
consume alcohol at the service bar, the area 
where alcohol beverages are stored and prepared 
for table delivery.  

•	 No one, including the licensee and employees, 
may consume any alcohol on the licensed 
premises between 11 p.m. and 11 a.m. 

•	 Customers cannot bring their own beer or wine 
onto the premises. 

•	 You may purchase your beer or wine only from 
a brewery, winery, distributor or wholesaler 
licensed by the state.

Alterations
If you decide to remodel or otherwise alter your 
establishment, to keep your premises licensed 
you will need to send to the department a written 
request explaining the alterations and include a 
copy of the existing floor plan and a proposed floor 
plan showing the alterations. Once the department 

reviews and approves the request, you may begin 
the alteration without it affecting your license. Once 
completed, you cannot operate in the space until it’s 
passed fire, building and health inspections. 

Seasonal business
If a licensed establishment—such as a dude ranch, 
resort, park hotel, tourist facility or similar seasonal 
business—would like to begin operating its license 
on a seasonal basis, it will need to send a written 
request for doing so to the department. If approved, 
the license closure is only effective from the date of 
the department’s letter of authorization through the 
end of the specified period.

Miscellaneous
Because the RBW license does not include liquor, 
you may not use distilled spirits in preparing dishes.
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