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911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

Statute: Title 10, Chapter 4

911 Emergency Telephone Service Fee

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue o 914
FY 2008 $12,986,143 é $12
FY2009  $13,249,845 =
FY 2010 $13,801,647 <8
FY 2011 $13,376,568
FY 2012 $13,212,111 56
FY 2013 $13,062,990 S4
FY 2014 $13,009,356 $2
FY 2015 $12,947,304 %0

FY 2016 $13,120,489
FY 2017 $13,020,367
FY 2018 $13,003,639

Fee Rate

Montana imposes monthly fees totaling $1.00 per telephone access line to pay for 911 services. The 2017
Legislature changed the structure and use of these fees, beginning in Fiscal Year 2019. Through Fiscal
Year 2018, the fee is in three parts: $0.25 to support basic 911 services, $0.25 to support enhanced 911
services, and $0.50 to support wireless enhanced 911 services. Beginning in Fiscal Year 2019, the fee is in
two parts, $0.75 for distribution to local governments that host 911 answering services and $0.25 to fund a
competitive grant program open to telecommunications providers and local governments.

The department is unable to collect the fee on prepaid wireless cellular telephone services sold through
third parties, like retail and grocery stores, because providers successfully argued in court that they can not
determine where pre-paid cards will be used.

Filing Requirements

The subscriber paying for exchange access line services is liable for the fees, but providers collect the fees
and remit them to the state on a quarterly basis. The provider collecting the fee must file a return on or
before the last day of the month following the end of each calendar quarter.

Distribution

The 2017 Legislature changed the distribution of 911 fees, beginning in Fiscal Year 2019. Through Fiscal
Year 2018, the department deposited each of the three fees in a separate account, and 2.74 percent
of total collections was statutorily appropriated to the Department of Administration to cover its costs of
administering the program. Beginning in Fiscal Year 2019, the department is to deposit all the fees in a
single account and the Department of Administration will allocate funds to the individual programs. The
Department of Administration is appropriated a fixed amount from collections to cover its costs.

Distribution of 911 Fees

Fund FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018
Emergency System Acct. (2.74%) $356,456 $354,756 $359,501 $356,758 $356,300
Basic 911 Emergency Program (24.315%) $3,163,224 $3,148,299 $3,190,248 $3,165,902 $3,161,835
Enhanced 911 Phone Program (24.315%) $3,163,224 $3,148,299 $3,190,248 $3,165,902 $3,161,835
Wireless Enhanced 911 Phone Program
911 Jurisdictions (24.315%) $3,163,226 $3,147,975 $3,190,245 $3,165,903 $3,161,835
Wireless Providers (24.315%) $3,163,226 $3,147,975 $3,190,245 $3,165,903 $3,161,835
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911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

State Comparison

911 services typically are provided by local governments with the cooperation of telecommunications
providers. Funding for 911 services comes from fees imposed by state governments, local governments, or
both. The following table is based on information from National Emergency Number Association and shows
fees for each state. Where a range of fees is shown, it generally indicates that there are varying local fees,
sometimes combined with a statewide fee.

911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

State Landline Wireless Prepaid Wireless Voice over
Internet Protocol
Alabama $1.75 $1.75 $1.75 $1.75
Alaska $0.00 - $2.00 $0.00 - $2.00
Arizona $0.20 $0.20 0.8% $0.20
Arkansas 5% to 12% $0.65 $0.65 $0.65
California 0.75% 0.75% 0.75% 0.75%
Colorado $0.43 to $1.75 $0.43 to $1.75 1.5% $0.43 to $1.75
Connecticut $0.47 $0.47 $0.47 $0.47
Delaware $0.60 $0.60 $0.60 $0.60
District of
Columbia $0.76 $0.76 2.0% $0.76
Florida $0.40 $0.40 to $0.44 $0.40 $0.40
Georgia $1.50 $1.00 0.75% $1.50
Hawaii $0.27 $0.66 $0.66
Idaho $1.00 to $1.25 $1.00 to $1.25 2.5% $1.00 to $1.25
lllinois $0.87 $0.87 3% $0.87
Indiana $1.00 $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
lowa $1.00 $1.00 $0.51 $1.00
Kansas $0.53 $0.53 1.06% $0.53
Kentucky $0.36 to $4.50 $0.70 $0.93 $0.36 to $4.50
Louisiana rﬁﬁgﬁgg:j'&%358;)0&1_6205 $0.85 to $1.25 4% $0.38 to $1.25
Maine $0.45 $0.45 $0.45 $0.45
Maryland $1.00 $1.00 $0.60 $1.00
Massachusetts $1.00 $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
Michigan $0.19 to $3.19 $0.19 to $3.19 1.92% $0.19 to $3.19
Minnesota $0.95 $0.95 $0.95 $0.95
S residential: $1.05
Mississippi Commercial $2.05 $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
Missouri varies by county
Montana $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
Nebraska $0.50 to $1.00 $0.45 to $0.70 1.1%
Nevada varies by jurisdiction varies by jurisdiction
New Hampshire $075 $075 $075 $075
New Jersey $0.90 $0.90 $0.90
New Mexico $0.51 $0.51
New York $0.35 to $1.00 $1.20 to $1.50 $0.35
North Carolina $0.60 $0.60 $0.60 $0.60
North Dakota $1.00 to $1.50 $1.00 to $1.50 2% $1.00 to $1.50
Ohio $0.00 to $0.50 $0.25 0.5%
Oklahoma 3% to 15% $0.75 $0.75 $0.50
Oregon $0.75 $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
Pennsylvania $1.65 $1.65 $1.65 $1.65
Rhode Island $1.00 $1.26 2.5% $1.26
South Carolina $0.30 to $1.00 $0.62 $0.62 $0.30 to $1.00
South Dakota $1.25 $1.25 2% $1.25
Tennessee $1.16 $1.16 $1.16 $1.16
Texas $0.50 state + varying local $0.50 2% $0'5(.) state +
varying local
Utah $0.76 $0.76 1.9% $0.76
Vermont funded through universal service fund
Virginia $0.75 $0.75 $0.50 $0.75
Washington $0.95 $0.95 $0.95 $0.95
West Virginia $0.98 to $6.40 $3.00 6% $0.98 to $6.40
Wisconsin $0.16 to $0.43
Wyoming $0.25 to $0.75 $0.25 to $0.75 1.5% $0.25 to $0.75




Cigarette License Fee

Statute: 16-11-122, MCA

Cigarette Income Tax

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue » 520
FY 2008 $14071 £ 08
FY 2009 $14,170 22
FY 2010 $13575 2 1),
FY 2011 $13,360 $10
FY 2012 $13,130 $8
FY 2013 $13,230 $6
FY 2014 $13,610 2‘2‘ llll.ll. Il
FY 2015 $13,330 20 -
FY 2016 $18,095 ® O S > O > o
FY 2017 $16,450 ST 5
FY 2018 $16,115 3 L 3 3 < 3 & 3 3 3 3

Fee Rate

Sellers of tobacco, alternative nicotine, and vapor products in Montana are required to have a license
from the state and to renew the license annually. The fee is $50 for wholesalers, who buy products from
manufacturers and attach tax stamps, sub-jobbers, who buy tax-stamped products for resale, and vendors
who operate 10 or more vending machines. For retailers and vendors with nine or fewer vending machines,
the fee is $5. The sale of alternative nicotine and vapor products requires a separate license with an annual

fee of $5.
Cigarette License Fee Schedule
Status Annual Renewal Fee
Wholesalers & Sub-Jobbers $50
Vendors (10 or More Machines) $50
Vendors (9 or Fewer Machines) $5
Retailers $5
Alternative Tobacco or Vaping Products $5

Filing Requirements
Licenses must be renewed annually by the anniversary date.

Distribution

Revenues from the license fees are deposited in the state General Fund (16-11-124, MCA). Cigarette
enforcement activities of the department and the Department of Justice are funded by an appropriation from
the General Fund, rather than directly by fees.
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Cigarette Tax

Statute: 16-11-111, MCA and 16-11-119, MCA

Cigarette Tax

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue
FY 2008 $83,882,748
FY 2009 $79,905,894
FY 2010 $77,071,487
FY 2011 $74,090,938
FY 2012 $75,533,075
FY 2013 $74,790,040
FY 2014 $73,839,772
FY 2015 $71,843,320
FY 2016 $73,219,123
FY 2017 $71,872,218
FY 2018 $65,495,811

Tax Rate
Cigarettes and small cigars that resemble cigarettes are subject to a tax of $1.70 per pack of 20. If they are
sold in a different size package, the tax is $0.085 per cigarette.

The 2003 Legislature increased the rate from $0.18 to $0.70 effective May 1, 2003. In 2004, voters approved
an initiative, 1-149, which increased the rate to its current level.

Filing Requirements

The tax is paid by wholesalers, who must affix a tax insignia to each package of cigarettes to indicate the tax
has been paid. Wholesalers purchase tax stamps from the department. Wholesalers purchase tax insignia
at a small discount to reimburse them for their costs of affixing insignias and collecting the tax.

Distribution

Federal law reserves for the tribes the right to tax cigarettes sold to tribal members on their reservations. To
avoid problems with non-members trying to avoid the tax by buying cigarettes on a reservation, Montana has
entered into revenue sharing agreements with the tribal government of most reservations. The agreement
with the Confederated Salish and Kootenai Tribes provides for a fixed number of tax-free cigarettes to
be sold to retailers on the Flathead Reservation. These agreements provide for a refund of tax on a fixed
number of cigarettes sold to retailers on each reservation and for each tribe to receive a share of revenue
from the tax.

After distributing revenues according to the tribal revenue sharing agreements, cigarette tax revenues are
distributed as follows:

The Department of Revenue to pay its cost of purchasing tax stamps.
o Department of Public Health and Human Services for maintenance and operation of state veterans’
nursing homes. The larger of:
o 8.3 percent of revenues, or
o $2 million
e Long-Range Building Program Account.
o 2.6 percent of revenues
e State special revenue fund for Health and Medicaid initiatives.
o 44 percent of revenues
e State general fund (16-11- 119, MCA).
o Remaining revenues
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Cigarette Tax

Distribution of Cigarette Tax

Fund

Total Revenue

Tobacco and Cig. Tribal Agreement
Remainder

State Veterans' Home (8.3%)

SW State Veterans' Home (1.2%)

Long Range Building Program (2.6%)

DPHHS-Medicaid Initiatives (44%)

General Fund (remainder)

FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018
$73,839,772  $71,843,320  $73,219,123  $71,872,218  $65,495,811
$4,083,458 $4,407,522 $4,254,158 $4,115,751 $3,929,686
$69,756,313  $67,435,798  $68,964,965  $67,756,467  $61,566,125
$5,789,774 $5,597,171 $5,724,092 $5,623,787 $5,107,968
$837,076 $809,230 $0 $0 $0
$1,813,664 $1,753,331 $1,793,089 $1,761,668 $1,600,087
$30,692,778  $29,671,751  $30,344,584  $29,812,846  $27,078,385
$30,623,022  $29,604,315  $31,103,199  $30,558,167  $27,755,344

From fiscal year 2012 through 2015, 1.2 percent of the revenue was distributed to a special revenue fund
for the construction of a state veteran’s home in southwestern Montana.

State Comparison

All states have a state cigarette tax. Five states allow local jurisdictions to impose an additional tax. The
following tables show state, local, and combined cigarette taxes as of January 1, 2018.

The range of taxes is very wide, from $0.21 in parts of Missouri to over $6 in parts of lllinois. Twenty-two
states have taxes that are higher than Montana’s, 27 have taxes that are lower than Montana’s, and one

has the same tax rate as Montana.

Cigarette Excise Tax Rates

State

Alabama
Alaska
Arizona
Arkansas
California
Colorado
Connecticut
Delaware
Florida
Georgia
Hawaii
Idaho
lllinois

State
$0.68
$2.00
$2.00
$1.15
$2.87
$0.84
$4.35
$2.10
$1.34
$0.37
$3.20
$0.57
$1.98

$0.01t0 $0.25 $0.685 to $0.925

$0.1 to $4.18

Tax ($ per Pack)
Local Total
$2.00
$2.00
$1.15
$2.87
$0.84
$4.35
$2.10
$1.34
$0.37
$3.20
$0.57

$2.08 to $6.16
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Cigarette Tax
. CigaretteExcise TaxRates

Cigarette Excise Tax Rates

State Tax ($ per Pack)

State Local Total
Indiana $1.00 $1.00
lowa $1.36 $1.36
Kansas $1.29 $1.29
Kentucky $0.60 $0.60
Louisiana $1.08 $1.08
Maine $2.00 $2.00
Maryland $2.00 $2.00
Massachusetts $3.51 $3.51
Michigan $2.00 $2.00
Minnesota $3.61 $3.61
Missippi $0.68 $0.68
Missouri $0.17  $0.04 to $0.07 $0.21 to $0.24
Montana $1.70 $1.70
Nebraska $0.64 $0.64
Nevada $1.80 $1.80
New Hampshire $1.78 $1.78
New Jersey $2.70 $2.70
New Mexico $1.66 $1.66
New York $4.35 $0 to $1.5 $4.35 to $5.85
North Carolina $0.45 $0.45
North Dakota $0.44 $0.44
Ohio $1.60 $1.60
Oklahoma $1.03 $1.03
Oregon $1.33 $1.33
Pennsylvania $2.60 $2.60
Rhode Island $4.25 $4.25
South Carolina $0.57 $0.57
South Dakota $1.53 $1.53
Tennessee $0.67 $0.01 $0.68
Texas $1.41 $1.41
Utah $1.70 $1.70
Vermont $3.08 $3.08
Virginia $0.30 $0.30
Washington $3.03 $3.03
West Virginia $1.20 $1.20
Wisconsin $2.52 $2.52
Wyoming $0.60 $0.60
District of Columbia $2.94 $2.94

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators
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Consumer Counsel Fee
.|

Statute: Title 69, Chapter 1, Part 2, MCA

Consumer Counsel Fee

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue
FY 2008 $1,696,840
FY 2009 $1,355,530
FY 2010 $530,981
FY 2011 $1,243,187
FY 2012 $1,523,517
FY 2013 $1,063,563
FY 2014 $1,444,344
FY 2015 $1,469,750
FY 2016 $1,002,553 S O O DD DO oD@
FY 2017 $1,365,518 S FFEEFE S IS
FY 2018 $919,347

Fee Rate

All companies that are regulated by the Public Service Commission are assessed a fee to cover the
operation of the Consumer Counsel, which represents consumers in proceedings before the Public Service
Commission. The fee is a percentage of gross revenue from regulated activities. The rate is set annually for
the succeeding fiscal year to cover appropriations for the operation of the Office of the Consumer Counsel.

Consumer Counsel Fee Rates

Tax Year Rate
10/1/2006 - 9/30/2007 0.060%
10/1/2007 - 9/30/2008 0.140%
10/1/2008 - 9/30/2009 0.080%
10/1/2009 - 9/30/2010 0.030%
10/1/2010 - 9/30/2011 0.110%
10/1/2011 - 9/30/2012 0.120%
10/1/2012 - 9/30/2013 0.070%
10/1/2013 - 9/30/2014 0.110%
10/1/2014 - 9/30/2015 0.100%
10/1/2015 - 9/30/2016 0.060%
10/1/2016 - 9/30/2017 0.100%
10/1/2017 - 9/30/2018 0.046%

Filing Requirements

All companies providing services regulated by the Public Service Commission are subject to a quarterly
Consumer Counsel Tax on gross operating revenue. The fee is due within 30 days after the end of each
quarter.

Distribution

All collections are deposited in a state special revenue account for the operation of the Office of the Consumer
Counsel (69-1-201; 223; 224, MCA).
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Electrical Energy Producers’ License Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 51, MCA

Electrical Energy Producers’ License Tax

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue »
FY 2008 $5,179,013 §
FY 2009 $4,824,659 E
FY 2010 $4,713,429
FY 2011 $4,332,363
FY 2012 $4,481,361
FY 2013 $5,066,602
FY 2014 $4,279,845
FY 2015 $5,132,926
FY 2016 $4,536,484
FY 2017 $4,313,577
FY 2018 $4,301,551

Tax Rate
The tax was first enacted in 1933 and is $.0002 per kilowatt hour of electrical energy generated, manufactured
or produced in the state for barter, sale or exchange, other than plant use.

Filing Requirements

Businesses that produce electrical energy pay the electrical energy producers’ license tax. The businesses
must remit the license tax each calendar quarter to the department with a statement on or before the 30th
day of the month after the end of the calendar quarter (15-51-102, MCA).

Distribution
These tax collections are deposited in the state General Fund (15-51-103, MCA).

139



Hospital Facility Utilization Fee

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 66, MCA

Hospital Facility Utilization Fee

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue -
FY 2008 $16,671,570 § $20
FY 2009 $19,582,981 S
FY 2010 $21,290,112 $15
FY 2011 $21,819,469
FY 2012 $21,238,158 $10
FY 2013 $21,703,642
FY 2014 $22,179,418 >5
FY 2015 $23,626,972 $0

FY 2016 $22,667,834
FY 2017 $22,282,214
FY 2018 $22,619,596

Fee Rate
Beginning in 2010, all hospitals licensed by the state (with the exception of the Montana State Hospital) are
required to pay a $50 utilization fee for each inpatient bed day.

Filing Requirements
The hospital must pay the fees for the preceding calendar year on all taxable inpatient bed days. The table
below lists the fee per inpatient bed day since the fee was instituted.

Hospital Facility Utilization Fee Schedule

Fee Applies to This Period Fee Per Inpatient Bed Day
January 1, 2004 - June 30, 2005 $19.43
July 1, 2005 - December 31, 2005 $29.75
January 1, 2006 - June 30, 2007 $27.70
July 1, 2007 - December 31, 2007 $47.00
January 1, 2008 - December 31, 2008 $43.00
January 1, 2009 - December 31, 2009 $48.00
Beginning January 1, 2010 $50.00

Distribution

All of the proceeds from the utilization fee are deposited in a special revenue account for use by the
Department of Public Health and Human Services to reimburse hospitals serving Medicaid patients (15-66-
102, MCA).
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Inheritance and Estate Tax

Statute: Title 72, Chapter 16, MCA

Inheritance and Estate Taxes

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue ”
FY 2008 $122,148 _§
FY 2009 $217,007 =
FY 2010 $90,544
FY 2011 $43,165
FY 2012 $59,718
FY 2013 $1,676
FY 2014 $3,741
FY 2015 $35
FY 2016 $62
FY 2017 $0
FY 2018 $0

Tax Rate
An estate tax is a tax on the value of the estate a person leaves when they die and is paid by the estate. An
inheritance tax is a tax on the value of the bequest each heir receives.

Before 2001, Montana had an inheritance tax with rates that varied according to the heir’s relationship to
the decedent. Montana’s inheritance tax was repealed by the passage of Legislative Referendum 116 in
November 2000, and does not apply to bequests made on or after January 1, 2001.

Montana also has an estate tax equal to the difference between the amount of credit that the federal estate
tax law allows for state taxes and the inheritance tax. The estate tax essentially allows the state to receive
a share of the federal tax on Montana estates, with that share determined by federal law. With repeal of the
inheritance tax, the estate tax became a stand-alone tax.

Federal legislation passed in 2001 and 2010 changed the federal estate tax law. It phased out the credit
for state taxes between 2002 and 2004 and replaced it with a deduction beginning in 2005. With no federal
credit, Montana essentially has an estate tax with a rate of zero.

No Montana tax applies to the estates of people who died after January 1, 2005. All revenue received
in Fiscal Year 2006 through Fiscal Year 2018 is from the estates of people who died before the end of
2004. The state continues to receive small amounts of revenue because it sometimes takes years for final
settlement of all issues pertaining to an estate.

Distribution
All inheritance tax revenue is deposited in the state General Fund.
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Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 67, MCA

Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue
FY 2008 $890,691
FY 2009 $907,764
FY 2010 $913,971
FY 2011 $931,535
FY 2012 $882,024
FY 2013 $951,767
FY 2014 $906,220
FY 2015 $906,155
FY 2016 $1,036,982
FY 2017 $743,617
FY 2018 $614,244

Millions

$1.2
$1.0
$0.8
$0.6

$0.4
$0.2
$0.0

Fee Rate

The Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee is collected at a rate of 6 percent of the revenue of intermediate
care facilities for the developmentally disabled. The fee was first implemented by the 2003 Legislature at a
rate of 5 percent. The 2005 Legislature changed the fee per bed-day to a quarterly payment of 6 percent of
the intermediate care facility’s quarterly revenue divided by the resident bed days for the same period. For
facilities operated by the state, the fee is calculated on total quarterly expenditures.

Filing Requirements

Reports and payments are due quarterly, by the end of the month following each quarter.

Distribution

Thirty percent of the revenue generated by this fee is deposited into the state general fund and 70 percent
into the prevention and stabilization account in the state special revenue fund for the Department of Public
Health and Human Services to administer (15-67-102, MCA).

Fund

Distribution of Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fees

General Fund (30%)

Prevention & Stabilization (70%)

FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018

$271,866 $271,846 $311,095 $223,085 $184,273
$634,354 $634,308 $725,888 $520,532 $429,971
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Invasive Species Fee

|
Statute: Title 15, Chapter 72, Part 6, MCA

Invasive Species Fee

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue w 340
FY 2008 50 5935
FY 2009 $0 = $30
FY 2010 $0 $2.5
FY 2011 $0 $2.0
FY 2012 $0 $1.5
FY 2013 $0 $1.0
FY 2014 $0 c0s
FY 2015 $0 o
FY 2016 $0
,Ei 281; $3,695,7gg R

The 2017 legislature created temporary fees on hydroelectric power to fund programs to prevent the
spread of invasive aquatic species. These fees apply from July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2019. Owners
of hydroelectric generating facilities of more than 1.5 megawatts of capacity are to pay a quarterly fee of
$795.76 per megawatt of nameplate capacity.

Utilities that do not own hydroelectric facilities but that receive more than 50 percent of their power from
federally-owned hydroelectric facilities are to pay a flat fee based on the utility’s 2015 power sales. The fee
is approximately $0.0002314 per kilowatt-hour.

Filing Requirements: Reports and payment are due within 30 days of the end of each quarter.

Distribution: Revenue from the Invasive Species Fee is deposited in the Invasive Species State Special
Revenue Account.
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Lodging Facility Use Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 65, MCA

Lodging Facility Use Tax

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue » 935
FY 2008 $18,562,141 3 $30
FY 2009 $17,307,397 = ¢y
FY 2010 $17,132,174 oo |
FY 2011 $19,784,603
FY 2012 $22,257,882 515
FY 2013 $23,334,117 s10 |
FY 2014 $24,487,190 s B
FY 2015 $27,127,478 s
FY 2016 $27,910,664 S
FY 2017 $29,539,381 S
FY 2018 $32,805,856 SRS

Tax Rate

The 1987 Legislature enacted a tax on short-term lodging, with the proceeds to be used primarily to fund
tourism promotion. The tax is imposed on users of short-term, overnight lodging facilities and is 4 percent
of the lodging charge.

Filing Requirements

The owner or operator of a facility collects the tax from customers and must pay the tax to the department
quarterly. The tax is due on, or before, the last day of the month immediately following the end of the quarter.
To simplify compliance, the department has lodging operators file a single return combining the Lodging
Facility Use Tax and the Lodging Sales Tax.

Distribution

The department’s costs of administering the Lodging Facility Use Tax are paid out of receipts from the tax.
This process is different from most taxes, where the department’s costs are paid from the General Fund.
For each fiscal year, the Legislature appropriates an amount to the department to cover its costs, and this
amount is deducted from tax collections.

The Legislature originally chose not to tax business travel by state employees. However, rather than
exempting state travel from the tax, the Legislature required the department to reimburse state agencies for
the tax they paid. Agencies reported the amount they spent on lodging from each of their funding sources,
and the department reimbursed each of the funds. This system was cumbersome to administer and difficult
to track. The 2011 Legislature simplified the process (HB 111). Beginning in Fiscal Year 2012, 30 percent
of tax collected from state agencies is deposited in the General Fund. Tax on state agency travel paid with
federal funds is given to the Department of Administration to be returned to the federal government through
the normal process for returning unspent federal funds. The rest of the tax paid by state agencies is included
in the normal distribution.

A fixed allocation of $400,000 is deposited in the Montana Heritage Preservation Account to pay for
preservation of historic properties at Virginia City and Nevada City. The remaining revenue is distributed to
the following accounts:

e Department of Commerce for statewide tourism promotion
o 64.4 percent of revenues

e State-Tribal Economic Development Commission for tourism promotion
o 0.5 percent of revenues
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Lodging Facility Use Tax

¢ Montana Historical Society for roadside historical signs and historic sites
o 1 percent of revenues
¢ Montana University System for the Montana Travel Research Program
o 2.5 percent of revenues
o Historical Society to cover costs of the state museum and the Robert Scriver sculpture collection
o 2.6 percent of revenues
o Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks to maintain facilities in state parks
o 6.5 percent of revenues
¢ Regional nonprofit tourism corporations and local convention and visitors bureaus for local tourism
promotion
o 22.5 percent of revenues
o Each of the state’s six tourism promotion regions receives revenue proportional to the tax
collected in the region. If the share of this allocation due to taxes collected in a city or resort
area is more than $35,000, half of that amount goes to the local convention and visitors’
bureau.

The 2011 Legislature (HB 477) created the 2.6 percent allocation to the Historical Society and the 2017
Legislature (SB 309) created the 0.5% allocation to the State-Tribal Economic Development Commission.
In both cases, the Legislature reduced the Department of Commerce’s allocation by the same percentage.

Distribution of Lodging Facility Use Tax

Fund FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018
Total Revenue $24,487,190 $27,127,478 $27,910,664 $29,539,381 $32,805,856
DOR Administration $144,317 $147,793 $147,821 $147,821 $127,958
Travel Reimbursements $152,886 $127,527 $113,724 $150,713 $144,524
MT Heritage Preservation Acct. $400,000 $400,000 $400,000 $400,000 $400,000
Remainder $23,789,987 $26,452,158 $27,249,119 $28,840,846 $32,133,373
Department of Commerce $15,439,702 $17,167,451 $17,684,678 $18,717,710 $20,692,675
MT Historical Soc. Sites & Signs $237,900 $264,522 $272,491 $288,409 $321,326
MT University System $594,750 $661,304 $681,228 $721,019 $803,311
MT Historical Soc. Interpret. Acct. $618,540 $687,756 $708,477 $749,863 $835,444
Fish, Wildlife, and Parks $1,546,350 $1,719,390 $1,771,193 $1,874,655 $2,088,605
Regional Tourism $5,352,747 $5,951,736 $6,131,052 $6,489,191 $7,229,801
State/Tribal Economic Development $0 0 $0 $0 $161,278
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Lodging Sales Tax

|
Statute: Title 15, Chapter 68, MCA

Sales Tax - Accommodations

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue o 525
FY 2008 $13,389,534 5 -
FY 2009 $12,477461 =
FY 2010 $12,330,846 $15
FY 2011 $14,240,586
FY 2012 $15,606,496 $10
FY 2013 $16,719,931
FY 2014 $17,725,159 >5
FY 2015 $19,696,526 5

FY 2016 $21,492,606
FY 2017 $21,780,133
FY 2018 $24,091,089

Tax Rate

In 2003, the Montana Legislature enacted a 3 percent selective sales and use tax on accommodations and
campgrounds. The 3 percent sales tax on accommodations is levied in addition to, and applies to the same
facilities as, the Lodging Facilities Use Tax (15-68-102, MCA).

Filing Requirements

The sales tax is imposed on the purchaser, and collected and paid by the seller to the department. The tax
is due on or before the last day of the month immediately following the end of the quarter. The seller who
files a return and pays the tax on time is allowed to keep 5 percent of the tax collected, up to $1,000 per
facility, as compensation for collecting the tax. To simplify compliance, the department has the seller file a
single return combining the Lodging Facility Use Tax and the Lodging Sales Tax.

Distribution
All revenue from the Lodging Sales Tax is deposited in the state General Fund (15-68-820, MCA).
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Medical Marijuana Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 64, MCA

Medical Marijuana Tax

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue » 320
FY 2008 $0 o5 °L8
FY 2009 0 =)
FY 2011 $0 $1.0
FY 2012 $0 $0.8
FY 2013 $0 $0.6
FY 2014 $0 28‘2‘
FY 2015 $0 200
FY 2016 $0
FY 2017 $0 R
FY 2018 $1,836,085 <

Tax Rate

The 2017 Legislature enacted a tax on medical marijuana sales as part of a revision of the regulation
of medical marijuana. From July 1, 2017 through June 30, 2018, the tax was 4 percent of gross sales.
Beginning July 1, 2018, the tax is 2 percent of gross sales.

Filing Requirements
The tax is due quarterly. Returns and payment are due within 15 days of the end of each quarter.

Distribution
All revenue from the medical marijuana tax is deposited in the medical marijuana account to be used by the
Department of Public Health and Human Services to pay its costs of regulating medical marijuana.

The table on the next page shows a state comparison of marijuana taxes.
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Medical Marijuana Tax

State Taxation of Marijuana

Arizona
Arkansas
Connecticut
Delaware

District of Columbia

Florida
Hawaii
lllinois

lowa
Louisiana
Maryland
Michigan
Minnesota
Montana
New Hampshire
New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Dakota
Ohio
Pennsylvania

States Where Marijuana is Legal for Medical Use Only
Subject to general sales tax
Subject to general sales tax and 4% tax on gross receipts
Subject to general sales tax
None
Subject to sales tax at special rate of 6%
None
Subject to general sales tax
Subject to general sales tax at 1% rate for medicine. Tax of 7% on growers.
Just legalized, tax treatment not clarified yet
Just legalized, tax treatment not clarified yet
None
Subject to general sales tax and 3% tax on grower's gross receipts.
None
Excise tax of 2%.
None
Subject to general sales tax
Subject to general sales tax
Excise tax of 7%
Just legalized, tax treatment not clarified yet
Subject to general sales tax
Growers subject to 5% gross receipts tax.

Rhode Island Subject to general sales tax and 4% surcharge on providers.
Vermont None
West Virginia Gross receipts tax of 10% on sales by grower or processor.
States Where Marijuana is Legal for Medical and Non-Medical Use
Tax on sales by grower to retailer or manufacturer. Rate $50 per ounce for buds and
Alaska
flowers, $15 per ounce for other parts of plant.
Non-medical use subject to general sales tax. Medical use exempt.
California Excise tax of 15% on retail sales, and tax on sales by grower to distributor or manufacturer
of $9.25 per ounce of flowers and $2.75 per ounce of leaves.
Non-medical use subject to 15% excise tax on retail sales and 15% grower tax on sales to
Colorado . . !
retailer or manufacturer. Medical use subject to general sales tax
Maine Non-medical use subject to sales tax at special rate of 10%. Medical use subject to
general sales tax.
Massachusetts Non-medical use subject to 10.75% excise tax and general sales tax. Medical use exempt.
Nevada Nc:n-medical use is subject to 10% excise tax. Growers pay 15% excise tax on wholesale
sales.
Oregon Non-medical use is subject to 17% excise tax. Medical use exempt.
Washington Subject to general sales tax and excise tax of 37%.

Source: Benda, Jennifer and Jacob Mills. 2018. Cannabis Industry State Tax Guide. Fox Rothschild LLP.
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Nursing Facility Utilization Fee

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 60, MCA

Nursing Facility Utilization Fee

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue . 518 ;,
FY 2008 $15,868,028 o 516
FY2009  $15308973 = °* I
FY 2010 $14,928,685 312
FY 2011 $14,609,167 522 %

FY 2012 $14,294,205 &6

FY 2013 $13,719,662 9
FY 2014 $13,929,619 52 l I I l I
FY 2015 $13,485,243

0
FY 2016 $13,232,878 ’
FY 2017 $13,109,763
FY 2018 $16,959,437

% N
S &

Q Q 0 Q Q 0
A A DT AT AT AT AT AT DT A A
AR AN R AN A R R A R R AR

Tax Rate

All nursing homes licensed by the Department of Public Health and Human Services and the Montana
Mental Health Nursing Care Center must pay a fee for each bed-day of services provided to a resident. For
Fiscal Year 2007 through Fiscal Year 2017, the fee was $8.30. The 2017 Legislature (HB 618) increased the
fee, to $11.30 for Fiscal Year 2018, and to $15.30 beginning in Fiscal Year 2019.

Filing Requirements
The fee is due quarterly. Reports and payments are due on or before the last day of the month following the
end of each quarter.

Distribution
Proceeds from the fee are to be used to fund the state share of Medicaid payments to nursing homes.

For all facilities, other than the Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center, $2.80 is distributed to the
General Fund and the remainder is distributed to the Nursing Facility Utilization Fee Account (15-60-102,
MCA).

Utilization fees paid by the Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center are distributed 30 percent to the
state General Fund and 70 percent to the Prevention and Stabilization Account administered by DPHHS to
finance, administer, and provide health and human services (53-6-1101, MCA).

Distribution of Nursing Facility Utilization Fees

FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018
Non-Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities
General Fund $4,615,142 $4,455,861 $4,370,397 $4,328,823 $4,114,818
Nursing Facility Util. Acct. Fee $9,067,461 $8,754,519 $8,586,606 $8,504,924  $12,491,167
Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities
General Fund (30%) $74,105 $82,459 $82,763 $82,805 $106,036
Prevention and Stabilization Fee (70%) $172,911 $192,404 $193,113 $193,212 $247,417
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Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Fees and Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 50, MCA.

Public Contractor's Gross Receipts Fees and Tax

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue »
FY 2008 $5,062,659 S
FY 2009 $5,929,999 =
FY 2010 $6,969,395
FY 2011 $6,803,285
FY 2012 -$3,041,921
FY 2013 -$137,587
FY 2014 $887,078
FY 2015 $3,256,741
FY 2016 $2,397,493
FY 2017 $3,078,111
FY 2018 $4,266,687

Tax Rate

The Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Tax equals 1 percent of the gross receipts from state, local
government or federal construction contracts, other than construction of a federal research facility. The tax
applies both to prime contractors and subcontractors. Contracts with a value of $5,000 or less are exempt.

Filing Requirements

Contractors are required to file a registration form with the department at the time they are awarded a
contract. The agency awarding the contract is required to withhold the tax and submit it to the department
within 30 days of any payment to the contractor. The prime contractor is required to withhold the tax from
payments to subcontractors and file a report with the department within 30 days.

Refunds of the Tax

The purpose of the Public Contractor’'s Gross Receipts Tax is to provide an incentive for out-of-state
contractors to pay other taxes they owe, not to raise revenue directly. Contractors who pay corporate or
individual income tax may use their contractor’s gross receipts tax payments as credits against those taxes.

Contractors who have paid property taxes and vehicle fees may request a refund of their contractor’s gross
receipts tax payments up to the amount of these taxes and fees. Alternatively, a contractor may use their
contractor’s gross receipts tax payments as a credit against individual or corporate income tax. A contractor
may also claim a refund for property taxes and vehicle fees and use any contractor’s gross receipts tax
payments over this amount as an income tax credit.

Refunds for property taxes and vehicle fees must be for the same year that the contractor’s gross receipts
tax was paid. Corporate and individual income tax credits can be carried forward for up to 5 years.

In most years, tax payments are greater than refunds and credits, so that there is net revenue from the
tax. In Fiscal Year 2012 and Fiscal Year 2013, total refunds exceeded total payments and as a result,
total contractor’s gross receipts revenue was negative. There were two reasons for this. In those years,
contractors were claiming credits from work on federal Reinvestment and Recovery projects in earlier years
while new contracts had returned to a normal level. At the same time, upgrades to the department’s data
processing systems allowed the department to clear a backlog of pending refunds.

Distribution
Revenues are deposited in the state General Fund (15-50-311, MCA).
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Public Service Commission Fee

Statute: Title 69, Chapter 1, Part 4, MCA

Public Service Commission Fee

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue
FY 2008 $3,520,803
FY 2009 $3,521,894
FY 2010 $2,493,209
FY 2011 $4,739,380
FY 2012 $2,461,936
FY 2013 $2,608,068
FY 2014 $4,910,861
FY 2015 $3,254,094
FY 2016 $2,897,229
FY 2017 $4,745,981
FY 2018 $3,936,916

" $5.0
s $4.5
= $4.0
$3.5
$3.0
$2.5
$2.0
$1.5
$1.0
$0.5
$0.0

Mill
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Tax Rate

All companies providing services that are regulated by the Public Service Commission, other than motor
carriers, are subject to a tax on gross operating revenue from final sales. Revenues from sales for resale
to other regulated companies is not subject to the tax. The tax rate is set annually for the succeeding fiscal
year to cover appropriations for the operation of the Department of Public Service Regulation.

Public Service Commission Fee Rates

Filling Requirements

Effective Dates
Oct. 2006 - Sept. 2007
Oct. 2007 - Sept. 2008
Oct. 2008 - Sept. 2009
Oct. 2009 - June 2010
July 2010 - Sept. 2010
Oct. 2010 - Sept. 2011
Oct. 2011 - Sept. 2012
Oct. 2012 - Sept. 2013
Oct. 2013 - Sept. 2014
Oct. 2014 - Sept. 2015
Oct. 2015 - Sept. 2016
Oct. 2016 - Sept. 2017
Oct. 2017 - Sept. 2018

Rate
0.22%
0.31%
0.26%
0.21%
0.37%
0.42%
0.20%
0.23%
0.42%
0.20%
0.23%
0.39%
0.24%

Taxpayers must file and pay the tax within 30 days of the end of each calendar quarter.

Distribution

All collections are deposited in a state special revenue account for the administration of the Public Service
Commission (69-1-402, MCA).
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Rail Car Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 23, Part 2, MCA

Rail Car Tax

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue L 4.0
FY 2008 $2,063,981 5 $35
FY 2009 $2,099,454 = $3.0
FY 2010 $2,579,263 $2.5
FY 2011 $2,130,192 $2.0
FY 2012 $2,273,412 $15
FY 2013 $2,178,957 $1.0
FY 2014 $2,418,072 $0.5
FY 2015 $3,706,309 £0.0
FY 2016 $3,594,460 S D O DD D PO
FY 2017 $3,790,195 RO IR R R @Q @0 @Q
FY 2018 $3,648,993 AR R R D R

Tax Rate

A railroad car company owns, operates or furnishes rail cars but does not own or operate tracks. Since rail
cars have no fixed location, property tax on rail car companies is collected by the state rather than at the
local level.

The market value of rail car property is centrally assessed by the department. It is based on the value of the
company’s rolling stock and the fraction of its car-miles traveled in Montana. The taxable value is calculated
using the rate for railroad property, which is calculated annually as the average rate applied to non-railroad
commercial and industrial property. Tax is calculated by multiplying the taxable value by the average of mill
levies applied to commercial and industrial property.

The legislature changed taxation of rail car companies from a gross receipts tax to an ad valorem tax in the
1992 special session. The 1997 Legislature temporarily lowered the mill levy applied to rail car companies
to 95 percent of the average mill levy. This change expired at the end of 2002.

Filling Requirements

Rail car companies are required to file a report by April 15 of each year, which gives the number and cost
of rail cars owned at the end of the previous year, and the number of car miles traveled inside and outside
Montana.

The department computes the rail car tax and sends the railroad car company a written notice with the
amount of taxes due. This notice must include the taxable value of the property and the average levy used
(15-23-214, MCA). One half of the rail car tax is due by November 30 of each year or within 30 days after
the tax notice is postmarked, whichever is later. The other half of the tax is due by May 31 of each year.

Distribution
Rail car tax revenue is deposited in the state General Fund (15-23-215, MCA).
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Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax
.|

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 53, MCA

Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue .
FY 2008 $22,350,323 § 60
FY 2009 $22,250,383 =
FY 2010 $23,523,474 $15
FY 2011 $22,049,967
FY 2012 $21,459,017 $10
FY 2013 $20,651,872
FY 2014 $19,656,770 55
FY 2015 $18,256,517 s
FY 2016 $16,774,868
FY 2017 $15,602,798 N
FY 2018 $13,725,924 <

Tax Rate

The Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax is a tax of 3.75 percent on retail sales of telecommunications
service when the transmission either originates or terminates in Montana. The tax applies to both landline
service and traditional mobile service but does not apply to prepaid wireless service purchased through a
third party, such as pre-paid phone cards purchased at a grocery store or other retailer.

Prior to 2000, Montana levied a telephone company license tax of 1.8 percent on the gross revenue
telephone companies earned from in-state telephone calls. The 1999 Legislature replaced it with the current
tax as part of legislation that also reduced property taxes on telephone company property.

Filing Requirements
Each retail telecommunication service provider must file a quarterly return due 60 days after the end of the
quarter.

Distribution
All receipts from the Retail Telecommunications Excise tax are deposited in the state General Fund (15-53-
156, MCA).

153



Sales Tax - Rental Vehicles

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 68, MCA

Sales - Rental Vehicles

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue W 950
FY 2008 $3157,239 6 o4O
FY2009  $2,904340 = o0
FY 2010 $2,807,415 230
FY 2011 $3,149,201 825
FY 2012 $3,419,763 520 | :
FY 2013 $3,523,211 $1.5
FY 2014 $3.521,324 zég . l . I ' I I I
FY 2015 $3,906,745 o
FY 2016 $4,269,438 G PO DD PP P D P
Fvaois  Shostoes C LTI LTLLL

Tax Rate

The 2003 Legislature enacted a 4 percent sales and use tax on the base rental charge for vehicles rented
for 30 days or less (15-68-102, MCA). The base rental charge includes charges based on time of use or
mileage, charges for personal accident insurance, charges for additional or underage drivers, and charges
for certain accessory equipment. Rental vehicles subject to the tax include automobiles, vans and SUVs;
trucks rated at 1 ton or less; motorcycles and quadracycles; off-highway vehicles; motorboats and sailboats;
and trucks, trailers and semis with GVW less than 22,000 Ibs. Vehicles designed to carry more than 15
passengers, farm vehicles, machinery, equipment, and vehicles rented with a driver are not subject to the
tax.

Filing Requirements

The sales tax is imposed on the purchaser, and collected and paid by the seller to the department. The
tax is due on or before the last of the month immediately following the end of each quarter. A rental vehicle
business that files a return and pays the tax on time is allowed to keep 5 percent of the tax collected, up to
$1,000 per location, as compensation for collecting the tax.

Distribution
Before 2016, all rental vehicle sales tax revenue was deposited into the state’s General Fund. Beginning
with calendar year 2016, rental vehicle sales tax revenue is distributed as follows (15-68-820, MCA):

e Senior citizen and persons with disabilities transportation services.
o 25 percent of revenue

e State General Fund.
o 75 percent of revenue
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TDD Telecommunications Service Fee

Statute: Title 53, Chapter 19, Part 3, MCA

TDD Telecommunications Service Fee

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue » 516
FY 2008 $1,320,796 & $14
FY 2009 $1,389,821 g $1.2
FY 2010 $1,361,947 $1.0
FY 2011 $1,350,111 $0.8
FY 2012 $1,325,236 0.6
FY 2013 $1,317,336 $0.4
FY 2014 $1,430,128 $0.2 ll lI I
FY 2015 $1,321,811 £0.0
FY 2016 $1,334,146 PP S PP DTS P D P
A e N R

Fee Rate

A monthly fee of $0.10 is assessed on each access line in the state to fund telecommunications services
for individuals with disabilities that prevent them from using regular telecommunications services. Service
providers are to include the fee in customers’ bills or in the price charged for pre-paid service. A service
provider may deduct and retain 0.75 percent of the total fees collected each month to cover its administrative
expenses. Legislation in 2007 clarified that all telecommunications providers, including those using newer
technologies or formats such as Voice over Internet Protocol (VolP) or prepaid wireless service, must collect
the fee and remit the revenue to the state.

Filing Requirements

The fee is paid by the subscriber, but is collected and paid to the state by the service provider on a quarterly
basis. Returns and payments are due on the last day of the month immediately following the end of each
quarter.

Distribution
The revenue from this fee is deposited in a special revenue account to provide telecommunications devices
for persons with hearing disabilities (53-19-311, MCA).
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Tobacco Products Tax

Statute: Title 16, Chapter 11, MCA

Tobacco Products Tax

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue 5 14
FY 2008 $9,872,434 5 s1
FY 2009 $10,479,063 E $10
FY 2010 $11,210,117 58
FY 2011 $11,492,465
FY 2012 $12,024,144 56
FY 2013 $12,386,794 S4
FY 2014 $12,562,721 $2
FY 2015 $12,894,293 %0

FY 2016 $13,131,013

S O Q
Q' Q N
FY 2017 $13,268,717 DD D f& f& m° f& f& '»Q f& f»°
AR AR AR AR AR AR AN A MR A MR AN

FY 2018 $12,864,522

Tax Rate

All tobacco products, excluding cigarettes and moist snuff, are subject to a tax of 50 percent of their wholesale
price. A tax of $0.85 per ounce is levied on moist snuff. The taxpayer is allowed a 1.5 percent allowance for
administrative expenses. Before May 1, 2003, the tax rate on tobacco products was 12.5 percent. The 2003
Legislature increased the tax on tobacco products to 25 percent of the wholesale price. Then, Montana
voters passed Initiative 149 (1-149). This increased the taxes on other tobacco products to 50 percent of the
wholesale price and the tax on moist snuff to $0.85 per ounce. This increase was effective January 1, 2005.

Tobacco Products Tax Rate

Product Tax Rate
Moist Snuff $0.85 per ounce
All Other Tobacco* 50% of wholesale price

*Excludes Cigarettes

Filing Requirements
The tax is collected monthly from the wholesaler. Wholesalers must submit returns to the department on or
before the 15" day of the month.

Distribution

After tribal revenue sharing agreements, the revenue from the Tobacco Products Tax is distributed 50
percent to the state general fund and 50 percent to the Department of Public Health and Human Services
for health and Medicaid initiatives (16-11-119, MCA).

Distribution of Tobacco Products Tax

FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016 FY 2017 FY 2018
Total Revenue $12,562,721 $12,894,293 $13,131,013 $13,268,717 $12,864,522
Tobacco And Cig. Tribal Agreement $703,758 $782,864 $763,547 $775,495 $749,454
Remainder $11,858,963 $12,111,429 $12,367,466 $12,493,223 $12,115,068
General Fund (50%) $5,929,482 $6,055,715 $6,183,734 $6,246,612 $6,057,534
DPHHS (50%) $5,929,481 $6,055,714 $6,183,732 $6,246,611 $6,057,534
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Tobacco Products Tax

State Comparison

All states place a tax on non-cigarette tobacco products. In most states, the tax is based on the wholesale
price. Twelve states base the tax on another price, usually the manufacturer’s price. Four states base
their tax on the quantity of product, rather than its value, and 20 states, including Montana, have separate
quantity-based taxes on at least one product, most often snuff.

Tax rates vary significantly across the United States, ranging from 6.6 percent of the wholesale price in
Tennessee to 95 percent in Minnesota and Washington. The average of state rates is 43.1%.

Other Tobacco Product Taxes by State

State Type Tax Rate
Cigars $0.03 - $0.405 Per 10 Cigars
Alabama
Tobacco / Snuff $0.02 - $0.08 Per Ounce
Alaska All Other Tobacco Products 75% Wholesale Price
. Cigars $0.2201 - $2.18 Per 10 Cigars
Arizona
Tobacco / Snuff $0.223 Per Ounce
Arkansas All Other Tobacco Products 68% Manufacturer's Price
California All Other Tobacco Products 28.13% Wholesale Price
Colorado All Other Tobacco Products 40% Manufacturer's Price
: Snuff $1.00 Per Ounce
Connecticut .
All Other 50% Wholesale Price
Snuff $0.54 Per Ounce
Delaware .
All Other 15% Wholesale Price
Florida Tobacco / Snuff 85% Wholesale Price
Little Cigars $0.025 Per 10 Cigars
Georgia Other Cigars 23% Wholesale Price
Tobacco 10% Wholesale Price
Hawaii Large Cigars 50% Wholesale Price
Tobacco / Snuff 70% Wholesale Price
Idaho All Other Tobacco Products 40% Wholesale Price
linois Snuff $0.30 Per Ounce
All Other 36% Wholesale Price
Indiana All Other Tobacco Products 24% Wholesale Price
lowa All Other Tobacco Products 50% Wholesale Price
Kansas All Other Tobacco Products 10% Wholesale Price
Kentucky All Other Tobacco Products 15% Wholesale Price
. Cigars 8% - 20% Manufacturer's Price
Louisiana . ]
Snuff / Smoking Tobacco 20% - 33% Manufacturer's Price
Maine Chewing Tobacco / Snuff $2.02 Per Ounce
Smoking Tobacco / Cigars 20% Wholesale Price
Tobacco/Snuff 30% Wholesale Price
Maryland ) .
Cigars 70% Wholesale Price
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Tobacco Products Tax

State
Massachusetts
Michigan
Minnesota
Mississippi
Missouri

Montana

Nebraska

Nevada
New Hampshire

New Jersey
New Mexico
New York
North Carolina
North Dakota
Ohio
Oklahoma

Oregon

Rhode Island
South Carolina
South Dakota
Tennessee

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Virginia

Washington

West Virginia
Wisconsin

Wyoming

Other Tobacco Product Taxes by State

Type

Smoking Tobacco / Cigars
All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
Snuff

All Other

Snuff

All Other

All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
Snuff

All Other

All Other Tobacco Products
Snuff

All Other

All Other Tobacco Products
Cigars and Tobacco

Chew Tobacco and Snuff
All Other Tobacco Products
Cigars (Little and Large)
Snuff and Tobacco

Snuff

All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
Cigar

Tobacco / Snuff

Snuff

All Other

Snuff

Cigar

All Other

Snuff

All Other

Snuff

All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products
Snuff

All Other

Tax Rate

40% Wholesale Price
32% Wholesale Price
95% Wholesale Price
15% Manufacturer's Price
10% Manufacturer's Price
$0.85 Per Ounce

50% Wholesale Price
$0.44 Per Ounce

20% Wholesale Price
30% Wholesale Price
48% Wholesale Price
$0.75 Per Ounce

30% Wholesale Price
25% Product Value

$2.00 Per Ounce

75% Wholesale Price
12.8% Wholesale Price
28% Wholesale Price
$0.16 - $0.60 Per Ounce
17% Wholesale Price
$1.20 Per 10 Cigars

60% - 80% Factory List Price
$1.78 Per Ounce

65% Wholesale Price
80% Wholesale Price

5% Manufacturer's Price
35% Wholesale Price
6.6% Wholesale Price
$0.01 - $0.15 Per 10 Cigars
$1.22 Per Ounce

$1.83 Per Ounce

86% Manufacturer's Price
$2.57 Per Ounce

$20 - $40 Per 10 Cigars
92% Wholesale Price
$0.18 Per Ounce

10% Manufacturer's Price
$2.105 Per Ounce

95% Wholesale Price

7% Wholesale Price

71% Manufacturer's Price
$0.60 Per Ounce

20% Wholesale Price

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators
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Unclaimed Property

Statute: Title 70, Chapter 9, Part 8, MCA

Unclaimed Property

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue w 14 @
FY 2008 $5,858,281 S 12
FY 2009 $4,542,158 = ¢y
FY 2010 $12,492,109 o |
FY 2011 $7,276,154
FY 2012 $7,188,318 >6
FY 2013 $8,827,032 $4
FY 2014 $12,882,668 $2
FY 2015 $10,196,308 5
FY 2016 $9,554,713 OS> IO P
FY 2017 $12,068,348 S S S @0 @0 @Q
FY 2018 $13,868,626 0 O e e e e«

Montana is considered a “custodial state,” which means the State of Montana holds any abandoned
property on behalf of the rightful owners until the owner claims the property. Under Montana’s Uniform
Unclaimed Property Act, any intangible and certain tangible property unclaimed by its owner must be
turned over to the Department of Revenue. Intangible and tangible property covered by the act includes
such items as money, uncashed checks, drafts, state warrants, uncashed payroll checks, utility deposits,
interest, dividends or income, savings and checking accounts, safe deposit box contents, credit balances,
customer overpayments, gift certificates, unidentified remittances, stocks, bonds and uncashed coupons.
The department maintains records on all abandoned property reported in Montana. Reports filed by holders
of abandoned property (banks and insurance companies, for instance) may be examined by the public. If
the tangible abandoned property is not claimed within 3 years after the receipt of the property, the State of
Montana shall sell the property to the highest bidder at a public sale within the state, with the proceeds from
the sale being held on behalf of the owner in the state General Fund.

Since 1963, there has been approximately $135,000,000 worth of unclaimed property turned over to the
state. During that time, the department has returned nearly $48,000,000 of the unclaimed property to its
rightful owners.

Distribution
According to 70-9-813, MCA, all collections over $100,000 (the amount allocated to the agency refund
account) are transferred to the state’s General Fund. The refund period for items valued at more than $50
is unlimited.
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Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 72, MCA

Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue "
FY 2008 $3,856,112 o
FY 2009 $3,864,771 =
FY 2010 $3,556,056
FY 2011 $3,945,547
FY 2012 $3,427,411
FY 2013 $3,558,221
FY 2014 $3,112,284
FY 2015 $3,795,377
FY 2016 $3,516,131
FY 2017 $3,463,834
FY 2018 $3,628,180

Tax Rate

The Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax is levied at a rate of $0.00015 per kilowatt hour on all electricity
transmitted by a transmission service provider in the state. There is also a 5 percent exemption for electricity
produced in the state to compensate for transmission line losses.

Filing Requirements
The tax went into effect on January 1, 2000, and is paid on a calendar quarter basis. Payment is due to the
state within 30 days after the close of the quarter.

Distribution
All payments are deposited into the state General Fund (15-72-106, MCA).
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