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Statute:  Title 10, Chapter 4

Fee Rate
Before FY 2008, the State of Montana imposed a fee of $0.25 per month 
on telephone access lines to support basic 911 services. An additional 
fee of $0.25 was applied to each access line within the state to support 
enhanced 911 services, resulting in a total fee of $0.50 per access line. 
Starting in FY 2008, an additional fee of $0.50 per month per access 
line, or subscriber, was added to the two other fees to support wireless 
enhanced 911 services. At this time, prepaid wireless cellular telephone 
services sold through third parties, such as retail and grocery stores, are 
not subject to Montana’s 911 emergency telephone system fees. 

Filing Requirements
The subscriber paying for exchange access line services is liable for the fees, but providers collect the fees 
and remit them to the state on a quarterly basis. The provider collecting the fee must file a return on or 
before the last day of the month following the end of each calendar quarter. 

Distribution
2.74 percent of the amount of fees collected must be deposited in the state special revenue fund and be 
used for the administration of the Emergency Telephone System Account. The remaining fee amount is paid 
to the state treasurer for deposit in the appropriate accounts (10-4-301, MCA).

State Comparison
Montana places three fees on landline, wireless and Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) lines, resulting in a 
total fee of $1.00 per month on each subscriber line within the state. The states surrounding Montana have 
similar fee structures. Wyoming charges between $0.25 and $0.75 per line, South Dakota charges $1.25 
per line, North Dakota charges between $1.00 and $1.50 per line and Idaho charges $1.00 per line. West 
Virginia has some of the highest E911 fees on landlines and VoIP ($0.98 to $6.40) and post-paid wireless 
($3.00) lines in the country. Unlike a majority of states within the country, the state of Montana does not 

911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

Purpose Fee Per Month
Basic 911 Service $0.25
Enhanced 911 Service $0.25
Wireless Enhanced 911 Service $0.50
Total $1.00

911 Emergency Telephone Fee Rates

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $6,427,739
FY 2007 $5,960,166
FY 2008 $12,986,143
FY 2009 $13,249,845
FY 2010 $13,801,647
FY 2011 $13,376,568
FY 2012 $13,212,111
FY 2013 $13,062,990
FY 2014 $13,009,356
FY 2015 $12,947,304
FY 2016 $13,120,489

911 Emergency Telephone Service Fee
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Distribution of 911 Fees

Fund FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

Emergency System Acct. (2.74%) $366,518 $362,012 $357,926 $356,456 $354,756 $359,501
Basic 911 Emergency Program (24.315%) $3,252,514 $3,212,523 $3,176,426 $3,163,224 $3,148,299 $3,190,248
Enhanced 911 Phone Program (24.315%) $3,252,514 $3,212,523 $3,176,426 $3,163,224 $3,148,299 $3,190,248
Wireless Enhanced 911 Phone Program

911 Jurisdictions (24.315%) $3,252,511 $3,212,527 $3,176,106 $3,163,226 $3,147,975 $3,190,245
Wireless Providers (24.315%) $3,252,512 $3,212,527 $3,176,106 $3,163,226 $3,147,975 $3,190,245



132
revenue.mt.gov

Table of Contents Other Taxes

charge prepaid landline and wireless customers any of the 911 emergency telephone system fees. 

Like several other states, E911 fees in Montana are collected, and standardized, by the state government, 
resulting in a uniform fee within the state. However, some states allow two, or more, governing bodies to 
collect E911 fees. For example, the State of Kentucky imposes a statewide fee on all access lines within the 
state, but also allows local jurisdictions to establish additional fees on landlines within the local jurisdiction’s 
area. In addition, other states delegate the 911 and E911 funding process to counties and other local 
jurisdictions. The delegation of 911 and E911 funding sources to counties and local governments results in 
some states having 911 system fees that are not uniform across the state. 

911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

State Landline Wireless Prepaid Wireless Voice over Internet 
Protocol (VoIP)

Alabama $1.75 $1.75 $1.75 $1.75
Alaska $0.00 - $2.00 $0.00 - $2.00
Arizona $0.20 $0.20 0.8% of Prepaid Sale $0.20
Arkansas 5% - 12% of Tariff Rates $0.65 $0.65 $0.65
California 0.75% of Service Charges 0.75% of Service Charges 0.75% of Service Charges 0.75% of Service Charges
Colorado $0.43 - $1.75 $0.43 - $1.75 1.4% of Prepaid Sale $0.43 - $1.75
Connecticut $0.51 $0.51 $0.51 At Point of Sale $0.51
Delaware $0.60 $0.60 $0.60 $0.60
Florida $0.40 $0.40 $0.04 $0.40
Georgia $1.50 $1.00 - $1.50 $0.75 Prepaid $1.50
Hawaii $0.27 $0.66 $0.66
Idaho $1.00 $1.00 2.5% of Prepaid Retail Sale $1.00
Illinois $0.50 - $5.00 $0.73 1.5% of Prepaid Sale $0.50 - $5.00
Indiana $0.90 $0.90 $0.50 $0.90
Iowa $1.00 $1.00 $0.51 $1.00
Kansas $0.53 $0.53 1.06% of Prepaid Retail Sale $0.53
Kentucky $0.36 - $4.50 $0.70 $0.70 $0.36 - $4.50

$0.62 - $1.00 Residential $0.85 - $1.50 2% of Prepaid Retail Sale $1.00
$1.30 - $2.00 Business

Maine $0.45 $0.45 $0.45 $0.45
Maryland $1.00 $1.00 $0.60 $1.00
Massachusetts $0.75 $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
Michigan $0.19 - $3.19 $0.19 - $3.19 1.92% Prepaid Point of Sale $0.19 - $3.19
Minnesota $0.78 $0.78 $0.78 $0.78

$1.05 Residential $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
$2.05 Business

2% - 15% Base Rate
0.125% - 0.75% of Sales Tax

Montana $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
Nebraska $0.50 - $1.00 $0.45 - $0.70 1.1% of Prepaid Retail Sale
Nevada Varies By Jurisdiction Varies By Jurisdiction
New Hampshire $0.57 $0.57 $0.57
New Jersey $0.90 $0.90 $0.90
New Mexico $0.51 $0.51
New York $0.35 - $1.00 $1.20 $0.35
North Carolina $0.60 $0.60 $0.60 $0.60
North Dakota $1.00 - $1.50 $1.00 - $1.50 2% of Prepaid Sale $1.00 - $1.50
Ohio $0.50 $0.25 0.5% Prepaid Point of Sale
Oklahoma 3% - 15% of Base Rate $0.50 $0.50 $0.50
Oregon $0.75 $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
Pennsylvania $1.65 $1.65 $1.65 $1.65
Rhode Island $1.00 $1.26 $1.26
South Carolina $0.30 - $1.00 $0.62 $0.62 $0.30 - $1.00
South Dakota $1.25 $1.25 2% Prepaid Point of Sale $1.25
Tennessee $1.16 $1.16 $1.16 $1.16
Texas $0.50 $0.50 2% of Prepaid Sale $0.50
Utah $0.70 $0.70 1.9% Prepaid Point of Sale $0.70
Vermont Universal Service Funding Universal Service Funding
Virginia $0.75 $0.75 $0.50 $0.75
Washington $0.95 $0.95 $0.95
West Virginia $0.98 - $6.40 $3.00 6% Prepaid Point of Sale $0.98 - $6.40
Wisconsin $0.16 - $1.00
Wyoming $0.25 - $0.75 $0.25 - $0.75 1.5% of Prepaid Sale $0.25 - $0.75

911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

Missouri

Mississippi

Louisiana
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Cigarette License Fee

Statute:  16-11-122, MCA

Fee Rate
A license fee is imposed on tobacco, alternative nicotine, and vapor product dealers in Montana. As of 
January 2016, wholesalers, sub-jobbers and vendors (operating 10 or more machines) pay an annual 
license fee of $50. Retailers and vendors (operating 9 or fewer machines) pay an annual license fee of $5. 
The sale of alternative nicotine and vapor products also requires a license fee of $5.

Filing Requirements
Licenses must be renewed annually on, or before, the anniversary date.

Distribution
Revenues from the license fees are deposited in the state general fund (16-11-124, MCA).

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $14,986
FY 2007 $14,072
FY 2008 $14,071
FY 2009 $14,170
FY 2010 $13,575
FY 2011 $13,360
FY 2012 $13,130
FY 2013 $13,230
FY 2014 $13,610
FY 2015 $13,330
FY 2016 $18,095

Cigarette Income Tax
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Status Annual Renewal Fee
Wholesalers & Sub-Jobbers $50
Vendors (10 or More Machines) $50
Vendors (9 or Fewer Machines) $5
Retailers $5
Alternative Tobacco or Vaping Products $5

Cigarette License Fee Schedule
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Cigarette Tax

Statute:  16-11-111, MCA and 16-11-119, MCA

Tax Rate
The cigarette tax rate has increased twice since 2003. On May 1, 2003, the cigarette tax rate increased from 
$0.18 to $0.70 per pack of 20 cigarettes, as mandated by the 2003 Legislature. On January 1, 2005, the tax 
rate increased from $0.70 per pack to $1.70 per pack in compliance with Initiative 149 (I-149) in November 
2004. 

Filing Requirements
The cigarette tax is pre-collected from retailers by state-licensed cigarette wholesalers who must affix a tax 
insignia to each package of cigarettes to indicate the tax has been paid. Retailers then include the tax in the 
retail price of cigarettes. Wholesalers remit the tax to the State of Montana, minus an allowance to defray 
the costs of affixing insignias and collecting the tax.

Distribution
After distributing revenues according to tribal revenue sharing agreements, cigarette tax revenues are 
distributed as follows: 

•	 Department of Public Health and Human Services for maintenance and operation of state veterans’ 
nursing homes.

o	 Whichever is greater:
	 8.3 percent of revenues
	 $2 Million

•	 Long-Range Building Program Account.
o	 2.6 percent of revenues

•	 State special revenue fund for Health and Medicaid initiatives.
o	 44 percent of revenues

•	 State general fund (16-11- 119, MCA). 
o	 Remaining revenues

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $80,180,236
FY 2007 $83,380,418
FY 2008 $83,882,748
FY 2009 $79,905,894
FY 2010 $77,071,487
FY 2011 $74,090,938
FY 2012 $75,533,075
FY 2013 $74,790,040
FY 2014 $73,839,772
FY 2015 $71,843,320
FY 2016 $73,219,123

Cigarette Tax
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Distribution of Cigarette Tax

Fund FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

Total Revenue $74,090,938 $75,533,075 $74,790,040 $73,839,772 $71,843,320 $73,219,123
Tobacco and Cig. Tribal Agree. $3,495,106 $3,818,164 $4,149,377 $4,083,458 $4,407,522 $4,254,158

Remainder $70,595,832 $71,714,911 $70,640,663 $69,756,313 $67,435,798 $68,964,965
State Veterans' Home (8.3%) $5,859,454 $5,952,337 $5,863,175 $5,789,774 $5,597,171 $5,724,092
SW State Veterans' Home (1.2%) $847,150 $860,579 $847,688 $837,076 $809,230 $0
Long Range Building Program (2.6%) $1,835,492 $1,864,588 $1,836,657 $1,813,664 $1,753,331 $1,793,089
DPHHS-Medicaid Initiatives (44%) $31,062,166 $31,554,561 $31,081,891 $30,692,778 $29,671,751 $30,344,584
General Fund (remainder) $30,991,570 $31,482,846 $31,011,251 $30,623,022 $29,604,315 $31,103,199
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From fiscal year 2012 through 2015, 1.2 percent of revenue of the revenue was distributed to a special 
revenue fund for the construction of state veteran’s homes in southwestern Montana.

State Comparison
The state of New York has the highest excise tax on cigarettes at $4.35 per pack, as of January 1, 2016. At 
$0.17 per pack, Missouri has the lowest excise tax on cigarettes in the United States. With a tax of $1.70 
per pack of 20 cigarettes, Montana has the 19th highest cigarette excise tax in the United States. Montana 
places a large tax on the sales of cigarettes within the state relative to its surrounding states. For 2016, 
South Dakota’s excise tax on cigarettes was similar to Montana’s at $1.53 per pack. However, the excise 
taxes for Wyoming, Idaho and North Dakota were significantly below Montana’s, at $0.60, $0.57 and $0.44 
respectively.

State Cigarette Tax Rate ($ Per Pack) State Cigarette Tax Rate ($ Per Pack)
Alabama $0.68 Montana $1.70
Alaska $2.00 Nebraska $0.64
Arizona $2.00 Nevada $1.80
Arkansas $1.15 New Hampshire $1.78
California $0.87 New Jersey $2.70
Colorado $0.84 New Mexico $1.66
Connecticut $3.65 New York $4.35
Delaware $1.60 North Carolina $0.45
Florida $1.34 North Dakota $0.44
Georgia $0.37 Ohio $1.60
Hawaii $3.20 Oklahoma $1.03
Idaho $0.57 Oregon $1.32
Illinois $1.98 Pennsylvania $1.60
Indiana $1.00 Rhode Island $3.75
Iowa $1.36 South Carolina $0.57
Kansas $1.29 South Dakota $1.53
Kentucky $0.60 Tennessee $0.62
Louisiana $0.86 Texas $1.41
Maine $2.00 Utah $1.70
Maryland $2.00 Vermont $3.08
Massachusetts $3.51 Virginia $0.30
Michigan $2.00 Washington $3.03
Minnesota $3.00 West Virginia $0.55
Mississippi $0.68 Wisconsin $2.52
Missouri $0.17 Wyoming $0.60

Excise Tax Rates on Cigarettes by State

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators

Cigarette Tax
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Consumer Counsel Fee

Statute:  Title 69, Chapter 1, Part 2, MCA

Fee Rate
The tax rate is set annually for the succeeding fiscal year to cover appropriations for the operation of the 
Office of the Consumer Counsel.

Filing Requirements
All companies providing services regulated by the Public Service Commission are subject to a quarterly 
Consumer Counsel Tax on gross operating revenue.

Distribution
All collections are deposited in a state special revenue account for the operation of the Office of Consumer 
Counsel (69-1-201; 223; 224, MCA). 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $1,070,664
FY 2007 $806,829
FY 2008 $1,696,840
FY 2009 $1,355,530
FY 2010 $530,981
FY 2011 $1,243,187
FY 2012 $1,523,517
FY 2013 $1,063,563
FY 2014 $1,444,344
FY 2015 $1,469,750
FY 2016 $1,002,553

Consumer Counsel Fee
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Fiscal Year* Fee Rate
Oct. 2005 - Sept. 2006 0.07% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2006 - Sept. 2007 0.06% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2007 - Sept. 2008 0.14% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2008 - Sept. 2009 0.08% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2009 - Sept. 2010 0.03% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2010 - Sept. 2011 0.11% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2011 - Sept. 2012 0.12% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2012 - Sept. 2013 0.07% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2013 - Sept. 2014 0.11% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2014 - Sept. 2015 0.10% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2015 - Sept. 2016 0.06% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2016 - Sept. 2017 0.10% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities

Consumer Counsel Fee Rates
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Electrical Energy Producers’ License Tax

Statute:  Title 15, Chapter 51, MCA

Tax Rate
The tax was first enacted in 1933 and is $.0002 per kilowatt hour of electrical energy generated, manufactured 
or produced in the state for barter, sale or exchange, other than plant use.

Filing Requirements
Businesses that produce electrical energy pay the electrical energy producers’ license tax. The businesses 
must remit the license tax each calendar quarter to the department with a statement on or before the 30th 
day of the month after the end of the calendar quarter (15-51-102, MCA). 

Distribution
These tax collections are deposited in the state general fund (15-51-103, MCA).

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $4,644,508
FY 2007 $4,564,404
FY 2008 $5,179,013
FY 2009 $4,824,659
FY 2010 $4,713,429
FY 2011 $4,332,363
FY 2012 $4,481,361
FY 2013 $5,066,602
FY 2014 $4,279,845
FY 2015 $5,132,926
FY 2016 $4,536,484

Electrical Energy Producers' License Tax
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Hospital Facility Utilization Fee

Statute:  Title 15, Chapter 66, MCA

Fee Rate
Beginning in 2010, all hospitals licensed by the state (with the exception of the Montana State Hospital) are 
required to pay a $50 utilization fee for each inpatient bed day. 

Filing Requirements
The hospital must pay the fees for the preceding calendar year on all taxable inpatient bed days. The table 
below lists the fee per inpatient bed day since the fee was instituted. 

Distribution
All of the proceeds from the utilization fee are deposited in a special revenue account for use by the 
Department of Public Health and Human Services to reimburse hospitals serving Medicaid patients (15-66-
102, MCA). 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $11,179,325
FY 2007 $12,559,877
FY 2008 $16,671,570
FY 2009 $19,582,981
FY 2010 $21,290,112
FY 2011 $21,819,469
FY 2012 $21,238,158
FY 2013 $21,703,642
FY 2014 $22,179,418
FY 2015 $23,626,972
FY 2016 $22,667,834

Hospital Facility Utilization Fee
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Fee Applies to This Period Fee Per Inpatient Bed Day
January 1, 2004 - June 30, 2005 $19.43
July 1, 2005 - December 31, 2005 $29.75
January 1, 2006 - June 30, 2007 $27.70
July 1, 2007 - December 31, 2007 $47.00
January 1, 2008 - December 31, 2008 $43.00
January 1, 2009 - December 31, 2009 $48.00
Beginning January 1, 2010 $50.00

Hospital Facility Utilization Fee Schedule
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Inheritance and Estate Tax

Statute: Title 72, Chapter 16, MCA

Tax Rate
An estate tax is a tax on the value of the estate a person leaves when they die and is paid by the estate. An 
inheritance tax is a tax on the value of the bequest each heir receives. 

Before 2001, Montana had an inheritance tax with rates that varied according to the heir’s relationship to 
the decedent. Montana’s inheritance tax was repealed by the passage of Legislative Referendum 116 in 
November 2000, and does not apply to bequests made on or after January 1, 2001. 

Montana also has an estate tax equal to the difference between the amount of credit that the federal estate 
tax law allows for state taxes and the inheritance tax. The estate tax essentially allows the state to receive 
a share of the federal tax on Montana estates, with that share determined by federal law. With repeal of the 
inheritance tax, the estate tax became a stand-alone tax.

Federal legislation passed in 2001 and 2010 changed the federal estate tax law. It phased out the credit 
for state taxes between 2002 and 2004 and replaced it with a deduction beginning in 2005. With no federal 
credit, Montana essentially has an estate tax with a rate of zero.

No Montana tax applies to the estates of people who died after January 1, 2005. All revenue received in FY 
2006 through FY 2016 is from the estates of people who died before the end of 2004. The state continues 
to receive small amounts of revenue because it sometimes takes years for final settlement of all issues 
pertaining to an estate.

Distribution 
All inheritance tax revenue is deposited in the state general fund.

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $1,773,169
FY 2007 $838,865
FY 2008 $122,148
FY 2009 $217,097
FY 2010 $90,544
FY 2011 $43,165
FY 2012 $59,718
FY 2013 $1,676
FY 2014 $3,741
FY 2015 $35
FY 2016 $62

Inheritance and Estate Taxes
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Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee

Statute:  Title 15, Chapter 67, MCA

Fee Rate
The Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee is collected at a rate of 6 percent of the revenue of intermediate 
care facilities for the developmentally disabled. The fee was first implemented by the 2003 Legislature at 
a rate of 5 percent. The 2005 Legislature changed the fee to a quarterly payment of 6 percent of the 
intermediate care facility’s quarterly revenue divided by the resident bed days for the same period. For 
facilities operated by the state, the fee is calculated on total quarterly expenditures.

Filing Requirements
Payments are filed and paid quarterly. 

Distribution
Thirty percent of the revenue generated by this fee is deposited into the state general fund and 70 percent 
into the prevention and stabilization account in the state special revenue fund for the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services to administer (15-67-102, MCA).

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $897,227
FY 2007 $877,482
FY 2008 $890,691
FY 2009 $907,764
FY 2010 $913,971
FY 2011 $931,535
FY 2012 $882,024
FY 2013 $951,767
FY 2014 $906,220
FY 2015 $906,155
FY 2016 $1,036,982

Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee
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Distribution of Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fees

Fund FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

General Fund (30%) $279,460 $264,607 $285,530 $271,866 $271,846 $311,095
Prevention & Stabilization (70%) $652,074 $617,417 $666,237 $634,354 $634,308 $725,888
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Statute: Title 15, Chapter 65, MCA

Tax Rate
The 1987 Legislature enacted a tax on short-term lodging, with the proceeds to be used primarily to fund 
tourism promotion. The tax is imposed on users of short-term, overnight lodging facilities and is 4 percent 
of the lodging charge.

Filing Requirements
The owner or operator of a facility collects the tax from customers and must pay the tax to the department 
quarterly. The tax is due on, or before, the last day of the month immediately following the end of the quarter. 
To simplify compliance, the department has lodging operators file a single return combining the lodging 
facility use tax and the lodging sales tax.

Distribution
The department’s costs of administering the lodging facility use tax are paid out of receipts from the tax. This 
process is different from most taxes, where the department’s costs are paid from the general fund. For each 
fiscal year, the legislature appropriates an amount to the department to cover its costs, and this amount is 
deducted from tax collections.

The legislature originally chose not to tax business travel by state employees. However, rather than 
exempting state travel from the tax, the legislature required the department to reimburse state agencies for 
the tax they paid. Agencies reported the amount they spent on lodging from each of their funding sources, 
and the department reimbursed each of the funds. This system was cumbersome to administer and difficult 
to track. The 2011 Legislature simplified the process (HB 111). Beginning in FY 2012, 30 percent of tax 
collected from state agencies is deposited in the general fund. Tax on state agency travel paid with federal 
funds is given to the Department of Administration to be returned to the federal government through the 
normal process for returning unspent federal funds. The rest of the tax paid by state agencies is included 
in the normal distribution.

A fixed allocation of $400,000 is deposited in the Montana Heritage Preservation Account to pay for 
preservation of historic properties at Virginia City and Nevada City. The remaining revenue is distributed to 
the following accounts:

•	 Department of Commerce for statewide tourism promotion.
o	 64.9 percent of revenues

•	 Montana Historical Society for roadside historical signs and historic sites.
o	 1 percent of revenues

•	 Montana university system for the Montana Travel Research Program.
o	 2.5 percent of revenues

•	 Historical Society to cover costs of the state museum and the Robert Scriver sculpture collection.

Lodging Facility Use Tax

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $15,018,113
FY 2007 $17,906,542
FY 2008 $18,562,141
FY 2009 $17,307,397
FY 2010 $17,132,174
FY 2011 $19,784,603
FY 2012 $22,257,882
FY 2013 $23,334,117
FY 2014 $24,487,190
FY 2015 $27,127,478
FY 2016 $27,910,664

Lodging Facility Use Tax

$0

$5

$10

$15

$20

$25

$30

M
ill
io
ns



142
revenue.mt.gov

Table of Contents Other Taxes

o	 2.6 percent of revenues
•	 Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks to maintain facilities in state parks.

o	 6.5 percent of revenues
•	 Regional nonprofit tourism corporations and local convention and visitors bureaus for local tourism 

promotion.
o	 22.5 percent of revenues
o	 Each of the state’s six tourism promotion regions receives revenue proportional to the tax 

collected in the region. If the share of this allocation due to taxes collected in a city or resort 
area is more than $35,000, half of that amount goes to the local convention and visitors’ 
bureau.

The 2011 Legislature (HB 477) created the allocation to the Historical Society and reduced the Department 
of Commerce’s allocation by the same percentage (2.6 percent).

Lodging Facility Use Tax

Distribution of Lodging Facility Use Tax

Fund FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

Total Revenue $19,784,603 $22,257,882 $23,334,117 $24,487,190 $27,127,478 $27,910,664
DOR Administration $132,416 $135,675 $136,459 $144,317 $147,793 $147,821
Travel Reimbursements $215,859 $140,183 $134,921 $152,886 $127,527 $113,724
MT Heritage Preservation Acct. $400,000 $400,000 $400,000 $400,000 $400,000 $400,000
  Remainder $19,036,328 $21,582,023 $22,662,737 $23,789,987 $26,452,158 $27,249,119
Department of Commerce (64.9%) $12,849,521 $14,012,087 $14,708,117 $15,439,702 $17,167,451 $17,684,678
MT Historical Soc. Sites & Signs (1%) $190,363 $215,820 $226,627 $237,900 $264,522 $272,491
MT University System  (2.5%) $475,908 $539,551 $566,568 $594,750 $661,304 $681,228
MT Historical Soc. Interpret. Acct. (2.6%) $0 $555,779 $589,231 $618,540 $687,756 $708,477
Fish, Wildlife, and Parks (6.5%) $1,237,361 $1,402,832 $1,473,078 $1,546,350 $1,719,390 $1,771,193
Regional Tourism (22.5%) $4,283,174 $4,855,955 $5,099,116 $5,352,747 $5,951,736 $6,131,052
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Nursing Facility Utilization Fee

Statute:  Title 15, Chapter 60, MCA

Tax Rate
All facilities licensed by the Department of 
Public Health and Human Services (DPHHS) 
and the Montana Mental Health Nursing Care 
Center (MMHNCC) must pay a utilization fee 
of $8.30 per resident day. 

Filing Requirements
The owner or operators of a facility pay the 
tax quarterly.  The tax is due on or before the 
last day of the month immediately following 
the end of the quarter.

Distribution

For all facilities, with the exception of the Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center, $2.80 is distributed 
to the general fund and $5.50 is distributed to the nursing facility utilization fee account (15-60-102, MCA). 

Utilization fees paid by the Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center are distributed 30 percent to the 
state general fund and 70 percent to the prevention and stabilization account administered by DPHHS to 
finance, administer, and provide health and human services (53-6-1101, MCA). 

The revenue distributed into the nursing facility utilization account is used by DPHHS to increase the 
average price paid for Medicaid nursing facility services under the price-based reimbursement system used 
to establish Medicaid payment rates to nursing homes (15-60-211, MCA).

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $13,752,750
FY 2007 $16,196,108
FY 2008 $15,868,028
FY 2009 $15,308,973
FY 2010 $14,928,685
FY 2011 $14,609,167
FY 2012 $14,294,205
FY 2013 $13,719,662
FY 2014 $13,929,619
FY 2015 $13,485,243
FY 2016 $13,232,878

Nursing Facility Utilization Fee
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Non-Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities
General Fund Fee Per Bed Day (≈33.73%) $2.80
Nursing Facility Utilization Account Fee Per Bed Day (≈66.27%) $5.50
Total Fee Per Bed Day (100%) $8.30

Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities
General Fund Fee Per Bed Day (30%) $2.49
Prevention and Stabilization Fee Per Bed Day (70%) $5.81
Total Fee Per Bed Day (100%) $8.30

Nursing Facility Utilization Fee Rates

Distribution of Nursing Facility Utilization Fees

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016
Non-Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities
General Fund (≈33.73%) $4,838,119 $4,735,765 $4,580,152 $4,615,142 $4,455,861 $4,370,397
Nursing Facility Util. Acct. Fee (≈66.27%) $9,505,548 $9,304,451 $8,931,529 $9,067,461 $8,754,519 $8,586,606

Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities
General Fund (30%) $79,650 $76,196 $62,394 $74,105 $82,459 $82,763
Prevention and Stabilization Fee (70%) $185,850 $177,792 $145,587 $172,911 $192,404 $193,113
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Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Fees and Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 50, MCA.

Tax Rate
Prime contractors, or subcontractors, working on a publicly funded project in Montana are required to 
pay, or have withheld from their earnings, a license fee equal to 1 percent of the gross contract price of all 
government contracts over $5,000. 

Filing Requirements 
Contractors can obtain part or all of the tax back by requesting refunds for business equipment and vehicle 
property taxes paid by their contracting business, and/or by claiming credit on their individual Montana 
income tax return or Montana corporation income tax return. These refunds often occur in a later year than 
the original payments.

In FY 2012 and FY 2013, total refunds exceeded total payments and as a result, total contractor’s gross 
receipts revenue was negative. The decline in revenue is due, in part, to a large decrease in the number 
of publicly-funded projects covered by the fee in FY 2012, FY 2013 and FY 2014. The revenue amounts 
are expected to return to a level closer to their historical levels, as the number of refunds claimed by 
contractors adjusts to the decreased number of qualified government contracts. In addition, upgrades to the 
department’s main tax processing software, GenTax, along with changes in the contractor’s gross receipts 
software application, allowed a backlog of refunds to be closed out and finally posted.  The upgrade, along 
with other efforts by the department, resulted in large, temporary, decreases in revenue over a short time 
period. 

Distribution
Revenues are deposited in the state general fund (15-50-311, MCA). 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $4,274,649
FY 2007 $5,566,958
FY 2008 $5,062,659
FY 2009 $5,929,999
FY 2010 $6,969,395
FY 2011 $6,803,285
FY 2012 -$3,041,921
FY 2013 -$137,587
FY 2014 $887,078
FY 2015 $3,256,741
FY 2016 $2,397,493

Public Contractor's Gross Receipts Fees and Tax
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Public Service Commission Fee

Statute:  Title 69, Chapter 1, Part 4, MCA

Tax Rate
All companies providing services that are regulated by the Public Service Commission are subject to a 
tax on gross operating revenue, excluding revenues from sales to other regulated companies for resale. 
However, motor carriers are not subject to the tax. The tax rate is set annually for the succeeding fiscal year 
to cover appropriations for the operation of the Department of Public Service Regulation. 

Filling Requirements
Taxpayers must file and pay the tax within 30 days of the end of the calendar quarter.

Distribution
All collections are deposited in a state special revenue account for the administration of the Public Service 
Commission (69-1-402, MCA).

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $3,005,151
FY 2007 $2,619,321
FY 2008 $3,520,803
FY 2009 $3,521,894
FY 2010 $2,493,209
FY 2011 $4,739,380
FY 2012 $2,461,936
FY 2013 $2,608,068
FY 2014 $4,910,861
FY 2015 $3,254,094
FY 2016 $2,897,229

Public Service Commission Fee
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Effective Dates Rate
Oct. 2005 - Sept. 2006 0.25%
Oct. 2006 - Sept. 2007 0.22%
Oct. 2007 - Sept. 2008 0.31%
Oct. 2008 - Sept. 2009 0.26%
Oct. 2009 - June 2010 0.21%
July 2010 - Sept. 2010 0.37%
Oct. 2010 - Sept. 2011 0.42%
Oct. 2011 - Sept. 2012 0.20%
Oct. 2012 - Sept. 2013 0.23%
Oct. 2013 - Sept. 2014 0.42%
Oct. 2014 - Sept. 2015 0.20%
Oct. 2015 - Sept. 2016 0.23%
Oct. 2016 - Sept. 2017 0.39%

Public Service Commission Fee Rates
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Rail Car Tax

Statute:  Title 15, Chapter 23, Part 2, MCA

Tax Rate
The rail car tax provides for the central assessment of rail car companies’ operating properties. The rail 
car tax is assessed on the rolling stock of freight line companies. Section 15-23-214, MCA, provides that 
the tax is computed by multiplying the taxable value of the property by the average statewide mill levy for 
commercial and industrial property.  Rail car companies were moved from a gross receipts tax to an ad 
valorem tax by the July 1992 special session of the Montana Legislature. 

As required by federal law, calculation of rail car tax is a three-step process. The first step is to determine 
the Montana market value of rail car companies. The second step is to calculate the taxable value by ap
plying the class 12 taxable valuation rate to the Montana market value. The class 12 taxable value rate, 
which applies to railroad and airline property, is a composite rate reflective of the weighted average tax rate 
applied to all commercial and industrial property in the state. The third step is to apply the statewide average 
mill levy for commercial and industrial property to the taxable value. Section 15-23-211, MCA, provides a 
definition of the “average levy.” Prior to fiscal year 2004, 95 percent of the average statewide mill levy was 
used as the average state mill. 

Under current law, tax calculations are calculated at 100 percent of the average statewide mill levy. The 
rail car tax general fund revenue is Montana’s allocated rail car value multiplied by the class 12 taxable 
valuation rate, and then multiplied by the average statewide mill levy for commercial and industrial property. 
The calculated tax may differ from actual collections due to delinquent taxes.

Filling Requirements
The department computes the rail car tax and sends the railroad car company a written notice with the 
amount of taxes due. This notice must include the taxable value of the property and the average levy used 
(15-23-214, MCA). One half of the rail car tax is due by November 30 of each year or within 30 days after 
the tax notice is postmarked, whichever is later. The other half of the tax is due by May 31 of each year. 

Distribution
Rail car tax revenue is deposited in the state general fund (15-23-215, MCA). 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $1,667,441
FY 2007 $1,614,509
FY 2008 $2,063,981
FY 2009 $2,099,454
FY 2010 $2,579,263
FY 2011 $2,130,192
FY 2012 $2,273,412
FY 2013 $2,178,957
FY 2014 $2,418,072
FY 2015 $3,706,309
FY 2016 $3,594,460

Rail Car Tax
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Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 53, MCA

Tax Rate
Prior to January 1, 2000, Montana levied a telephone company license tax of 1.8 percent on gross revenue 
telephone companies earned from in-state telephone calls. On January 1, 2000, the telephone company 
license tax was replaced by the retail telecommunications excise tax. The retail telecommunications tax is 
levied at a rate of 3.75 percent on retail sales of telecommunications service when the transmission either 
originates or terminates in Montana. 

The sale of prepaid wireless cellular telephone services by third parties, such as retail and grocery stores, 
are not subject to Montana’s retail telecommunications excise tax. 

Filing Requirements
Each retail telecommunication service provider must file a quarterly return due 60 days after the end of the 
quarter. 

Distribution 
All receipts from the Retail Telecommunications Excise tax are deposited in the state general fund (15-53-
156, MCA). 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $21,208,947
FY 2007 $21,065,843
FY 2008 $22,350,323
FY 2009 $22,250,383
FY 2010 $23,523,474
FY 2011 $22,049,967
FY 2012 $21,459,017
FY 2013 $20,651,872
FY 2014 $19,656,770
FY 2015 $18,256,517
FY 2016 $16,774,868

Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax 

$0

$5

$10

$15

$20

$25

M
ill
io
ns



148
revenue.mt.gov

Table of Contents Other Taxes

Sales Tax - Accommodations

Statute:  Title 15, Chapter 68, MCA

Tax Rate
In 2003, the Montana Legislature enacted a 3 percent selective sales and use tax on accommodations and 
campgrounds. The 3 percent sales tax on accommodations is levied in addition to, and applies to the same 
facilities as, the lodging facilities use tax (15-68-102, MCA).

Filing Requirements
The sales tax is imposed on the purchaser, and collected and paid by the seller to the department. The tax 
is due on or before the last day of the month immediately following the end of the quarter.  The seller who 
files a return and pays the tax on time is allowed to keep 5 percent of the tax collected, up to $1,000 per 
facility, as compensation for collecting the tax. To simplify compliance, the department has the seller file a 
single return combining the lodging facility use tax and the lodging sales tax.

Distribution
All of the revenue from the accommodations and campground sales and use tax is deposited in the state 
general fund (15-68-820, MCA).

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $10,679,216
FY 2007 $12,916,075
FY 2008 $13,389,534
FY 2009 $12,477,461
FY 2010 $12,330,846
FY 2011 $14,240,586
FY 2012 $15,606,496
FY 2013 $16,719,931
FY 2014 $17,725,159
FY 2015 $19,696,526
FY 2016 $21,492,606

Sales Tax - Accommodations 
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Sales Tax - Rental Vehicles

Statute:  Title 15, Chapter 68, MCA

Tax Rate
The 2003 Legislature enacted a 4 percent sales and use tax on the base rental charge for vehicles rented 
for 30 days or less (15-68-102, MCA). The base rental charge includes charges based on time of use or 
mileage, charges for personal accident insurance, charges for additional or underage drivers, and charges 
for certain accessory equipment. Rental vehicles subject to the tax include automobiles, vans and SUVs; 
trucks rated at one ton or less; motorcycles and quadracycles; off-highway vehicles; motorboats and 
sailboats; and trucks, trailers and semis with GVW less than 22,000 lbs.  Vehicles designed to carry more 
than 15 passengers, farm vehicles, machinery, equipment, and vehicles rented with a driver are not subject 
to the tax. 

Filing Requirements
The sales tax is imposed on the purchaser, and collected and paid by the seller to the department.  The 
tax is due on or before the last of the month immediately following the end of the quarter.  A rental vehicle 
business that files a return and pays the tax on time is allowed to keep 5 percent of the tax collected, up to 
$1,000 per location, as compensation for collecting the tax.

Distribution
Before 2016, all rental vehicle sales tax revenue was deposited into the state’s general fund. After 2016, the 
distribution of rental vehicle sales tax revenue was changed to the following accounts (15-68-820, MCA): 

•	 Senior citizen and persons with disabilities transportation services.
o	 25 percent of revenue

•	 State general fund.
o	 75 percent of revenue

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $2,755,072
FY 2007 $2,976,235
FY 2008 $3,157,239
FY 2009 $2,904,340
FY 2010 $2,807,415
FY 2011 $3,149,201
FY 2012 $3,419,763
FY 2013 $3,523,211
FY 2014 $3,521,324
FY 2015 $3,906,745
FY 2016 $4,269,438

Sales - Rental Vehicles
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TDD Telecommunications Service Fee

Statute:  53-19-301, MCA

Fee Rate
A monthly fee of $0.10 per access line in the state is assessed from service subscribers to provide funding 
for a telecommunications relay service system that is designed to connect persons with disabilities to all 
public telecommunications services. The service provider may deduct and retain 0.75 percent of the total 
fees collected each month to cover its administrative expenses.  Legislation in 2007 modified state law to 
make clear that all telecommunications providers, including those using newer technologies or formats 
such as Voice over Internet Protocol (VoIP) or prepaid wireless service, must collect the fee and remit the 
revenue to the state. 

Filing Requirements
The fee is paid by the subscriber, but is collected and paid to the state by the service provider on a quarterly 
basis.  The tax is due on the last day of the month immediately following the end of the quarter. 

Distribution
The revenue from this fee is deposited in a special revenue account to provide telecommunications devices 
for persons with hearing disabilities (53-19-311, MCA). 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $1,185,297
FY 2007 $1,259,944
FY 2008 $1,320,796
FY 2009 $1,389,821
FY 2010 $1,361,947
FY 2011 $1,350,111
FY 2012 $1,325,236
FY 2013 $1,317,336
FY 2014 $1,430,128
FY 2015 $1,321,811
FY 2016 $1,334,146

TDD Telecommunications Service Fee
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Tobacco Products Tax

Statute: Title 16, Chapter 11, MCA

Tax Rate
All tobacco products, excluding cigarettes and moist snuff, are subject to a tax of 50 percent of their wholesale 
price. A tax of $0.85 per ounce is levied on moist snuff. The taxpayer is allowed a 1.5 percent allowance for 
administrative expenses. Before May 1, 2003, the tax rate on tobacco products was 12.5 percent. The 2003 
Legislature increased the tax on tobacco products to 25 percent of the wholesale price. Then, Montana 
voters passed Initiative 149 (I-149). This increased the taxes on other tobacco products to 50 percent of the 
wholesale price and the tax on moist snuff to $0.85 per ounce. This increase was effective January 1, 2005. 

Filing Requirements
The tax is collected monthly from the wholesaler. Wholesalers must submit returns to the department on or 
before the 15th day of the month.

Distribution
After tribal revenue sharing agreements, the revenue from the tobacco products tax is distributed 50 percent 
to the state general fund and 50 percent to the Department of Public Health and Human Services for health 
and Medicaid initiatives (16-11-119, MCA).

State Comparison
The tax rates associated with non-cigarette tobacco products vary significantly across the United States. A 
majority of states place a tax on the wholesale price of non-cigarette related tobacco products, with rates 
ranging from 6.6 percent of the wholesale price in Tennessee to 95 percent in several states. With a tax of 
50 percent on the wholesale price of all non-cigarette and snuff tobacco products, the tax rate in Montana 
is similar to the national average. However, ten states tax the sale of non-cigarette tobacco products based 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $9,118,757
FY 2007 $9,810,138
FY 2008 $9,872,434
FY 2009 $10,479,063
FY 2010 $11,210,117
FY 2011 $11,492,465
FY 2012 $12,024,144
FY 2013 $12,386,794
FY 2014 $12,562,721
FY 2015 $12,894,293
FY 2016 $13,131,013

Tobacco Products Tax
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Product Tax Rate
Moist Snuff $0.85 per ounce
All Other Tobacco* 50% of wholesale price

Tobacco Products Tax Rate

*Excludes Cigarettes

Distribution of Tobacco Products Tax

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014 FY 2015 FY 2016

Total Revenue $11,492,465 $12,024,144 $12,386,794 $12,562,721 $12,894,293 $13,131,013
Tobacco And Cig. Tribal Agree. $537,849 $605,561 $681,584 $703,758 $782,864 $763,547
  Remainder $10,954,616 $11,418,583 $11,705,210 $11,858,963 $12,111,429 $12,367,466
General Fund (50%) $5,477,308 $5,709,292 $5,852,606 $5,929,482 $6,055,715 $6,183,734
DPHHS (50%) $5,477,308 $5,709,291 $5,852,604 $5,929,481 $6,055,714 $6,183,732
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on the manufacturer’s, or factory list, price.

Montana is also one of several states that places a different tax on the sale of moist snuff. With a tax rate of 
$0.85 per ounce, Montana had the seventh highest tax rate in the country. Vermont and Washington have 
the highest tax on moist snuff at $2.57 and $2.105 per ounce respectively. 

Tobacco Products Tax

State Type Tax Rate
Cigars $0.03 - $0.405 Per 10 Cigars
Tobacco / Snuff $0.02 - $0.08 Per Ounce

Alaska All Other Tobacco Products 75% Wholesale Price
Cigars $0.2201 - $2.18 Per 10 Cigars
Tobacco / Snuff $0.223 Per Ounce

Arkansas All Other Tobacco Products 68% Manufacturer's Price
California All Other Tobacco Products 28.13% Wholesale Price
Colorado All Other Tobacco Products 40% Manufacturer's Price

Snuff $1.00 Per Ounce
All Other 50% Wholesale Price
Snuff $0.54 Per Ounce
All Other 15% Wholesale Price

Florida Tobacco / Snuff 85% Wholesale Price
Little Cigars $0.025 Per 10 Cigars
Other Cigars 23% Wholesale Price
Tobacco 10% Wholesale Price
Large Cigars 50% Wholesale Price
Tobacco / Snuff 70% Wholesale Price

Idaho All Other Tobacco Products 40% Wholesale Price
Snuff $0.30 Per Ounce
All Other 36% Wholesale Price

Indiana All Other Tobacco Products 24% Wholesale Price
Iowa All Other Tobacco Products 50% Wholesale Price
Kansas All Other Tobacco Products 10% Wholesale Price
Kentucky All Other Tobacco Products 15% Wholesale Price

Cigars 8% - 20% Manufacturer's Price
Snuff / Smoking Tobacco 20% - 33% Manufacturer's Price
Chewing Tobacco / Snuff $2.02 Per Ounce
Smoking Tobacco / Cigars 20% Wholesale Price
Tobacco/Snuff 30% Wholesale Price
Cigars 70% Wholesale Price

Other Tobacco Product Taxes by State

Georgia

Hawaii

Illinois

Louisiana

Alabama

Arizona

Connecticut

Delaware

Maine

Maryland



153
revenue.mt.gov

Other TaxesTable of Contents

Tobacco Products Tax

State Type Tax Rate
Massachusetts Smoking Tobacco / Cigars 40% Wholesale Price
Michigan All Other Tobacco Products 32% Wholesale Price
Minnesota All Other Tobacco Products 95% Wholesale Price
Mississippi All Other Tobacco Products 15% Manufacturer's Price
Missouri All Other Tobacco Products 10% Manufacturer's Price

Snuff $0.85 Per Ounce
All Other 50% Wholesale Price
Snuff $0.44 Per Ounce
All Other 20% Wholesale Price

Nevada All Other Tobacco Products 30% Wholesale Price
New Hampshire All Other Tobacco Products 48% Wholesale Price

Snuff $0.75 Per Ounce
All Other 30% Wholesale Price

New Mexico All Other Tobacco Products 25% Product Value
Snuff $2.00 Per Ounce
All Other 75% Wholesale Price

North Carolina All Other Tobacco Products 12.8% Wholesale Price
Cigars and Tobacco 28% Wholesale Price
Chew Tobacco and Snuff $0.16 - $0.60 Per Ounce

Ohio All Other Tobacco Products 17% Wholesale Price
Cigars (Little and Large) $1.20 Per 10 Cigars
Snuff and Tobacco 60% - 80% Factory List Price
Snuff $1.78 Per Ounce
All Other Tobacco Products 65% Wholesale Price

Rhode Island All Other Tobacco Products 80% Wholesale Price
South Carolina All Other Tobacco Products 5% Manufacturer's Price
South Dakota All Other Tobacco Products 35% Wholesale Price
Tennessee All Other Tobacco Products 6.6% Wholesale Price

Cigar $0.01 - $0.15 Per 10 Cigars
Tobacco / Snuff $1.22 Per Ounce
Snuff $1.83 Per Ounce
All Other 86% Manufacturer's Price
Snuff $2.57 Per Ounce
Cigar $20 - $40 Per 10 Cigars
All Other 92% Wholesale Price
Snuff $0.18 Per Ounce
All Other 10% Manufacturer's Price
Snuff $2.105 Per Ounce
All Other Tobacco Products 95% Wholesale Price

West Virginia All Other Tobacco Products 7% Wholesale Price
Wisconsin All Other Tobacco Products 71% Manufacturer's Price

Snuff $0.60 Per Ounce
All Other 20% Wholesale Price

Wyoming

Virginia

Montana

Nebraska

New Jersey

New York

North Dakota

Oklahoma

Texas

Utah

Vermont

Source: Federation of Tax Administrators

Other Tobacco Product Taxes by State
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Unclaimed Property

Statute:  Title 70, Chapter 9, Part 8, MCA

Montana is considered a “custodial state,” which means the State of Montana holds any abandoned 
property on behalf of the rightful owners until the owner claims the property. Under Montana’s Uniform 
Unclaimed Property Act, any intangible and certain tangible property unclaimed by its owner must be 
turned over to the Department of Revenue. Intangible and tangible property covered by the act includes 
such items as money, uncashed checks, drafts, state warrants, uncashed payroll checks, utility deposits, 
interest dividends or income, savings and checking accounts, safe deposit box contents, credit balances, 
customer overpayments, gift certificates, unidentified remittances, stocks, bonds and uncashed coupons. 
The department maintains records on all abandoned property reported in Montana. Reports filed by holders 
of abandoned property (banks and insurance companies, for instance) may be examined by the public. If 
the tangible abandoned property is not claimed within three years after the receipt of the property, the State 
of Montana shall sell the property to the highest bidder at a public sale within the state, with the proceeds 
from the sale being held on behalf of the owner in the state general fund.

Since 1963, there has been approximately $135,000,000 worth of unclaimed property turned over to the 
state. During that time, the department has returned nearly $48,000,000 of the unclaimed property to its 
rightful owners. 

Distribution
According to 70-9-813, MCA, all collections over $100,000 (the amount allocated to the agency refund 
account) are transferred to the state’s general fund. The refund period for items valued at more than $50 is 
unlimited. 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $4,464,456
FY 2007 $4,474,991
FY 2008 $5,858,281
FY 2009 $4,542,158
FY 2010 $12,492,109
FY 2011 $7,276,154
FY 2012 $7,188,318
FY 2013 $8,827,032
FY 2014 $12,882,668
FY 2015 $10,196,308
FY 2016 $9,554,713

Unclaimed Property
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Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax

Statute:  Title 15, Chapter 72, MCA

Tax Rate
The wholesale energy transaction tax is levied at a rate of $0.00015 per kilowatt hour on all electricity 
transmitted by a transmission service provider in the state. There is also a 5 percent exemption for electricity 
produced in the state to compensate for transmission line losses.

Filing Requirements
The tax went into effect on January 1, 2000 and is paid on a calendar quarter basis. Payment is due to the 
state within 30 days after the close of the quarter. 

Distribution
All payments are deposited into the state general fund (15-72-106, MCA). 

Fiscal 
Year

Total
Revenue

FY 2006 $3,813,495
FY 2007 $3,651,024
FY 2008 $3,856,112
FY 2009 $3,864,771
FY 2010 $3,556,056
FY 2011 $3,945,547
FY 2012 $3,427,411
FY 2013 $3,558,221
FY 2014 $3,112,284
FY 2015 $3,795,377
FY 2016 $3,516,131

Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax
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