
FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE 
October 14, 2014 

CONTACT 
Jim McKeon, Unclaimed Property Program Manager, MT Dept. of Revenue, (406) 444-1940, 
jmckeon@mt.gov  
or Scott Payton, Tax Examiner, MT Dept. of Revenue, (406) 444-0926, scpayton@mt.gov  
 
Molly Petersen, Public Information Specialist, MT Dept. of Revenue  
(406) 444-4331, MollyPetersen@mt.gov 
 
MT Department of Revenue reminds businesses to submit unclaimed property report 
 
Helena – The Montana Department of Revenue would like to remind businesses throughout the state 
that the deadline for submitting an annual unclaimed property report is November 1. Because 
November 1 is a Saturday, reports will still be accepted on November 3. Montana law requires 
businesses to submit the report if they are holding unclaimed property. The deadline applies to all 
businesses except life insurance companies, whose deadline is May 1. 
 
Unclaimed property is any financial asset that is being held by a business for a person or entity that 
owns the asset but cannot be found. The asset can be an uncashed check, dormant savings or 
checking account, payroll check, credit balance, money order, customer deposit, travelers check, 
stock or bond certificate, insurance payment, certificate of deposit, safe deposit box contents, and 
other interests or benefits.  
 
“The report is an essential tool we have to make sure businesses that are holding unclaimed property 
transfer the property to the state, so we can then get that property to its rightful owner,” says Jim 
McKeon, Unclaimed Property Program Manager at the Department of Revenue.  
 
The department encourages businesses to submit their unclaimed property report electronically 
through the free Montana ePass File Transfer Service. Businesses can do so by going online to 
revenue.mt.gov, clicking the Online Services button, and then on the Holder Unclaimed Property tab. 
Electronic filing is secure, accurate, and encrypted, which means that businesses do not need to 
encrypt the submission themselves or protect it with a password.  
 
Businesses can also file using downloadable forms from the department website. The department is 
no longer able to accept unclaimed property reports on compact discs, diskettes, tapes, or 
USB devices.  
 
Each year, millions of dollars go unclaimed. The department receives between $7 and $8 million 
worth of unclaimed property annually and gives back about $4 million. It is currently holding about 
$63 million that can be claimed indefinitely. The department’s Click for Cash application makes it 
easy for people to go online to search for unclaimed cash, claim their money, track the status of their 
claim, and have the cash deposited directly into their bank account. Visit revenue.mt.gov to use Click 
for Cash. You can also email the department at UnclaimedProperty@mt.gov or call toll free 1-866-
859-2254, in Helena, 444-6900, to have the department perform a search for you. 
 
Registered users can also bid on other kinds of unclaimed property through the department’s online 
auction. For more information, visit revenue.mt.gov and click Unclaimed Property.  
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