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MT Department of Revenue reminds businesses to submit unclaimed property report 

 

Helena – The Montana Department of Revenue would like to remind businesses throughout the state that the 

deadline for submitting an annual unclaimed property report is November 1. Because November 1 is a Saturday, 

reports will still be accepted on November 3. Montana law requires businesses to submit the report if they are 

holding unclaimed property. The deadline applies to all businesses except life insurance companies, whose 

deadline is May 1. 

 

Unclaimed property is any financial asset that is being held by a business for a person or entity that owns the 

asset but cannot be found. The asset can be an uncashed check, dormant savings or checking account, payroll 

check, credit balance, money order, customer deposit, travelers check, stock or bond certificate, insurance 

payment, certificate of deposit, safe deposit box contents, and other interests or benefits.  

 

“The report is an essential tool we have to make sure businesses that are holding unclaimed property transfer the 

property to the state, so we can then get that property to its rightful owner,” says Jim McKeon, Unclaimed 

Property Program Manager at the Department of Revenue.  

 

The department encourages businesses to submit their unclaimed property report electronically through the free 

Montana ePass File Transfer Service. Businesses can do so by going online to revenue.mt.gov, clicking the 

Online Services button, and then on the Holder Unclaimed Property tab. Electronic filing is secure, accurate, 

and encrypted, which means that businesses do not need to encrypt the submission themselves or protect it with 

a password.  

 

Businesses can also file using downloadable forms from the department website. The department is no longer 

able to accept unclaimed property reports on compact discs, diskettes, tapes, or USB devices.  

 

Each year, millions of dollars go unclaimed. The department receives between $7 and $8 million worth of 

unclaimed property annually and gives back about $4 million. It is currently holding about $63 million that can 

be claimed indefinitely. The department’s Click for Cash application makes it easy for people to go online to 

search for unclaimed cash, claim their money, track the status of their claim, and have the cash deposited 

directly into their bank account. Visit revenue.mt.gov to use Click for Cash. You can also email the department 

at UnclaimedProperty@mt.gov or call toll free 1-866-859-2254, in Helena, 444-6900, to have the department 

perform a search for you. 

 

Registered users can also bid on other kinds of unclaimed property through the department’s online auction. For 

more information, visit revenue.mt.gov and click Unclaimed Property.  
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