
Part I - Qualifi cations (You must answer “Yes” to each of the following four statements in order to qualify for this credit.)
I was age 62 or older as of December 31, 2011. ◄ Yes ◄ No
I occupied a Montana residence as an owner or renter for a total of six months or more during 2011. ◄ Yes ◄ No
I resided in Montana for nine months or more during 2011. ◄ Yes ◄ No
My gross household income was less than $45,000 in 2011. ◄ Yes ◄ No

Part II - Household Income
1 Enter your total gross household income (see Income Source Worksheet in the instructions). ► 1 00

2 Your standard exclusion is entered here for you. ► 2 6300 00

3 Subtract line 2 from line 1 and enter the result here, but not less than zero. ► 3 00

4 Enter your multiplier rate from the Household Income Reduction Table located in the instructions. ► 4 .
5 Multiply line 3 by line 4 and enter the result here. This is your net household income. ► 5 00

Part III - Credit Computation
6 Enter the property tax that you were billed for your principal residence in 2011. ► 6 00

7 Enter the rent that you paid in 2011 for your principal residence. ► 7 00

8 Multiply line 7 by 0.15 (15%) and enter the result here. ► 8 00

9 Add lines 6 and 8; enter the result here. ► 9 00

10 Subtract line 5 from line 9 and enter the result here, but not less than zero. ► 10 00

11 Enter the lesser of line 10 or $1,000. ► 11 00
12 Enter the percentage from the Credit Multiplier Table in the instructions that corresponds to your gross 

household income reported on line 1. ► 12 .
13 Multiply line 11 by the percentage reported on line 12. This is your elderly homeowner/renter credit. ► 13 00

• If fi ling Form 2, enter the amount from line 13 above on Schedule V, line 24. Include Form 2EC with Form 2. Mail your completed Form 2EC to:
Montana Department of Revenue
PO Box 6577
Helena, MT 59604-6577

• If fi ling Form 2M, enter the amount from line 13 above on Schedule II, line 7. Include Form 2EC with Form 2M.
• If not required to fi le Montana Form 2 or 2M, mail Form 2EC to the Montana Department of Revenue.

For Direct Deposit of 
your refund, complete 1, 
2, 3, and 4. Please see 
instructions on page 2EC-2.

1. RTN#  2. ACCT# 

3. If using direct deposit, you are required to mark one box. ►  Checking  Savings

4. Is this refund going to an account that is located outside of the United States or its territories? ►  Yes  No

Under penalties of perjury, I declare that I have examined this claim, including accompanying schedules and statements, and to the best of my knowledge 
and belief, it is true, correct and complete.
Your Signature is Required Date Daytime Telephone Number Spouse’s Signature Date

Paid Preparer’s Signature Paid Preparer’s PTIN/SSN Firm’s FEIN

 X  Mark this 
box if you do not 
want forms and 
instructions mailed 
to you next year.

Third Party Designee Third Party Designee’s Printed Name
Do you want to allow another person to 
discuss this return with us (see page 2EC-3)?

  Yes  No

Third Party Designee’s Phone Number

 2011 Montana Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit Form 2EC
File alone or with your Form 2 or Form 2M. Free electronic fi ling is available at revenue.mt.gov.

 
X   Mark 
this box if 
this is an 
amended 
form.

First Name and Initial Last Name  Social Security Number Deceased? Date of Death
 M M D D Y Y Y Y

Spouse’s First Name and Initial Last Name Spouse’s Social Security Number Deceased? Date of Death
 M M D D Y Y Y Y

Mailing Address City State Zip+4
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Instructions for Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit Form 2EC
If you are not required to file an income tax return but are 
filing Form 2EC, please write your name, address, and 
social security number in the space provided near the top 
of the form. If you are married, also enter your spouse’s 
name and social security number.
If you will be filing this form with an income tax return, you 
only need to enter your social security number(s).
If either spouse is deceased during the claim year, enter 
the date of death in the appropriate box. If filing an 
individual tax return is not required and this claim is for 
either a deceased individual or a married couple who 
are both deceased, please include federal Form 1310. 
Otherwise, please refer to the instructions of the tax return 
to be filed to determine if a federal Form 1310 should be 
included.

Part I – Qualifications
You will need to answer all four statements before you 
apply for the elderly homeowner/renter credit. Any “No” 
answer means you are not eligible for the credit. If you 
are able to answer “Yes” to all of these statements, you 
are eligible for this refundable credit of up to $1,000. Even 
though you may be eligible for the credit, after completing 
Parts II and III of this form, it may be that you are not 
entitled to receive any credit. Please note that only one 
claim is allowed per household and that married taxpayers 
who are living apart may qualify for only one credit per year.

Age 62 Test
If you were 62 or older as of December 31, 2011, you can 
answer “Yes” to this statement. If you are married and both 
spouses own or rent your residence, only one of you has to 
meet the age requirement.

Six Month Test
You can answer “Yes” to this question as long as you have 
occupied one or more residences as an owner and/or 
renter for six months or more during the year. 

Nine Month Test
You must have resided in Montana for nine months or more 
during the year to answer “Yes” to this statement. If you 
are the personal representative of the estate of an eligible 
individual who died during the year, you cannot claim this 
credit if that individual died before October 1, 2011. If you 
are married filing this claim with your spouse, and if your 
spouse, who would have been the only eligible individual 
dies before October 1, 2011, you are not eligible for this 
credit. You are eligible only if, as a surviving spouse, you 
are age 62 or older and you can continue to answer “Yes” 
to the other statements.

Gross Household Income
If your gross household income was less than $45,000, you 
can answer “Yes” to this question. Your gross household 

income includes all income received by all individuals in the 
household.

Part II – Household Income
Enter your gross household income on line 1. Your gross 
household income is all the income received, taxable and 
nontaxable, by all individuals who live in your household. 
This includes, but is not limited to, the income of adult 
children and unrelated individuals living in your household. 
In addition to federal adjusted gross income, the following 
are examples of items that are included in household 
income:

●● Inheritances
●● Pension and annuity income (this includes railroad 

retirement)
●● Disability benefits including, but not limited to, veteran’s 

disability, SSI payments and workers’ compensation
●● Any capital gains that you excluded from your Montana 

adjusted gross income such as the gain from the sale 
of your primary residence

●● Alimony and support payments
●● Nontaxable strike benefits
●● Cash public assistance and relief including, but not 

limited to, food stamps and LIEAP (Low Income Energy 
Assistance Program)

●● Interest on federal, state, county, and municipal bonds
●● All social security payments except those paid directly 

to a nursing home
●● Federal income tax refunds
●● State income tax refunds and elderly homeowner/

renter credits allowed
Some items above may involve a basis (amount you 
invested). If applicable, you may reduce your income by 
the basis or by the amount that is the return of what you 
invested. For example, if you paid $5,000 for stock in a 
company, that is your basis. If you sell the stock for $8,000, 
your household income only includes the gain of $3,000 
($8,000 sales price minus $5,000 basis). Do not reduce 
your household income by any losses that you included in 
your federal adjusted gross income.
The following Income Source Worksheet can be used to 
help you calculate your gross household income.

Income Source Worksheet
Income Source Amount

1. Wages, salaries, bonuses, tips, etc.
2. Business, partnership, rent, 

royalties (do not include losses).
3. Dividends, interest (including 

interest from federal, state, county 
and municipal bonds) and capital 
gains (do not include capital losses).

(Worksheet is continued on the next page.)
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4. State and federal tax refunds.
5. Prior year 2EC refunds.
6. Alimony, public assistance, 

unemployment.
7. Pension, annuities, IRA 

distributions, benefits from railroad 
retirement, public employee’s 
retirement, veteran’s disability 
and social security (do not include 
social security income paid directly 
to a nursing home).

8. Income from any source or other 
household members not included 
above.

9. Add lines 1 through 8; enter the 
total here and on Form 2EC, line 
1. This is your gross household 
income.

Line 4 – Household Income Reduction Table

If your household income on line 3 is:
At least But not more than Your multiplier is
$0 $1,999 0.000
$2,000 $2,999 0.006
$3,000 $3,999 0.016
$4,000 $4,999 0.024
$5,000 $5,999 0.028
$6,000 $6,999 0.032
$7,000 $7,999 0.035
$8,000 $8,999 0.039
$9,000 $9,999 0.042
$10,000 $10,999 0.045
$11,000 $11,999 0.048
$12,000 and greater 0.050

Part III – Credit Computation
You will need to include a copy of your 2011 property tax 
bill and/or your signed rent receipts when you file Form 
2EC. If you are unable to get signed rent receipts, a 
statement detailing the rent paid during the year signed by 
your landlord is an acceptable substitute. If you are filing 
electronically, you do not need to send us your property 
tax bill or rent receipts. When you file electronically, you 
represent that you have completed Form 2EC, retained the 
required documents in your tax records and will provide 
those documents to us upon request.

Line 6 – Property Tax Billed
Your property tax billed is your November 2011 property 
tax statement of taxes assessed against your home and 
it includes your special assessments and fees. Do not 

include any amounts assessed for prior years but paid 
during 2011.
You are allowed only the property tax billed on your primary 
residence and up to one acre of land that is associated 
with this residence. If the one-acre farmstead or primary 
acre is not separately identified on your tax bill and if your 
ownership is less than 20 acres, you can calculate your 
credit by dividing the total amount of property tax billed on 
the land by the total acres in order to arrive at your property 
tax billed.
If your property tax bill is on property that you held in a 
revocable trust and if you are the grantor(s) and trustee(s) 
of that property, you can qualify for this credit. If your 
property taxes are billed to your living trust or life estate, 
you can qualify for this credit. If the property occupied by 
you is in a name other than your own, the property taxes 
billed for that property can qualify as rent only.

Line 7 – Rent Equivalent Paid
Your rent is only the amount of money that you paid to 
occupy your home. If you live in a health care, long-term 
care, personal care or residential care facility, the rent 
allowed is the actual out-of-pocket rent that you paid. If the 
facility does not provide you with an adequate breakdown 
between your rent and amenities, your rent is limited to $20 
a day and it cannot exceed $7,300 a year. 
Items that should not be included as rent equivalent paid on 
line 7 are as follows (this list is not all inclusive):

●● Mortgage payments
●● Amenities such as meals, housekeeping, nursing care, 

etc.
●● Nursing home costs that are paid directly from social 

security to the facility
●● Rent paid for you by a rental assistance program (this 

amount should also not be included in your household 
income)

Line 12 – Credit Multiplier Table

If the amount on line 1 is: Enter this figure on line 12:
Less than $35,000 1.00 (100%)

$35,000 to $37,500 0.40 (40%)
$37,501 to $40,000 0.30 (30%)
$40,001 to $42,500 0.20 (20%)
$42,501 to $44,999 0.10 (10%)
$45,000 and greater 0.00 (0%)

Direct Deposit
If you would like to use direct deposit, enter your financial 
institution’s routing number (RTN#) and your account 
number (ACCT#) in the space provided. Your routing 
number will be nine digits and your account can be up to 
17 characters, including numbers and letters. Mark whether 
your account is a checking or savings account and if your 
refund will go to a bank outside of the United States and its 
territories (Midway Islands, Puerto Rico, American Samoa, 
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US Virgin Islands, Federated States of Micronesia, and 
Guam).
If your financial institution does not accept the direct 
deposit or if the direct deposit information that you provided 
is incomplete, we will mail you a refund check.

Sign Your Credit Claim
This form is not considered a valid claim unless you sign it. 
If you are filing a joint claim, your spouse must also sign. 
If you have someone prepare your Form 2EC, you are still 
responsible for the correctness of the claim.

Electronic Signatures
If you are filing your claim electronically, you are not 
required to actually sign your claim. The act of filing your 
claim electronically signifies your declaration, under the 
penalty of false swearing, that:

●● You are the taxpayer identified in the claim; and
●● The information in the claim is true, correct, and 

complete.
Your filing electronically, with this declaration, is your 
signature.

Daytime Phone Number
Providing your daytime phone number may help speed 
the processing of your claim. We may have questions 
about items on this form and if you are able to answer our 
questions over the phone, we may be able to continue 
processing your claim without mailing you a letter. If you 
are filing a joint claim, you can enter either your or your 
spouse’s daytime phone number.

Paid Preparer
Anyone you pay to prepare your claim must sign it and 
include his or her Preparer Tax Identification Number 
(PTIN) in the space provided. Preparers should have a 
PTIN, but the preparer’s Social Security Number (SSN) 
may be used when the paid preparer does not have a 
PTIN. The paid preparer must also include his or her 
firm’s Federal Employer Identification Number (FEIN), if 
applicable. The preparer must give you a copy of this form 
for your records. Someone who prepares your claim but 
does not charge you should not sign your claim.

Third Party Designee
If you want to allow your preparer, a friend, a family 
member, or any other person you choose to discuss your 
2011 Form 2EC with the department, mark the “Yes” box in 
the bottom of the signature block. You must also enter the 
designee’s printed name and phone number.  If you do not 
complete this section in its entirety, we cannot discuss your 
claim with a third party.
If you mark the “Yes” box, you, and your spouse if filing 
a joint claim, are authorizing the department to call the 
designee to answer any questions that may arise during 
the processing of your claim. You are also authorizing the 
designee to:

●● Give us any information that is missing from your claim;

●● Call us for information about the processing of your 
claim or the status of your refund;

●● Receive copies of notices or transcripts related to your 
claim, upon request; and

●● Respond to notices from us about math errors, offsets 
and claim preparation.

You are not authorizing the designee to discuss any other 
tax year, receive any refund check, bind you to anything 
or otherwise represent you before the department. If you 
want to expand the designee’s authorization, please view 
information about granting someone power of attorney at 
revenue.mt.gov.
The authorization will automatically end no later than the 
due date (without regard to extensions) for filing your 2012 
return. This is April 15, 2013 for most people.

File Your Form 2EC Electronically
File Form 2EC with your Form 2 or 2M, or alone if not 
required to file a Montana tax return, through our website. 
For further information on filing Form 2EC electronically, 
please visit our website at revenue.mt.gov.
If you choose not to file electronically and you are not 
required to file Montana Form 2 or 2M, please mail your 
Form 2EC to:

Montana Department of Revenue
PO Box 6577
Helena, MT 59604-6577

How can I find out more about this credit?
If you need additional information on this credit or other tax 
issues, please call us toll free at (866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 
444-6900) or visit our website at revenue.mt.gov.

You May Qualify for Other  
Property Tax Relief!

The Elderly Homeowner/Renter Credit is just one 
option for Montanans to receive property tax relief. 
If you own your home, you may also be eligible for 
assistance with your property tax bill.

To see if you qualify for the Property Tax Assistance 
Program (PTAP) or Disabled American Veterans 
(DAV) Property Tax Benefits, or to receive an 
application form, you may do any of the following:

●● Visit our website at revenue.mt.gov. Go to our A-Z 
Index and click on “Property Tax Relief”

●● Contact your local Department of Revenue county 
office

●● Call us toll free (866) 859-2254 (Helena area, 
444-6900)

The due date for applying for these tax relief 
programs is April 15, 2012.
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