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FORM TDD INSTRUCTIONS – TELECOMMUNICATION SERVICE FEE
These instructions will help you prepare your return. If you have questions about Montana’s Telecommunication Service Fee, please call us toll-
free at (866) 859-2254; in Helena at 444-6900, or visit our website at revenue.mt.gov for detailed instructions.
How to file your return. When filing your quarterly 
telecommunications service fee return, we encourage you to file and 
pay electronically through Taxpayer Access Point (TAP). Electronic 
payment and filing is simple, secure, and convenient. To register 
for electronic filing, go to https://tap.dor.mt.gov. You will need your 
business account number and zip code. Once you are registered, you 
will be able to file, pay, and view your past returns and transactions.
If you choose not to file electronically, complete Form TDD using blue 
or black ink. Print your numbers in the blocks provided. Do not include 
a dollar sign in the amounts you enter.
When and where to file. Your telecommunications service fee return 
and payment is due by the last day of the month following the end of 
each quarter. The due dates are April 30, July 31, October 31, and 
January 31.
If you choose not to file and pay electronically, mail your original 
return and payment to Montana Department of Revenue, PO Box 
5835, Helena, MT 59604-5835.
Penalty and Interest. If your return is not filed by the due date, a late 
file penalty will be assessed. The penalty is either $50 or the amount 
of tax due, whichever is less. In addition, a late payment penalty of 
1.2% a month, maximum 12% will be assessed on your unpaid fee. 
Interest accrues at 1% per month on the outstanding fee until it is 
paid.
Specific Instructions
Lines 1, 2, and 3. Please provide your FEIN, Account ID and Period 
ending date.
Line 4. If you are amending a return for a prior period, place an “X” in 
the box provided.
Line 5. If your mailing address has changed, place an “X” in the box 
and write your new address in the space provided. 
Line 6. If you sold your business, changed your entity type, or closed 
your business, enter the date this change occurred. For example, 
when changing your entity type from a sole proprietorship to a 
partnership you are required to close your sole proprietorship account 
and re-register your account under your new partnership entity type.
Line 7. Place an “X” in the box or boxes that best describe the type 
or types of service you provide. If you offer services that are not 
specifically identified, place an “X” in the “Other” box and briefly 
identify the service provided. If you checked the box “Prepaid service 
provider”, place an “X” in the box that describes the method you are 
using to calculate your number of access lines.

•	 Decrement method: On a monthly basis you collect $0.10 (10 
cents) from each active prepaid subscriber whose account 
balance is equal to or greater than $0.10 (10 cents).

•	 Average revenue method: On a monthly basis you divide the 
total intrastate revenue by the average revenue for each prepaid 
subscriber to determine your total access lines for the month.

Line 8a. Enter separately by month the total number of access lines 
provided. Then, add these amounts and enter the sum of the three 
separate months in the “Total” column. If you are a prepaid service 
provider calculate your total access lines using either the decrement 
method or the average revenue method explained on line 7.
Line 8b. Enter separately by month the total number of exempt 
access lines provided. Then, enter the sum of the three separate 
months in the “Total” column. Exempt access lines include access 
lines billed directly to the federal government or tax exempt 
instrumentalities of the federal government; access lines of an Indian 
tribe on its reservation; access lines of  enrolled tribal members who 
reside on their own reservations and who do not receive 911 service; 
and official station testing lines owned by you, as the provider. 
Line 8c. Subtract line 8b from line 8a and enter the results separately 
by month on line 8c. Then, enter the sum of the three separate 
months in the “Total” column.
Line 9. Multiply the total on line 8c by $0.10 (10 cents) and enter the 
result on line 9. This is the amount of your TDD fee due.
Line 10. If you have collected any previously written-off TDD fees that 
you subtracted in a prior period, enter that amount on line 10. You are 
required to pay the fee in the quarter you received payment for the 
bad debts previously written off.
Line 11. Enter on line 11 any TDD fee previously reported to us where 
you remitted the fee that is subsequently deemed uncollectable and 
written off.
Line 12. Add lines 9, and 10, then subtract line 11 and enter the result 
on line 12. This is the amount of your TDD fee.
Line 13. You are entitled an administrative fee to cover administrative 
expenses for collecting the TDD fee. Multiply line 12 by 0.0075 
(0.75%) and enter the result on line 13.
Line 13. Subtract line 13 from line 12 and enter the result on line 13. 
This is your total TDD fee due.
Line 14. Enter the amount you are paying with this return. In most 
cases, this is the amount reported on line 13.



Telecommunications Service Fee

Name_______________________________________________ 1.	  FEIN

Address_____________________________________________ 2.	  Acct ID

Address_____________________________________________ 3. 	Period ending

City_ _______________________________________________ 4. If this is an amended return, check here

State_ ______________ Zip_____________________________ 5. If your address has changed, check this box	

and print your new address here___________________________________________________________________________

6. If you are no longer in business and want your account 
cancelled, enter your final date of operations here

7. Please check the appropriate box(es):	 Prepaid service provider, using 	 Wireless service provider

	 Internet service provider/VOIP 	 Decrement method 	 Other (please specify)_ _________

	 Wireline service provider 	 Average revenue method 	 ________________________

8. a. All access lines for each month of the quarter 	 Total of all access lines

	 1st	 2nd	 3rd	 =

b. Exempt access lines for each month of the quarter 	 Total exempt access lines

	 1st	 2nd	 3rd	 =

c. Access lines for each month of the quarter 	 Total access lines

	 1st	 2nd	 3rd	 =

9. Multiply total access lines on 8c. by $0.10

10. Previously written off TDD fees collected this quarter

11. Uncollectable TDD fees reported in prior periods

12. TDD fee – add lines 9 and 10; then subtract line 11

13. Administrative allowance – multiply line 12 by 0.75% (0.0075)

14. Total TDD fee due – subtract line 13 from line 12

15. Amount paid with this return

Signature Title________________________________________

 Date_______________________________________

 Phone______________________________________
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