
Form EXT-15 Instructions

Do I need to complete this worksheet?

You do not need to complete this worksheet if any of the 
following apply to you:

●● Your 2015 tax liability as reported on your 2015 Form 
2, line 54; or Form 2EZ, line 15 is $200 or less.

●● You paid 100% of your 2014 tax liability as reported 
on your 2014 Form 2, line 54; or Form 2EZ, line 15 
through withholding and/or estimated tax payments.

●● You paid at least 90% of your 2015 income tax liability 
as reported on your 2015 Form 2, line 54; or Form 
2EZ, line 15 through withholding and/or estimated tax 
payments.

●● You are a first time filer.

●● You had zero or negative taxable income for 2014.

How can I get an extension of time to file my 
Montana income tax return?
You can be granted an automatic extension of time of up to 
six months for filing your Montana income tax return if:

●● Your 2015 tax liability is $200 or less.

●● You paid 100% of your 2014 Montana income tax 
liability through your estimated tax payments, your 
withholding or a combination of both by April 18, 2016.

●● You paid at least 90% of your 2015 Montana income 
tax liability through your estimated tax payments, your 
withholding or a combination of both by April 18, 2016.

●● You are a first time filer.

●● You had zero or negative taxable income for 2014.

You do not need to apply for a federal extension in order to 
receive a Montana extension.

I have a valid Montana extension but did not 
pay my entire 2015 income tax liability by April 
18, 2016. Am I subject to penalties and interest 
because I paid late?
You may be.

If you qualify for an extension because your 2015 tax 
liability is $200 or less, you also qualify for an extension 
to pay and will not be subject to penalties and interest if you 
pay your 2015 income tax liability by the extended due date 
of the return.

If you qualify for an extension for any other reason, 
but you have not paid your entire 2015 income tax liability 
by April 18, 2016, you are relieved of the late file penalty 
but you are not relieved of the late payment penalty and 
interest on your outstanding Montana income tax liability.

If you do not pay the full amount of your 2015 income 
tax liability by April 18, 2016, you will be charged a late 
payment penalty. This penalty is 1.2% per month or fraction 

of a calendar month on the unpaid tax. This penalty cannot 
exceed 12% of your tax due.

If you do not pay your tax liability by April 18, 2016, you 
will be charged interest at a rate of 8% per year, accruing 
daily and beginning on the due date of your return and 
continuing until your tax is paid.

How can I make an extension payment?
You will need to complete this form to determine the 
amount of your extension payment. If you have more than 
$1 on line 9, please pay that amount on or before April 18, 
2016. If you are a fiscal year taxpayer, your payment is due 
on or before the 15th day of the fourth month after the close 
of your tax year.

●● Pay electronically. You can pay your extension 
payment electronically by e-check or credit/debit card. 
Please visit our website at revenue.mt.gov. There is 
no fee for an e-check, but a small fee is applied for a 
credit/debit card payment.

●● Pay by personal check, money order or cashier’s 
check. If you are paying by personal check, money 
order or cashier’s check, please complete the 
Montana Individual Income Tax Payment Voucher on 
the previous page. Make your check payable to the 
Montana Department of Revenue. Please remember 
to sign your check and write your social security 
number and “Tax Year 2015-EXT” on the memo 
line. Mail your payment and payment voucher to the 
following address:

Montana Department of Revenue
PO Box 6309
Helena, MT 59604-6309

Administrative Rules of Montana: 42.15.316

Questions? Please call us toll free at (866) 859-2254 (in 
Helena, 444-6900).




