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911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

|
Statute: Title 10, Chapter 4

911 Emergency Telephone Service Fee

Fiscal Total $16
F\;( 7007 R;\'Iseggg 386 g $14 - 130 132 1% 134 135 131 130
FY 2005 $5733.140 5 12 °
FY 2006 $6.427 739 510 1
FY 2007 $5,960,166 »8 1 54 57 >4 60
FY 2008  $12,986,143 $6 -
FY 2009  $13,249,845 $4 A
FY2010  $13,801,647 $2 A
FY 2011 $13,376,568 %0
FY2012  $13,212,111
A

Fee Rate

Before FY 2008, the State of Montana imposed a fee
of $0.25 per month to telephone access lines to sup-
port basic 911 services. An additional fee of $0.25 was

911 Emergency Telephone Fee Rates

Purpose Fee Per Month

applied to each access line within the state to support Eazic 91;2??’? . gggg
enhanced 911 services, resulting in a total fee of $0.50 V\? alnce e er(xjngz e $0.50
per access line. Starting in FY 2008, an additional fee Tolzzless nhance ervice 100

of $0.50 per month per access line, or subscriber, was
added to the two other fees to support wireless enhanced 911 services. At this time, prepaid wireless cellular
telephone services sold through third parties, such as retail and grocery stores, are not subject to Montana’s
911 emergency telephone system fees.

Filing Requirements

The subscriber paying for exchange access line services is liable for the fees, but the fees are collected by
the provider and are remitted to the state on a quarterly basis. The provider collecting the fee must file a
return on or before the last day of the month following the end of each calendar quarter.

Distribution

2.74 percent of the amount of fees collected must be deposited in the state special revenue fund and be
used for the administration of the Emergency Telephone System Account. The remaining fee amount is paid
to the state treasurer for deposit in the appropriate accounts (10-4-301, MCA).

Distribution of 911 Fee Distribution
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Fund FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
Emergency System Acct. (2.74%) $366,518 $362,012 $357,926 $356,456
Basic 911 Emergency Program (24.315%) $3,252,514 $3,212,523 $3,176,426 $3,163,224
Enhanced 911 Phone Program (24.315%) $3,252,514 $3,212,523 $3,176,426 $3,163,224
Wireless Enhanced 911 Phone Program
911 Jurisdictions (24.315%) $3,252,511 $3,212,527 $3,176,106 $3,163,226
Wireless Providers (24.315%) $3,252,512 $3,212,527 $3,176,106 $3,163,226
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911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

State Comparison

As of January 1, 2014, Montana places three fees on landline, wireless and Voice over Internet Protocol
(VolIP) lines, resulting in a total fee of $1.00 per month on each subscriber line within the state. The states
surrounding Montana have similar fee structures. Wyoming charges between $0.25 and $0.75 per line,
South Dakota charges $1.25 per line, North Dakota charges between $1.00 and $1.50 per line and Idaho
charges $1.00 per line. West Virginia has some of the highest E911 fees on landlines and VolP ($0.98 to
$6.40) and post-paid wireless ($3.00) lines in the country. Unlike a majority of states within the country,
the state of Montana does not charge pre-paid landline and wireless customers any of the 911 emergency
telephone system fees.

Like several other states, E911 fees in Montana are collected, and standardized, by the state government,
resulting in a uniform fee within the state. However, some states allow two, or more, governing bodies to
collect E911 fees. For example, the State of Kentucky imposes a statewide fee on all access lines within the
state, but also allows local jurisdictions to establish additional fees on landlines within the local jurisdiction’s
area. In addition, other states delegate the 911 and E911 funding process to counties and other local
jurisdictions. The delegation of 911 and E911 funding sources to counties and local governments results in
some states having 911 system fees that are not uniform across the state.
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911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

911 Emergency Telephone System Fee

State Landline Wireless Prepaid Wireless Volce Over Internet
= - Protocal (VolP)
Alabama $1.60 $1.60 $1.60 $1.60
Alaska $0.00 - $2.00 $0.00 - $2.00
Arizona $0.20 $0.20 0.8% of Prepaid Sale $0.20
Arkansas 5% - 12% of Tariff Rates $0.65 $0.65 $0.65
California 0.75% 0.75% 0.75%
Colorado $0.43 - $1.50 $0.43 - $1.50 1.4% of Prepaid Sale $0.43 - $1.50
Connecticut $0.70 $0.70 $0.70 At Point of Sale $0.70
Delaware $0.60 $0.60 $0.60
Florida $0.50 $0.50 $0.50 $0.50
Georgia $1.50 $1.00 - $1.50 $0.75 Prepaid $1.50
Hawaii $0.27 $0.66 $0.66
Idaho $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
lllinois $0.25 - $5.00 $0.73 1.5% of Prepaid Sale $0.25 - $5.00
Indiana $0.90 $0.90 $0.50 $0.90
lowa $1.00 $1.00 $0.51 $1.00
Kansas $0.53 $0.53 1.06% of Prepaid Retail Sale $0.53
Kentucky $0.36 - $4.50 $0.70 $0.70 $0.36 - $4.50
Louisiana $0.62 - $1.00 Residential $0.85 - $1.50 2% of Prepaid Retail Sale $1.00
$1.30 - $2.00 Business

Maine $0.45 $0.45 $0.45 $0.45
Maryland $1.00 $1.00 $0.60 $1.00
Massachusetts $0.75 $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
Michigan $0.19 - $3.19 $0.19 - $3.19 1.92% Prepaid Point of Sale $0.19 - $3.19
Minnesota $0.78 $0.78 $0.78 $0.78

N $1.00 Residential $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
Mississippi $2.00 Business

. . 2% - 15% Base Rate
Missourl 0.125% - 0.75% of Sales Tax
Montana $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
Nebraska $0.50 - $1.00 $0.45 - $0.70 1.1% of Prepaid Retail Sale
Nevada Varies By Jurisdiction Varies By Jurisdiction
New Hampshire $0.57 $0.57 $0.57
New Jersey $0.90 $0.90 $0.90
New Mexico $0.51 $0.51
New York $0.35 - $1.00 $1.20 $0.35
North Carolina $0.60 $0.60 $0.60 $0.60
North Dakota $1.00 - $1.50 $1.00 - $1.50 2% of Prepaid Sale $1.00 - $1.50
Ohio $0.50 $0.25 0.2% Prepaid Point of Sale
Oklahoma 3% - 15% of Base Rate $0.50 $0.50 $0.50
Oregon $0.75 $0.75 $0.75
Pennsylvania $1.00 - $1.50 $1.00 $1.00 $1.00
Rhode Island $1.00 $1.26 $1.26
South Carolina $0.30 - $1.00 $0.63 $0.63 $0.30 - $1.00
South Dakota $1.25 $1.25 2% Prepaid Point of Sale $1.25

$0.45 - $1.50 Residential $1.00 $0.53 $1.00

Tennessee $1.52 - $3.00 Business
Texas $0.50 $0.50 2% of Prepaid Sale $0.50
Utah $0.69 $0.69 1.9% Prepaid Point of Sale $0.69
Vermont Universal Service Funding Universal Service Funding
Virginia $0.75 $0.75 $0.50 $0.75
Washington $0.95 $0.95 $0.95
West Virginia $0.98 - $6.40 $3.00 6% Prepaid Point of Sale $0.98 - $6.40
Wisconsin $0.40 - $1.00
Wyoming $0.25 - $0.75 $0.25 - $0.75 $0.25 - $0.75

Source: Compiled By Federation of Tax Administrators from state sources
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Cigarette License Fee

]
Statute: 16-11-122, MCA

Cigarette License Fee

Fiscal Total $18
Year Revenue B $16 15.0
FY 2004 $13,388 s $14 134 14.0 141 141 12 136 134 100 13, 136
FY 2005 $13,997 3 $12 -
FY 2006 $14,986 F $10 -
FY 2007 $14,072 S8 A
FY 2008 $14,071 $6
FY 2009 $14,170 $4 -
FY 2010 $13,575 $2 -~
FY 2011 $13,360 $0 -
FY 2012 $13,130 P P EDSE DN D A
PO
FY 2013 $13,230 ((0 QO Q«” Q@ Q@ Q@ ((0 Q@ Q@ ((0 ((0
FY 2014 $13,610

Fee Rate

Alicense fee is imposed on cigarette dealers in Montana. Wholesalers, sub-jobbers and vendors (operating
10 or more machines) pay an annual license fee of $50. Retailers and vendors (operating 9 or fewer
machines) pay an annual license fee of $5.

Cigarette License Fee Schedule

Status Annual Renewal Fee
Wholesalers & Sub-Jobbers $50
Vendors (10 or More Machines) $50
Vendors (9 or Fewer Machines) $5
Retailers $5

Filing Requirements
Licenses must be renewed annually on or before the anniversary date.

Distribution
Revenues from the license fees are deposited in the state general fund (16-11-124, MCA).
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Cigarette Tax

Statute: 16-11-111, MCA and 16-11-119, MCA

Cigarette Tax

Fiscal Total $100
Year Revenue 2 g0.2 834 839 _gg
FY2004  $41582,823 2 $80 - 771 741 755 748 738
FY 2005 $54,765,356 S
FY 2006 $80,180,236 $60 1
FY 2007 $83,380,418 <10 |
FY 2008 $83,882,748
FY 2009 $79,905,894 $20 -
FY 2010 $77,071,487
FY 2011 $74,090,938 $0 -
FY 2012 $75,533,075 SO P PO DD N
FY 2013 $74,790.040 FaP (TP (P PP (PP (P (P
FY 2014 $73,839,772

Tax Rate

The cigarette tax rate has increased twice since 2003. On May 1, 2003, the cigarette tax rate increased from
$0.18 to $0.70 per pack of 20 cigarettes, as mandated by the 2003 Legislature. On January 1, 2005, the tax
rate increased from $0.70 per pack to $1.70 per pack in compliance with Initiative 149 (I-149) in November
2004.

Filing Requirements

The cigarette tax is pre-collected from retailers by state-licensed cigarette wholesalers who must affix a tax
insignia to each package of cigarettes to indicate the tax has been paid. Retailers then include the tax in the
retail price of cigarettes. Wholesalers remit the tax to the State of Montana, minus an allowance to defray
the costs of affixing insignias and collecting the tax.

Distribution

After distributing revenues according to tribal revenue sharing agreements, cigarette tax revenues are
distributed: 8.3 percent or $2 million, whichever is greater, to the Department of Public Health and Human
Services for maintenance and operation of state veterans’ nursing homes; 2.6 percent to the Long-Range
Building Program Account; 44 percent to the state special revenue fund for Health and Medicaid initiatives;
1.2 percent to be deposited in the state special revenue fund for the construction of the state veterans’
homes in southwestern Montana through fiscal year 2015; and the remainder to be deposited in the state
general fund (16-11- 119, MCA).

Distribution of Cigarette Tax

Fund FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
Total Revenue $74,090,938 $75,533,075 $74,790,040 $73,839,772
Tobacco and Cig. Tribal Agree. $3,495,106 $3,818,164 $4,149,377 $4,083,458
Remainder $70,595,832 $71,714,911 $70,640,663 $69,756,313
State Veterans' Home (8.3%) $5,859,454 $5,952,337 $5,863,175 $5,789,774
SW State Veterans' Home (1.2%) $847,150 $860,579 $847,688 $837,076
Long Range Building Program (2.6%) $1,835,492 $1,864,588 $1,836,657 $1,813,664
DPHHS-Medicaid Initiatives (44%) $31,062,166 $31,554,561 $31,081,891 $30,692,778
General Fund (remainder) $30,991,570 $31,482,846 $31,011,251 $30,623,022
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Cigarette Tax

State Comparison

The state of New York has the highest excise tax on cigarettes at $4.35 per pack, as of January 1%, 2014.
At $0.17 per pack, Missouri has the lowest excise tax on cigarettes in the United States. With a tax of $1.70
per pack of 20 cigarettes, Montana has the 18" highest cigarette excise tax in the United States. Montana
places a large tax on the sales of cigarettes within the state relative to its surrounding states. For 2014,
South Dakota’s excise tax on cigarettes was similar to Montana’s at $1.53 per pack. However, the excise
taxes for Wyoming, Idaho and North Dakota were significantly below Montana’s, at $0.60, $0.57 and $0.44
respectively.

Excise Tax Rates on Cigarettes by State

State Cigarette Tax Rate ($ Per Pack) State Cigarette Tax Rate ($ Per Pack)
Alabama $0.43 Montana $1.70
Alaska $2.00 Nebraska $0.64
Arizona $2.00 Nevada $0.80
Arkansas $1.15 New Hampshire $1.78
California $0.87 New Jersey $2.70
Colorado $0.84 New Mexico $1.66
Connecticut $3.40 New York $4.35
Delaware $1.60 North Carolina $0.45
Florida $1.34 North Dakota $0.44
Georgia $0.37 Ohio $1.25
Hawaii $3.20 Oklahoma $1.03
Idaho $0.57 Oregon $1.31
lllinois $1.98 Pennsylvania $1.60
Indiana $1.00 Rhode Island $3.50
lowa $1.36 South Carolina $0.57
Kansas $0.79 South Dakota $1.53
Kentucky $0.60 Tennessee $0.62
Louisiana $0.36 Texas $1.41
Maine $2.00 Utah $1.70
Maryland $2.00 Vermont $2.62
Massachusetts $3.51 Virginia $0.30
Michigan $2.00 Washington $3.03
Minnesota $2.83 West Virginia $0.55
Mississippi $0.68 Wisconsin $2.52
Missouri $0.17 Wyoming $0.60

Source: Compiled By Federation of Tax Administrators from state sources
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Consumer Counsel Fee
|

Statute: Title 69, Chapter 1, Part 2, MCA

Consumer Counsel Fee

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue
FY 2004 $1,303,597
FY 2005 $1,860,324
FY 2006 $1,070,664
FY 2007 $806,829
FY 2008 $1,696,840
FY 2009 $1,355,530
FY 2010 $530,981
FY 2011 $1,243,187
FY 2012 $1,523,517
FY 2013 $1,063,563
FY 2014 $1,444,344

MiIIions

Fee Rate

The tax rate is set annually for the succeeding fiscal year to cover appropriations for the operation of the
Office of the Consumer Counsel.

Consumer Counsel Fee Rates

Fiscal Year* Fee Rate

Oct. 2005 - Sept. 2006 0.07% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2006 - Sept. 2007 0.06% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2007 - Sept. 2008 0.14% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2008 - Sept. 2009 0.08% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2009 - Sept. 2010 0.03% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2010 - Sept. 2011 0.11% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2011 - Sept. 2012 0.12% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2012 - Sept. 2013 0.07% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2013 - Sept. 2014 0.11% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities
Oct. 2014 - Sept. 2015 0.10% of Gross Revenue from Regulated Activities

Filing Requirements
All companies providing services regulated by the Public Service Commission are subject to a quarterly
Consumer Counsel Tax on gross operating revenue.

Distribution

All collections are deposited in a state special revenue account for the operation of the office of consumer

counsel (69-1-201; 223; 224, MCA).
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Electrical Energy Producers’ License Tax

|
Statute: Title 15, Chapter 51, MCA

Electrical Energy Producers’ License Tax

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue
FY 2004 $4,660,529
FY 2005 $4,074,409
FY 2006 $4,644,508
FY 2007 $4,564,404
FY 2008 $5,179,013
FY 2009 $4,824,659
FY 2010 $4,713,429
FY 2011 $4,332,363
FY 2012 $4,481,361
FY 2013 $5,066,602
FY 2014 $4,279,845

Millions
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Tax Rate

The tax was first enacted in 1933 and is $.0002 per kilowatt hour of electrical energy generated, manufactured
or produced in the state for barter, sale or exchange, other than plant use.

Filing Requirements

Businesses engaged in the production of electrical energy pay the electrical energy producers’ license tax.
The license tax must be remitted each calendar quarter to the department with a statement on or before the
30th day of the month after the end of the calendar quarter (15-51-102, MCA).

Distribution

These tax collections are deposited in the state general fund (15-51-103, MCA).

133

Go to
Table of Contents

revenue.mt.gov

Go to
Other Taxes




Hospital Facility Utilization Fee

|
Statute: Title 15, Chapter 66, MCA

Hospital Facility Utilization Fee

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue
FY 2004 $7,427,903
FY 2005 $8,757,918
FY 2006 $11,179,325
FY 2007 $12,559,877
FY 2008 $16,671,570
FY 2009 $19,582,981
FY 2010 $21,290,112
FY 2011 $21,819,469
FY 2012 $21,238,158
FY 2013 $21,703,642
FY 2014 $22,179,418
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Fee Rate

Beginning in 2004, all hospitals licensed by the state (with the exception of the Montana State Hospital) are
required to pay a utilization fee for each inpatient bed day.

Filing Requirements

The fees must be paid by the hospital for the preceding calendar year on all taxable inpatient bed days. The

table below provides the fee per inpatient bed day since the fee was instituted.

Hospital Facility Utilization Fee Schedule

Period Over Which Fee Applies

January 1, 2004 - June 30, 2005
July 1, 2005 - December 31, 2005
January 1, 2006 - June 30, 2007

July 1, 2007 - December 31, 2007
January 1, 2008 - December 31, 2008
January 1, 2009 - December 31, 2009
Beginning January 1, 2010

Fee Per Inpatient Bed Day

$19.43
$29.75
$27.70
$47.00
$43.00
$48.00
$50.00

Distribution

All of the proceeds from the utilization fee are deposited in a special revenue account for use by the
Department of Public Health and Human Services to provide reimbursements to hospitals serving Medicaid
patients (15-66-102, MCA).
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Inheritance and Estate Tax

Statute: Title 72, Chapter 16, MCA

Inheritance and Estate Taxes

Fiscal Total $14

Year Revenue 2 5 1114
FY2004  $11431,103 2 °*
FY 2005 $4,190,613 S $10 1
FY 2006 $1,773,169 38
FY 2007 $838,865 36 4 -
FY 2008 $122,148 < :
FY 2009 $217,097 18
FY 2010 $90,544 22 1 08 (1 02 01 00 01 00 00
FY 2011 $43,165 0 - L S
FY 2012 $59,718 F P FL PO N>
et T SEEESETESE

Tax Rate
An estate tax is a tax on the value of the estate a person leaves when they die and is paid by the estate. An
inheritance tax is a tax on the value of the bequest each heir receives.

Before 2001, Montana had an inheritance tax with rates that varied according to the heir’s relationship to
the decedent. Montana’s inheritance tax was repealed by the passage of Legislative Referendum 116 in
November 2000, and does not apply to bequests made on or after January 1, 2001.

Montana also has an estate tax equal to the difference between the amount of credit that the federal estate
tax law allows for state taxes and the inheritance tax. The estate tax essentially allows the state to receive
a share of the federal tax on Montana estates, with that share determined by federal law. With repeal of the
inheritance tax, the estate tax became a stand-alone tax.

Federal legislation passed in 2001 and 2010 changed the federal estate tax law. It phased out the credit
for state taxes between 2002 and 2004 and replaced it with a deduction beginning in 2005. With no federal
credit, Montana essentially has an estate tax with a rate of zero.

No Montana tax applies to the estates of people who died after January 1, 2005. All revenue received in FY
2006 through FY 2014 is from the estates of people who died before the end of 2004. The state continues
to receive small amounts of revenue because it sometimes takes years for final settlement of all issues
pertaining to an estate.

Distribution
All inheritance tax revenue is deposited in the state general fund.
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Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee Distribution

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 67, MCA

Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee

Fiscal Total $1.2
Year Revenue e
FY 2004 $863,036 g $1.0 4 o9 08 09 gg 09 09 09 09
FY 2005 $821,923 = 4038
FY 2006 $897,227
FY 2007 $877,482 506
FY 2008 $890,691 $0.4
FY 2009 $907,764 0.2
FY 2010 $913,971 '
FY 2011 $931,535 $0.0 -
FY 2012 $882,024 F P IFPFL PO NN
FY 2013 $951,767 Q«"'QQ\"’QQ«"’Q Q«'VQQ«"'QQ\"’QQ@’Q Q«'VQQ«"'QQ\"’Q@"’Q
FY 2014 $906,220

Fee Rate

The Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee is collected at a rate of 6 percent of the revenue of intermediate
care facilities for the developmentally disabled. The fee was first implemented by the 2003 Legislature at
a rate of 5 percent. The 2005 Legislature changed the fee to a quarterly payment of 6 percent of the
intermediate care facility’s quarterly revenue divided by the resident bed days for the same time period.

Filing Requirements
Payments are filed and paid quarterly.

Distribution

30 percent of the revenue generated by this fee is deposited into the state general fund and 70 percent
into the prevention and stabilization account in the state special revenue fund for the Department of Public
Health and Human Services to administer (15-67-101, MCA).

Distribution of Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fees

Fund FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014

General Fund (30%) $279,460 $264,607 $285,530 $271,866

Prevention & Stabilization (70%) $652,074 $617,417 $666,237 $634,354
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Lodging Facility Use Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 65, MCA

Lodging Facility Use Tax

Fiscal Total $30

Year Revenue 2 233 24>
FY 2004 $13,702,861 = 525 23 23
FY 2005 $14,596,301 = $

FY 2006 $15,018,113
FY 2007 $17,906,542
FY 2008 $18,562,141 $10
FY 2009 $17,307,397
FY 2010 $17,132,174

FY 2011 $19,784,603

FY 2012 $22,257,882 TSP P PO NN
Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q

FY 2013 $23,334,117 ((0 Q@ & ((0 é"/ ((O ((0 ((0 Q@ ((@ Qﬂ

FY 2014 $24,487,190

Tax Rate

The 1987 Legislature enacted a tax on short-term lodging, with the proceeds to be used primarily to fund
tourism promotion. The tax is imposed on users of short-term, overnight lodging facilities and is four percent
of the lodging charge.

Filing Requirements

The owner or operator of a facility collects the tax from customers and is required to remit the tax to the
department quarterly. The tax is due by the end of the month after the end of the quarter. To simplify
compliance, the department has lodging operators file a single return combining the lodging facility use tax
and the lodging sales tax.

Distribution

The department’s costs of administering the lodging facility use tax are paid out of receipts from the tax. This
process is different from most taxes, where the department’s costs are paid from the general fund. For each
fiscal year, the legislature appropriates an amount to the department to cover its costs, and this amount is
deducted from tax collections.

The legislature originally chose not to tax business travel by state employees. However, rather than
exempting state travel from the tax, the legislature required the department to reimburse state agencies for
the tax they paid. Agencies reported the amount they spent on lodging from each of their funding sources,
and the department reimbursed each of the funds. This system was cumbersome to administer and difficult
to track. The 2011 Legislature simplified the process (HB 111). Beginning in FY 2012, 30 percent of tax
collected from state agencies is deposited in the general fund. Tax on state agency travel paid with federal
funds is given to the Department of Administration to be returned to the federal government through the
normal process for returning unspent federal funds. The rest of the tax paid by state agencies is included
in the normal distribution.
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Lodging Facility Use Tax

A fixed allocation of $400,000 is deposited in the Montana Heritage Preservation Account to pay for
preservation of historic properties at Virginia City and Nevada City. The remaining revenue is distributed
according to a formula. The distribution is as follows:

64.9 percent to the Department of Commerce for statewide tourism promotion.

1 percent to the Montana Historical Society for roadside historical signs and historic sites.

2.5 percent to the university system for the Montana Travel Research Program.

2.6 percent to the Historical Society to cover costs of the state museum and the Robert Scriver
sculpture collection.

6.5 percent to the Department of Fish, Wildlife and Parks to maintain facilities in state parks.

22.5 percent to regional nonprofit tourism corporations and local convention and visitors bureaus
for local tourism promotion. Each of the state’s six tourism promotion regions receives revenue
proportional to the tax collected in the region. If the share of this allocation due to taxes collected
in a city or resort area is more than $35,000, half of that amount goes to the local convention and
visitors’ bureau.

The 2011 Legislature (HB 477) created the allocation to the Historical Society and reduced the Department
of Commerce’s allocation by the same percentage (2.6 percent).

Distribution of Lodging Facility Use Tax

Fund FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
Total Revenue $19,784,603 $22,257,882 $23,334,117 $24,487,190
DOR Administration $132,416 $135,675 $136,459 $144,317
Travel Reimbursements $215,859 $140,183 $134,921 $152,886
MT Heritage Preservation Acct. $400,000 $400,000 $400,000 $400,000
Remainder $19,036,328 $21,582,023 $22,662,737 $23,789,987
Department of Commerce (64.9%) $12,849,521 $14,012,087 $14,708,117 $15,439,702
MT Historical Soc. Sites & Signs (1%) $190,363 $215,820 $226,627 $237,900
MT University System (2.5%) $475,908 $539,551 $566,568 $594,750
MT Historical Soc. Interpret. Acct. (2.6%) $0 $555,779 $589,231 $618,540
Fish, Wildlife, and Parks (6.5%) $1,237,361 $1,402,832 $1,473,078 $1,546,350
Regional Tourism (22.5%) $4,283,174 $4,855,955 $5,099,116 $5,352,747
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Nursing Facility Utilization Fee

|
Statute: Title 15, Chapter 60, MCA

Nursing Facility Utilization Fee

Fiscal Total
Year Revenue e 162159 153 1,4
FY 2004 $9,158,829 = $15 A 138 e
FY 2005 $10,780,189 2 10.8
FY 2006 $13,752,750 $10 4 22
FY 2007 $16,196,108
FY 2008 $15,868,028
FY 2009 $15,308,973 %5
FY 2010 $14,928,685
FY 2011 $14,609,167

FY 2012 $14,294,205
FY 2013 $13,719,662
FY 2014 $13,929,619

Tax Rate

All  facilities ||Cen_sed by the Nursing Facility Utilization Fee Rates

Department _Of Public Health and Non-Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities

Human Services (DPHHS) and the | General Fund Fee Per Bed Day (=33.73%) $2.80
Montana Mental Health Nursing Nursing Facility Utilization Account Fee Per Bed Day (=66.27%) $5.50
Care Center (MMHNCC) must | Total Fee Per Bed Day (100%) $8.30

pay a utilization fee of $8.30 per
resident day. For all facilities, with Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities

the exception of the Montana General Fund Fee Per Bed Day (30%) $2.49
Mental Health Nursin Care Prevention and Stabilization Fee Per Bed Day (70%) $5.81
9 Total Fee Per Bed Day (100%) $8.30

Center, $2.80 is distributed to the
general fund and $5.50 is distributed to the nursing facility utilization fee account.

Filing Requirements
The owner or operators of a facility pay the tax quarterly. The tax is due on or before the last of the month
immediately following the end of the quarter.

Distribution

Utilization fees paid by the Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center are distributed 30 percent to the
state general fund and 70 percent to the prevention and stabilization account administered by DPHHS to
finance, administer, and provide health and human services (53-6-1101, MCA).

The revenue distributed into the nursing facility utilization account is used by DPHHS to increase the
average price paid for Medicaid nursing facility services under the price-based reimbursement system used
to establish Medicaid payment rates to nursing homes (15-60-211, MCA).

Distribution of Nursing Facility Utilization Fees

FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014

Non-Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities

General Fund (=33.73%) $4,838,119 $4,735,765 $4,580,152 $4,615,142
Nursing Facility Util. Acct. Fee (=66.27%) $9,505,548 $9,304,451 $8,931,529 $9,067,461
Montana Mental Health Nursing Care Center Facilities

General Fund (30%) $79,650 $76,196 $62,394 $74,105
Prevention and Stabilization Fee (70%) $185,850 $177,792 $145,587 $172,911
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Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Fees and Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 50, MCA.

Public Contractor's Gross Receipts Fees and Tax

Fiscal Total $10

Year Revenue g ¢g - 70 68

FY 2004 $2,120485 = ¢ | 56 51 >

FY 2005 $1,410831 2 [ | 43

FY 2006 $4,274,649 21,

FY 2007 $5,566,058 52 1 0.9
FY 2008 $5,062,659 50 X
FY 2009 $5,929,999 (52) 1

FY 2010 $6,969,395 (54) - (3.0)

FY 2011 $6,803,285 (56)

FY 2012 -$3,041,921 P P PO DD S
o s FEEELELLLELS

Tax Rate

Prime contractors, or subcontractors, working on a publicly funded project in Montana are required to
pay, or have withheld from their earnings, a license fee equal to 1 percent of the gross contract price of all
government contracts over $5,000.

Filing Requirements

Contractors can obtain part or all of the tax back by requesting refunds for business equipment and vehicle
property taxes paid by their contracting business, and/or by claiming credit on their individual Montana
income tax return or Montana corporation income tax return.

In FY 2012 and FY 2013, total refunds exceeded total payments and as a result, total contractor’s gross
receipts revenue was negative. The decline in revenue is due, in part, to a large decrease in the number
of publicly funded projects covered by the fee in FY 2012, FY 2013 and FY 2014. The revenue amounts
are expected to return to a level closer to their historical levels, as the number of refunds claimed by
contractors adjusts to the decreased number of qualified government contracts. In addition, upgrades to the
department’s main tax processing software, Gentax, along with changes in the contractor’s gross receipts
software application allowed a backlog of refunds to be closed out and finally posted. The upgrade, along
with other efforts by the department, resulted in large, temporary, decreases in revenue over a short time
period.

Distribution
Revenues are deposited in the state general fund (15-50-311, MCA).

140

revenue.mt.gov
Go to g Go to
Table of Contents Other Taxes




Public Service Commission Fee

|
Statute: Title 69, Chapter 1, Part 4, MCA

Public Service Commission Fee

Fiscal Total $6
Year Revenue e a7 4.9
FY 2004 $2,875,741 2 %5 1
FY 2005 $3,050,213 = ¢4
FY 2006 $3,005,151 3
FY 2007 $2,619,321
FY 2008 $3,520,803 $2
FY 2009 $3,521,894 $1
FY 2010 $2,493,209
FY 2011 $4,739,380 $0
FY 2012 $2,461,936 F S LSS SAFNERC RN
Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q
FY 2013 $2,608,068 Qﬂ (((v ((0 Q& ((0 Qﬂ Q& Q@ Q@ ((0 Qﬂ
FY 2014 $4,910,861

Tax Rate

All companies providing services that are regulated by the Public Service Commission are subject to tax on
gross operating revenue, excluding revenues from sales to other regulated companies for resale. However,
motor carriers are not subject to the tax. The tax rate is set annually for the succeeding fiscal year to cover
appropriations for the operation of the Department of Public Service Regulation.

Public Service Commission Fee Rates

Filling Requirements

Effective Dates

Oct. 2005 - Sept. 2006
Oct. 2006 - Sept. 2007
Oct. 2007 - Sept. 2008
Oct. 2008 - Sept. 2009
Oct. 2009 - June 2010
July 2010 - Sept. 2010
Oct. 2010 - Sept. 2011
Oct. 2011 - Sept. 2012
Oct. 2012 - Sept. 2013
Oct. 2013 - Sept. 2014
Oct. 2014 - Sept. 2015

Rate
0.25%
0.22%
0.31%
0.26%
0.21%
0.37%
0.42%
0.20%
0.23%
0.42%
0.20%

Taxpayers must file and pay the tax within 30 days of the end of the calendar quarter.

Distribution

All collections are deposited in a state special revenue account for the administration of the Public Service
Commission (69-1-402, MCA).
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Rail Car Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 23, Part 2, MCA

Rail Car Tax

Fiscal Total $3.0

Year Revenue e 2.6 24
FY 2004 $1567,868 = $2.5 12 1 2% 22
FY 2005 $1,604,005
FY 2006 $1,667,441
FY 2007 $1,614,509
FY 2008 $2,063,981
FY 2009 $2,099,454
FY 2010 $2,579,263
FY 2011 $2,130,192
FY 2012 $2,273,412 F I FPL PO N>
FY 2013 $2,178,957 Q«"'QQ\"’QQ«"’Q d’& Q«"'QQ\"’QQ«”"Q Q«”QQ("QQ\"’Q@"’Q
FY 2014 $2,418,072

Tax Rate

The rail car tax provides for the central assessment of rail car companies’ operating properties. The ralil
car tax is assessed on the rolling stock of freight line companies. Section 15-23-214, MCA, provides that
the tax is computed by multiplying the taxable value of the property by the average statewide mill levy for
commercial and industrial property. Rail car companies were moved from a gross receipts tax to an ad
valorem tax by the July 1992 special session of the Montana Legislature.

Calculation of rail car tax is a three-step process. The first step is to determine the Montana market value
of rail car companies. The second step is to calculate the taxable value by applying the class 12 taxable
valuation rate to the Montana market value. The class 12 taxable value rate, which applies to railroad and
airline property, is a composite rate reflective of the weighted average tax rate applied to all commercial and
industrial property in the state. The third step is to apply the statewide average mill levy for commercial and
industrial property to the taxable value. Section 15-23-211, MCA, provides a definition of the “average levy.”
Prior to fiscal year 2004, 95 percent of the average statewide mill levy was used as the average state mill.

Under current law, tax calculations are calculated at 100 percent of the average statewide mill levy. The
rail car tax general fund revenue is Montana’s allocated rail car value multiplied by the class 12 taxable
valuation rate, and then multiplied by the average statewide mill levy for commercial and industrial property.
The calculated tax may differ from actual collections due to delinquent taxes.

Filling Requirements

The department computes the rail car tax and sends the railroad car company a written notice with the
amount of taxes due. This notice must include the taxable value of the property and the average levy used
(15-23-214, MCA). One half of the rail car tax is due by November 30 of each year or within 30 days after
the tax notice is postmarked, whichever is later. The other half of the tax is due by May 31 of each year.

Distribution
Rail car tax revenue is deposited in the state general fund (15-23-215, MCA).
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Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 53, MCA

Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax

Fiscal Total $30
Year Revenue 2 )35
FY 2004 $20,890,335 = %25 7,09 211 212 211 224 223 220 215 405
FY 2005 $21,144,420 S ¢y A 197
FY 2006 $21,208,947
FY 2007  $21.065.843 315 1
FY 2008 $22,350,323 $10 4
FY 2009 $22,250,383 ¢ |
FY 2010 $23,523,474
FY 2011 $22,049,967 $0 -
FY 2012 $21,459,017 P P XPDSE DN D A
FY 2013 $20,651,872 Q«”Q Q@Q &Q QOQ @”0 @”Q é”o d”g «*%Q «*%0 «*mg

FY 2014 $19,656,770

Tax Rate

Prior to January 1, 2000, Montana levied a telephone company license tax of 1.8 percent on gross revenue
telephone companies earned from in-state telephone calls. On January 1, 2000, the telephone company
license tax was replaced by the retail telecommunications excise tax. The retail telecommunications tax is
levied at a rate of 3.75 percent on retail sales of telecommunications service when the transmission either
originates or terminates in Montana.

The sale of prepaid wireless cellular telephone services by third parties, such as retail and grocery stores,
are not subject to Montana’s retail telecommunications excise tax.

Filing Requirements
Each retail telecommunication service provider must file a quarterly return due 60 days after the end of the
quarter.

Distribution

All receipts from the Retail Telecommunications Excise tax are deposited in the state general fund (15-53-
128, MCA).
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Sales Tax - Accommodations

|
Statute: Title 15, Chapter 68, MCA

Sales Tax - Accommodations

Fiscal Total $20 —
Year Revenue 2 167
FY 2004 $9,278658 = o15
FY 2005 $10,200,914 S
FY 2006 $10,679,216
FY 2007 $12,916,075 »10
FY 2008 $13,389,534
FY 2009 $12,477,461 $5
FY 2010 $12,330,846
FY 2011 $14,240,586 $0
FY 2012 $15,606,496 SRR RS IR RO N NN
FY 2013 $16,719,931 Q\"'Q Q\"’Q Q«"’Q Q«"'Q Q\"’Q Q\"’Q é’& Q\"'Q Q\"’Q Q«"Q Q\"'Q
FY 2014 $17,725,159

Tax Rate

In 2003, the Montana Legislature enacted a 3 percent selective sales and use tax on accommodations and
campgrounds. The 3 percent sales tax on accommodations is levied in addition to, and applies to the same
facilities as, the lodging facilities use tax (15-68-102, MCA).

Filing Requirements

The sales tax is imposed on the purchaser and collected and remitted by the seller to the department. The
tax is due on or before the last day of the month immediately following the end of the quarter. A lodging
facility operator who files a return and remits the tax on time is allowed to keep 5 percent of the tax collected,
up to $1,000 per facility, as compensation for collecting the tax.

Distribution

All of the revenue from the accommodations and campground sales and use tax is deposited in the state
general fund (15-68-820, MCA).
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Sales Tax - Rental Vehicles

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 68, MCA

Sales - Rental Vehicles

Fiscal Total $4.0
Year Revenue 2 ¢35 34 35 35
o .

FY 2004 $2,485989 =

FY 2005 $2,565,554 '

FY 2006 $2,755,072

FY 2007 $2,976,235

FY 2008 $3,157,239

FY 2009 $2,904,340

FY 2010 $2,807,415

FY 2011 $3,149,201

FY 2012 $3,419,763

FY 2013 $3,523,211

FY 2014 $3,521,324

Tax Rate

The 2003 Legislature enacted a 4 percent sales and use tax on the base rental charge for vehicles rented
for 30 days or less (15-68-102, MCA). The base rental charge includes charges based on time of use or
mileage, charges for personal accident insurance, charges for additional or underage drivers, and charges
for certain accessory equipment. Rental vehicles subject to the tax include automobiles, vans and SUVs;
trucks rated at one ton or less; motorcycles and quadracycles; off-highway vehicles; motorboats and
sailboats; and trucks, trailers and semis with GVW less than 22,000 Ibs. Vehicles designed to carry more
than 15 passengers, farm vehicles, machinery, equipment, and vehicles rented with a driver are not subject
to the tax.

Filing Requirements

The sales tax is imposed on the purchaser and collected and remitted by the seller to the department. The
tax is due on or before the last of the month immediately following the end of the quarter. A rental vehicle
business that files a return and remits the tax on time is allowed to keep 5 percent of the tax collected, up
to $1,000 per location, as compensation for collecting the tax.

Distribution
All rental vehicle sales tax revenue is deposited in the state general fund (15-68-820, MCA).
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TDD Telecommunications Service Fee

]
Statute: 53-19-301, MCA

TDD Telecommunications Service Fee

Fiscal Total $1.6 -
Year R(-;venue §$1'4 i 13 13 ¥4 14 14 13 43 °
FY 2004 1,086,929 = 11 L
FY 2005 $1,147,153 izig -
FY 2006 $1,185,297 '
FY 2007 $1,250,944 508
FY 2008 $1,320,796 50.6
FY 2009 $1,389,821 0.4
FY 2010 $1,361,947 $0.2
FY 2011 $1,350,111 $0.0
FY 2012 $1,325,236 TP FLSL PR >
A S

Fee Rate

A monthly fee of $0.10 per access line in the state is assessed from service subscribers to provide funding
for a telecommunications relay service system that is designed to connect persons with disabilities to all
public telecommunications services. The service provider may deduct and retain 0.75 percent of the total
fees collected each month to cover its administrative expenses. Legislation in 2007 modified state law to
make clear that all telecommunications providers, including those using newer technologies or formats such
as Voice over Internet Protocol or prepaid wireless service, must collect the fee and remit the revenue to
the state.

Filing Requirements
The fee is paid by the subscriber, but is collected and remitted to the state by the service provider on a
quarterly basis. The tax is due on the last day of the month immediately following the end of the quarter.

Distribution

The revenue from this fee is deposited in a special revenue account to provide telecommunications devices
for persons with hearing disabilities (53-19-311, MCA).
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Tobacco Products Tax

|
Statute: Title 16, Chapter 11, MCA

Tobacco Products Tax

Fiscal Total
$14 17.4 126
Year Revenue g ¢12 11, 115 207
FY 2004 $3,625,803 = i
FY 2005 $6,452,429 S $10 1
FY 2006 $9,118,757 $8
FY 2007 $9,810,138 36 4
FY 2008 $9,872,434 4
FY 2009 $10,479,063
FY 2010 $11,210 117 52 1
FY 2011 $11,492,465 SO -
FY 2012 $12,024,144 FP P POy
Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q Q
FY 2013 $12,386,794 ((0 QO Q& Q@ Qﬂ Q& ((0 Qﬂ Q@ Q& ((0
FY 2014 $12,562,721

Tax Rate

All tobacco products, excluding cigarettes and moist snuff, are subject to a tax of 50 percent of their wholesale
price. A tax of $0.85 per ounce is levied on moist snuff. The taxpayer is allowed a 1.5 percent allowance for
administrative expenses. Before May 1, 2003, the tax rate on tobacco products was 12.5 percent. The 2003
Legislature increased the tax on tobacco products to 25 percent of the wholesale price. Then, Montana
voters passed Initiative 149 (1-149). This increased the taxes on other tobacco products to 50 percent of the
wholesale price and the tax on moist snuff to $0.85 per ounce. This increase was effective January 1, 2005.

Tobacco Products Tax Rate

Product

Moist Snuff

All Other Tobacco*
*Excludes Cigarettes

Tax Rate
$0.85 per ounce
50% of wholesale price

Filing Requirements
The tax is collected monthly from the wholesaler. Wholesalers must submit returns to the department on or
before the 15" day of the month.

Distribution

After tribal revenue sharing agreements, the revenue from the tobacco products tax is distributed 50 percent
to the state general fund and 50 percent to the Department of Public Health and Human Services for health
and Medicaid initiatives (16-11-119, MCA).

Distribution of Tobacco Products Tax

Go to
Table of Contents
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FY 2011 FY 2012 FY 2013 FY 2014
Total Revenue $11,492,465 $12,024,144 $12,386,794 $12,562,721
Tobacco And Cig. Tribal Agree. $537,849 $605,561 $681,584 $703,758
Remainder $10,954,616 $11,418,583 $11,705,210 $11,858,963
General Fund (50%) $5,477,308 $5,709,292 $5,852,606 $5,929,482
DPHHS (50%) $5,477,308 $5,709,291 $5,852,604 $5,929,481
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obacco Products Tax

State Comparison

The tax rates associated with non-cigarette tobacco products varies significantly across the United States.
A majority of states place a tax on the wholesale price of non-cigarette related tobacco products, with rates
ranging from 6.6 percent of the wholesale price in Tennessee to 95 percent in several states. With a tax of
50 percent on the wholesale price of all non-cigarette and snuff tobacco products, the tax rate in Montana
is similar to the national average. However, ten states tax the sale of non-cigarette tobacco products based
on the manufacturers, or factory list, price.

Montana is also one of several states that places a different tax on the sale of moist snuff. With a tax rate
of $0.85 per ounce, Montana had the seventh highest tax rate in the country. Maine and New York have the
highest tax on moist snuff at $2.02 and $2 per ounce respectively.

Other Tobacco Product Taxes by State

State Type Tax Rate
Cigars $0.03 - $0.405 Per 10 Cigars
Alabama
Tobacco / Snuff $0.01 - $0.08 Per Ounce
Alaska All Other Tobacco Products 75% Wholesale Price
. Cigars $0.337 - $1.10 Per 10 Cigars
Arizona
Tobacco / Snuff $0.238 Per Ounce
Arkansas All Other Tobacco Products 68% Manufacturer's Price
California All Other Tobacco Products 29.82% Wholesale Price
Colorado All Other Tobacco Products 40% Manufacturer's Price
. Snuff $1.00 Per Ounce
Connecticut i
All Other 50% Wholesale Price
Snuff $0.54 Per Ounce
Delaware ]
All Other 15% Wholesale Price
Florida Tobacco / Snuff 85% Wholesale Price
Little Cigars $0.025 Per 10 Cigars
Georgia Other Cigars 23% Wholesale Price
Tobacco 10% Wholesale Price
Hawaii Large Cigars 50% Wholesale Price
Tobacco / Snuff 70% Wholesale Price
Idaho All Other Tobacco Products 40% Wholesale Price
e Snuff $0.30 Per Ounce
lllinois .
All Other 36% Wholesale Price
Indiana All Other Tobacco Products 24% Wholesale Price
lowa All Other Tobacco Products 50% Wholesale Price
Kansas All Other Tobacco Products 10% Wholesale Price
Kentucky All Other Tobacco Products 15% Wholesale Price
- Cigars 8% - 20% Manufacturer's Price
Louisiana . .
Snuff / Smoking Tobacco 20% - 33% Manufacturer's Price
Maine Chewing Tobacco / Snuff $2.02 Per Ounce
Smoking Tobacco / Cigars 20% Wholesale Price
Maryland All Other Tobacco Products 30% Wholesale Price
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Tobacco Products Tax

Other Tobacco Product Taxes by State

State Type Tax Rate
Massachusetts Smoking Tobacco / Cigars 40% Wholesale Price
Michigan All Other Tobacco Products 32% Wholesale Price
Minnesota All Other Tobacco Products 95% Wholesale Price
Mississippi All Other Tobacco Products 15% Manufacturer's Price
Missouri All Other Tobacco Products 10% Manufacturer's Price

Snuff $0.85 Per Ounce
Montana .

All Other 50% Wholesale Price

Snuff $0.44 Per Ounce
Nebraska .

All Other 20% Wholesale Price
Nevada All Other Tobacco Products 30% Wholesale Price

New Hampshire

All Other Tobacco Products
Snuff

65.03% Wholesale Price
$0.75 Per Ounce

New Jersey .
All Other 30% Wholesale Price
New Mexico All Other Tobacco Products 25% Product Value
Snuff $2.00 Per Ounce
New York

North Carolina

North Dakota

All Other

All Other Tobacco Products
Cigars and Tobacco

Chew Tobacco and Snuff

75% Wholesale Price
12.8% Wholesale Price
28% Wholesale Price
$0.16 - $0.60 Per Ounce

Ohio All Other Tobacco Products 17% Wholesale Price
OKlahoma Cigars (Little and Large) $0.36 - $1.20 Per 10. Clga.rs
Snuff and Tobacco 60% - 80% Factory List Price
Oregon All Other Tobacco Products 65% Wholesale Price
Rhode Island All Other Tobacco Products 80% Wholesale Price

South Carolina
South Dakota

All Other Tobacco Products
All Other Tobacco Products

5% Manufacturer's Price
35% Wholesale Price

Tennessee All Other Tobacco Products 6.6% Wholesale Price
Cigar $0.01 - $0.15 Per 10 Cigars
Texas
Tobacco / Snuff $1.22 Per Ounce
Utah Snuff $1.83 Per Ounce
All Other 86% Manufacturer's Price
Snuff $1.87 Per Ounce
Vermont .
All Other 92% Wholesale Price
_ Snuff $0.18 Per Ounce
Virginia .
All Other 10% Manufacturer's Price
Washington All Other Tobacco Products 95% Wholesale Price
West Virginia All Other Tobacco Products 7% Wholesale Price
Wisconsin All Other Tobacco Products 71% Manufacturer's Price
: Snuff $0.60 Per Ounce
Wyoming )
All Other 20% Wholesale Price

Source: Compiled By Federation of Tax Administrators from state sources
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Unclaimed Property

Statute: Title 70, Chapter 9, Part 8, MCA

Unclaimed Property

Fiscal Total $16
Year Revenue £ ¢1g 4 12.9
FY 2004 33859202 27 125
FY 2005 $5,848,094
FY 2006 $4,464,456
FY 2007 $4,474,991
FY 2008 $5,858,281
FY 2009 $4,542,158
FY 2010 $12,492,109
FY 2011 $7,276,154
FY 2012 $7,188,318
FY 2013 $8,827,032
FY 2014 $12,882,668

Montana is considered a “custodial state,” which means the State of Montana holds any abandoned property
on behalf of the rightful owners until the owner claims the property. Under Montana’s uniform unclaimed
property act, any intangible and certain tangible property unclaimed by its owner must be turned over to the
Department of Revenue. Intangible and tangible property covered by the act includes such items as money,
uncashed checks, drafts, state warrants, uncashed payroll checks, utility deposits, interest dividends or
income, savings and checking accounts, safe deposit box contents, credit balances, customer overpayments,
gift certificates, unidentified remittances, stocks, bonds and uncashed coupons. The department maintains
records on all abandoned property reported in Montana. Reports filed by holders of abandoned property
(banks and insurance companies, for instance) may be examined by the public. If the abandoned property
is not claimed within three years after the receipt of the property, the State of Montana shall sell the property
to the highest bidder at a public sale within the state, with the proceeds from the sale being held on behalf
of the owner in the state general fund.

Since 1963, there has been approximately $70,000,000 worth of unclaimed property turned over to the
state. During that time, the department has returned nearly $20,000,000 of the unclaimed property to its
rightful owners.

Distribution

According to 70-9-813, MCA, all collections over $100,000 (the amount allocated to the agency refund
account) are transferred to the state’s general fund. The refund period for items valued at more than $50 is
unlimited.
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Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax

Statute: Title 15, Chapter 72, MCA

Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax

Fiscal Total

Year Revenue
FY 2004 $3,292,659
FY 2005 $3,370,263
FY 2006 $3,813,495
FY 2007 $3,651,024
FY 2008 $3,856,112
FY 2009 $3,864,771
FY 2010 $3,556,056
FY 2011 $3,945,547
FY 2012 $3,427,411
FY 2013 $3,558,221
FY 2014 $3,112,284

[} 3.8 39 39 39
S $4.0 - 3.7 36 34 36

Q RN,

N
NN\

SRR S, G N
PP PP
S S S
RO IR SR SR SR SR SR R
QMMM

Tax Rate

The wholesale energy transaction tax is levied at a rate of $0.00015 per kilowatt hour on all electricity
transmitted by a transmission service provider in the state. There is also a 5 percent exemption for electricity
produced in the state and delivered out of state.

Filing Requirements

The tax went into effect on January 1, 2000 and is paid on a calendar quarter basis. Payment is due to the
state within 30 days after the close of the quarter.

Distribution

All payments are deposited into the state general fund (15-72-106, MCA).
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