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Lodging Facility Use Tax

13.57 14.44 15.02
17.91 18.56

17.31 17.13

0
2
4
6
8

10
12
14
16
18
20
22

FY2004 FY2005 FY2006 FY2007 FY2008 FY2009 FY2010

Millions
Lodging Facility Use Tax 

Collections

 
Lodging Facility Use Tax Collections

 

FY2004 $13,573,172

FY2005 $14,441,179

FY2006 $15,018,113

FY2007 $17,906,542

FY2008 $18,562,141

FY2009 $17,307,397

FY2010 $17,132,174

A tax is imposed on users of overnight lodging facilities, 
which include campgrounds, dormitories, condominium 
inns, dude ranches, guest ranches, hostels, public 
lodging houses, bed and breakfast facilities, and other 
structures containing individual sleeping rooms providing 
lodging facilities for periods of less than 30 days (15-65-
101, MCA).  This tax is 4% of the lodging charge and is 
collected by the owner or operator of the facility. 

Proceeds from the tax are deposited in a state special 
revenue fund to the credit of the Department of Rev-
enue.  Department administrative costs are paid, vari-
ous state funds are reimbursed for taxes paid by state 
agencies for in-state lodging, and $400,000 is deposited 
in the Montana Heritage Preservation Account.  

The balance of the tax is distributed as follows (15-65-
111;15-65-121, MCA): 

•	 67.5% to the Department of Commerce for direct 
use.

•	 1% to the Montana Historical Society to install 
and maintain roadside historical signs and his-
toric sites.

•	 2.5% to the university system for the Montana 
Travel Research Program.

•	 6.5% to the Department of Fish, Wildlife and 
Parks to maintain facilities.  

•	 22.5% to various regional nonprofit tourism 
corporations in accordance with the ratio of the 
proceeds collected in each tourism region to 
total statewide collections.  If an area’s annual 
proceeds exceed $35,000, half of the amount 
available for distribution to the nonprofit tourism 
corporation is reallocated to the nonprofit con-
vention and visitor’s bureau in that area. 

Collections for fiscal year 2009 totaled $17,307,397 and 
collections for fiscal year 2010 totaled $17,132,174.

Fiscal Year
MT Heritage 
Commission

Administration of 
Tax

State Agency 
Reimbursement of 

Tax
Dept. of 

Commerce

Non-Profit 
Tourism 

Corporations
Fish, Wildlife 

and Parks
UM - Travel 
Research

MT Historical 
Society

FY2004 $400,000 $137,254 $133,480 $8,795,514 $2,931,837 $846,975 $325,760 $130,304
FY2005 $400,000 $141,371 $160,956 $9,378,433 $3,126,144 $903,108 $347,350 $138,940
FY2006 $400,000 $29,122 $177,942 $9,727,458 $3,242,486 $936,718 $360,276 $144,110
FY2007 $400,000 $149,981 $202,244 $11,579,164 $3,859,721 $1,115,031 $428,858 $171,543
FY2008 $400,000 $149,107 $207,708 $12,018,595 $4,006,198 $1,157,346 $445,134 $178,053
FY2009 $400,000 $154,480 $203,759 $11,170,681 $3,723,561 $1,075,695 $413,729 $165,491
FY2010 $400,000 $131,358 $198,231 $11,071,744 $3,690,582 $1,066,168 $410,065 $164,025

Lodging Facility Use Tax Distributions
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In 2003, the Montana Legislature enacted a 3% selec-
tive sales and use tax on accommodations and camp-
grounds.  The 3% sales tax on accommodations is 
levied in addition to the lodging facilities use tax (15-68-
102, MCA).  The sales tax on accommodations applies 
to the same facilities as the lodging facility use tax.

Collections for fiscal year 2009 totaled $12,477,461.  
Collections for fiscal year 2010 totaled $12,330,846.  
The revenue from the accommodations and camp-
ground sales and use tax is deposited in the state gen-
eral fund (15-68-820, MCA).

The 2003 Legislature enacted a 4% sales and use tax 
on base rental charges for rental vehicles (15-68-102, 
MCA). Owners or operators of a business with taxable 
transactions collect the tax and it is deposited in the 
general fund (15-68-820 MCA).  

The base rental charges include time of use, mileage, 
charges for personal accident insurance, charges for 
additional or underage drivers and charges for certain 
accessory equipment.  For this section of code, vehicles 
22,000 lbs and over, farm vehicles, machinery or equip-
ment, and vehicles rented with a driver are not subject to 
the selective sales tax.

Further exemptions include the sale of property or ser-
vices that are exempt or nontaxable under 15-68 part 
2, MCA. These include sales to the United States gov-
ernment, occasional sales by a business not normally 
engaged in providing services, leases by a tax-exempt 
organization, and the sale for re-sale of property, ser-
vices or leases evidenced by a nontaxable transaction 
certificate.

Collections for fiscal year 2009 totaled $2,904,340.  Col-
lections for fiscal year 2010 totaled $2,807,415.
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Rental Vehicle Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $2,485,989
FY2005 $2,565,554
FY2006 $2,755,072
FY2007 $2,976,235
FY2008 $3,157,239
FY2009 $2,904,340
FY2010 $2,807,415

 
Accommodation and Campground Sales 

Tax Collections  
FY2004 $9,278,658
FY2005 $10,200,914
FY2006 $10,679,216
FY2007 $12,916,075
FY2008 $13,389,534
FY2009 $12,477,461
FY2010 $12,330,846
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Tobacco Products Tax

All tobacco products, excluding cigarettes and moist 
snuff, are subject to a tax of 50% of their wholesale 
price.  A tax of $0.85 per ounce is levied on moist snuff.  
The tax is collected from the wholesaler, less 1.5% for 
collection and administrative expenses.  Tobacco prod-
ucts’ tax revenues are deposited in the state general 
fund and special revenue fund after tribal revenue shar-
ing payments (16-11-111; 16-11-114, MCA).

Before May 1, 2003, the tax rate on tobacco products 
was 12.5%.  The 2003 Legislature increased the tax on 
tobacco products to 25% of the wholesale price.  Then, 
Montana voters passed Initiative 149 (I-149), which 
increased the taxes on other tobacco products to 50% of 
the wholesale price and the tax on moist snuff to $0.85 
per ounce.  The rates passed in I-149 became effective 
on January 1, 2005.

After tribal revenue sharing agreements, the revenue 
from the tobacco products tax is distributed 50% to the 
state general fund and 50% to the Department of Public 
Health and Human Services for health and Medicaid 
initiatives (16-11-119, MCA).  In FY 2009, the tobacco 
products tax collections were $10,479,063.  In FY 2010, 
the tobacco products tax collections were $11,210,117. 
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Cigarette License Fee

A license fee is imposed on cigarette dealers in Mon-
tana. Wholesalers, sub-jobbers and vendors (operating 
10 or more machines) pay an annual license fee of $50. 
Retailers and vendors (operating 9 or fewer machines) 
pay an annual license fee of $5.  Revenues from the 
license fees are deposited in the state general fund (16-
11-122, MCA).  In FY 2009, revenues were $14,170 and 
in FY 2010 revenues were $13,575.
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Cigarette License Fee Collections

 
FY2004 $13,388
FY2005 $13,997
FY2006 $14,986
FY2007 $14,072
FY2008 $14,071
FY2009 $14,170
FY2010 $13,575

 
Tobacco Products Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $3,625,893
FY2005 $6,452,429
FY2006 $9,118,757
FY2007 $9,810,138
FY2008 $9,872,434
FY2009 $10,479,063
FY2010 $11,210,117
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Cigarette Tax

The cigarette tax rate has increased twice since 2003.  
On May 1, 2003, the cigarette tax rate increased from 
18¢ to 70¢ per pack of 20 cigarettes, as mandated by 
the 2003 Legislature.  On January 1, 2005, the tax rate 
increased from 70¢ per pack to $1.70 per pack in com-
pliance with Initiative 149 (I-149), which was passed by 
the Montana electorate in November 2004 (16-11-111, 
MCA).  At $1.70 per pack, Montana has the 17th highest 
cigarette tax in the United States.

The cigarette tax is pre-collected from retailers by state-
licensed cigarette wholesalers who must affix a tax 
insignia to each package of cigarettes to indicate the 
tax has been paid.  Retailers then include the tax in the 
retail price of cigarettes.  Wholesalers remit the tax to 
the State of Montana, minus an allowance to defray the 
costs of affixing insignias and collecting the tax.
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Cigarette Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $41,582,823
FY2005 $54,765,356
FY2006 $80,180,236
FY2007 $83,380,418
FY2008 $83,882,748
FY2009 $81,849,518
FY2010 $78,439,977

After distributing revenues according to tribal revenue 
sharing agreements, cigarette tax revenues are distrib-
uted: 8.3% or $2 million, whichever is greater, to the 
Department of Public Health and Human Services for 
maintenance and operation of state veteran’s nursing 
homes, 2.6% to the Long-Range Building Account, 44% 
to the Department of Public Health and Human Services 
for Health and Medicaid initiatives, - for fiscal years end-
ing June 30, 2010 and June 30, 2011, 1.2% is deposited 
for the construction of the state veterans’ home - and the 
remainder is deposited in the state general fund (16-11-
119, MCA). 

In fiscal year 2009 cigarette tax collections were 
$81,849,518 and in fiscal year 2010, $78,439,977.

General Fund
43.9%

DPHHS - Medicaid 
Initiatives

44.0%

Long Range Building 
Account

2.6%

DPHHS - Veterans 
Nursing Homes

8.3%

State Veterans Home 
(FY2009 & FY2010)

1.2%

Distribution of Cigarette Tax Revenue
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Cigarette Tax

Cigarette Tax - All States - As of July 1, 2010
(Per Pack)

Excise Excise
Tax Rate Tax Rate

1 Rhode Island $3.46 27 Arkansas $1.15
2 Connecticut $3.00 28 Oklahoma $1.03
3 New York (1) $2.75 29 Indiana $1.00
4 New Jersey $2.70 30 Illinois (1) $0.98
5 Hawaii (3) $2.60 31 New Mexico          $0.91
6 Wisconsin $2.52 32 California $0.87
7 Massachusetts $2.51 33 Colorado (5) $0.84
8 Dist. of Columbia   $2.50 34 Nevada $0.80
9 Vermont $2.24 35 Kansas $0.79

10 Washington $2.03 36 Utah $0.70
11 Alaska $2.00 37 Mississippi $0.68
12 Arizona $2.00 38 Nebraska      $0.64
13 Maine $2.00 39 Tennessee (1) (2) $0.62
14 Maryland $2.00 40 Kentucky (2) $0.60
15 Michigan $2.00 41 Wyoming             $0.60
16 New Hampshire $1.78 42 Idaho $0.57
17 Montana $1.70 43 West Virginia $0.55
18 Delaware $1.60 44 North Carolina $0.45
19 Pennsylvania $1.60 45 North Dakota $0.44
20 Minnesota (4) $1.56 46 Alabama (1) $0.44
21 South Dakota        $1.53 47 Georgia $0.37
22 Texas $1.41 48 Louisiana $0.36
23 Iowa $1.36 49 Virginia (1) $0.30
24 Florida (6) $1.34 50 Missouri (1) $0.17
25 Ohio $1.25 51 South Carolina      $0.07
26 Oregon $1.18

High $3.46
Low $0.07
Average $1.33
U. S. Median $1.17

Source: Compiled by FTA from various sources

(2) Dealers pay an additional enforcement and administrative fee of 0.1¢ per pack in KY and 0.05¢ in TN.

(3) Tax rate is scheduled to increase to $2.80 per pack on July 1, 2010 and $3.00 on July 1, 2011.

(4) Plus an additional 33.0 cent sales tax is added to the wholesale price of a tax stamp (total $1.56).

(6) Includes a $1 per pack surcharge.

(5) In addition, there will be a 2.9% state sales tax on top of the stated per pack tax rate from 7/1/2009 through 7/1/2011.

Rank State Rank State

(1) Counties and cities may impose an additional tax on a pack of cigarettes in AL, 1¢ to 6¢; IL, 10¢ to 15¢; MO, 4¢ to 7¢; NYC 
$1.50; TN, 1¢; and VA, 2¢ to 15¢.



revenue.mt.gov
106

Unclaimed Property

The Montana Department of Revenue handles the 
state’s unclaimed property, which includes such items as 
money, uncashed checks, drafts, state warrants, un-
cashed payroll checks, utility deposits, interest dividends 
or income, savings and checking accounts, safe deposit 
box contents, credit balances, customer overpayments, 
gift certificates, unidentified remittances, stocks, bonds 
and uncashed coupons.
Since 1963, there has been approximately $70,000,000 
worth of unclaimed property turned over to the state and 
the department has returned nearly $20,000,000 of that 
to its owners. 

Under Montana’s uniform unclaimed property act, any 
intangible and certain tangible property unclaimed by its 
owner must be turned over to the Department of Rev-
enue. Montana is considered a “custodial state” and 
holds such property on behalf of the owners of lost or 
abandoned property.  The department maintains records 
on all abandoned property reported in Montana. Reports 
filed by holders of abandoned property (banks and insur-
ance companies, for instance) may be examined by the 
public.

All collections over $100,000 (the amount allocated 
to the agency refund account) are transferred to the 
state’s general fund.  The refund period for items val-
ued at more than $50 is unlimited.  In 2009, $4,541,077 
in unclaimed property was collected, and, in 2010, 
$12,491,906 was collected.  
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Unclaimed Property Collections

 
FY2004 $3,858,292 
FY2005 $4,610,094 
FY2006 $4,464,456 
FY2007 $4,474,991 
FY2008 $5,858,281 
FY2009 $4,541,077 
* FY2010 $12,491,906 

*This large increase in collection was due to the sale of 
stock previously held as shares, as required by statute.  
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Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Tax Inheritance and Estate Taxes

 
Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Tax 

Collections  
FY2004 $2,120,485
FY2005 $1,410,831
FY2006 $4,274,649
FY2007 $5,566,958
FY2008 $5,062,659
FY2009 $5,929,999
FY2010 $6,969,395

Montana’s inheritance tax was repealed by the passage 
of Legislative Referendum 116 in November 2000, and 
does not apply to bequests made on or after January 
1, 2001.  Montana’s estate tax equals the credit against 
federal inheritance tax for state taxes.  The federal credit 
was phased out and there is no Montana estate tax for 
deaths on or after January 1, 2005.
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Inheritance and Estate Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $11,431,103
FY2005 $4,190,613
FY2006 $1,773,169
FY2007 $838,865
FY2008 $122,148
FY2009 $217,097
FY2010 $90,544

Prime contractors and all levels of subcontractors must 
pay a tax equal to 1% of all public contracts over $5,000. 
Contractors can obtain part or all of the tax back by 
requesting refunds for business equipment and vehicle 
property taxes paid by their contracting business, and/
or by claiming credit on their individual Montana income 
tax return or Montana corporation license tax return. 
Revenues are deposited in the general fund (15-50-311, 
MCA).  In 2009, Public Contractor’s Gross Receipts Tax 
collections were $5,929,999 and, in 2010, collections 
were $6,969,395.
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Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax

Prior to January 1, 2000, Montana levied a telephone 
company license tax of 1.8% on gross revenue tele-
phone companies earned from in-state telephone calls.  
On January 1, 2000, the telephone company license tax 
was replaced by the retail telecommunications excise 
tax.   The retail telecommunications tax is levied at a 
rate of 3.75% on retail sales of telecommunications 
service when the transmission either originates or ter-
minates in Montana.  All receipts from the Retail Tele-
communications Excise tax are deposited in the state 
general fund (15-53-128, MCA).  In 2009 and 2010, tax 
revenues were $22,250,383 and $23,523,474, respec-
tively.

TDD Telecommunications Service Fee

A monthly fee of 10¢ per subscriber access line in the 
state is assessed for telephone exchange access ser-
vices.  The fee is paid by the subscriber, but is collected 
and remitted to the state by the service provider.  The 
service provider may deduct and retain 0.75% of the 
total fees collected each month to cover its administra-
tive expenses.  The revenue from this fee is deposited 
in a special revenue account to provide telecommunica-
tions devices for persons with hearing disabilities (MCA, 
53-19-311).  

Legislation in 2007 modified state law to make clear that 
all telecommunications providers, including those us-
ing newer technologies or formats such as voice over 
internet protocol or prepaid wireless service, must col-
lect the fee and remit the revenue to the state.  In 2009 
and 2010, fee revenue was $1,389,821 and $1,361,947 
respectively. 
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Retail Telecommunications Excise Tax 

Collections  
FY2004 $20,890,335
FY2005 $21,144,420
FY2006 $21,208,947
FY2007 $21,065,843
FY2008 $22,350,323
FY2009 $22,250,383
FY2010 $23,523,474

 
TDD Telecommunication Service Fee 

Collections  
FY2004 $1,086,929
FY2005 $1,147,153
FY2006 $1,185,297
FY2007 $1,259,944
FY2008 $1,320,796
FY2009 $1,389,821
FY2010 $1,361,947
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911 Emergency Telephone System Fee Electrical Energy Producers’ License Tax
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Electrical Energy Producers’ License Tax 

Collections  
FY2004 $4,660,529 
FY2005 $4,074,409 
FY2006 $4,644,508 
FY2007 $4,564,404 
FY2008 $5,179,013 
FY2009 $4,824,659 
FY2010 $4,713,429 
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Emergency Telephone 911 Fee Collections

FY2004 $5,388,386 
FY2005 $5,733,140 
FY2006 $5,121,643 
FY2007 $5,960,166 
FY2008 $12,986,143 
FY2009 $13,249,845 
FY2010 $13,801,647 

For each access line, a fee of $0.25 per month to sup-
port basic 911 services, $0.25 per month to support 
enhanced 911 services, and $0.50 per month to support 
wireless enhanced 911 services is collected from service 
subscribers.

The subscriber paying for exchange access line ser-
vices is liable for the fees, but the fees are collected by 
the provider and are remitted to the state on a quar-
terly basis.  The provider collecting the fee must file a 
return on or before the last day of the month following 
the end of each calendar quarter.  2.74% of the amount 
of fee collected must be deposited in the state special 
revenue fund and be used for the administration of the 
Emergency Telephone System Account.  The remain-
ing fee amount is paid to the state treasurer for de-
posit in the appropriate accounts (10-4-301, MCA).  In 
2009 and 2010, fee collections were $13,249,845 and 
$13,801,647, respectively. 

Businesses engaged in the production of electrical ener-
gy pay the electrical energy producers’ license tax.  The 
tax was first enacted in 1933 and is $.0002 per kilowatt 
hour (kWh) of electrical energy generated, manufactured 
or produced in the state for barter, sale or exchange 
other than plant use.  These tax collections are depos-
ited in the state general fund (15-51-103, MCA).  The 
license tax must be remitted each calendar quarter to 
the department with a statement on or before the 30th 
day of the month after the end of the calendar quarter 
(15-51-102, MCA).  In 2009 and 2010 tax receipts were 
$4,824,659 and $4,713,429, respectively.
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Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax Consumer Counsel Tax
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Wholesale Energy Transaction Tax Collections

FY2004 $3,292,659 
FY2005 $3,370,263 
FY2006 $3,813,495 
FY2007 $3,651,024 
FY2008 $3,856,112 
FY2009 $3,864,771 
FY2010 $3,556,056 
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Consumer Counsel Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $1,303,597
FY2005 $1,860,324
FY2006 $1,070,664
FY2007 $806,829
FY2008 $1,696,840
FY2009 $1,355,530
FY2010 $530,981

The wholesale energy transaction tax is levied at a rate 
of $0.00015 per kilowatt hour on all electricity transmit-
ted by a transmission service provider in the state.  The 
tax went into effect on January 1, 2000 and is paid on 
a calendar quarter basis.  Payment is due to the state 
within 30 days after the close of the quarter.  Payments 
are deposited into the general fund (15-72-101, MCA).  
In 2009 and 2010, tax revenue was $3,864,771 and 
$3,556,056, respectively.

All companies providing services regulated by the Public 
Service Commission are subject to a quarterly Con-
sumer Counsel Tax on gross operating revenue.  The 
tax rate is set annually for the succeeding fiscal year to 
cover appropriations for the operation of the Office of 
the Consumer Counsel.  All collections are deposited in 
a state special revenue account (69-1-201; 223; 224, 
MCA).  Consumer Counsel Tax receipts for 2009 and 
2010 were $1,355,530 and $530,981, respectively.
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Hospital Facility Utilization Fee
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Hospital Facility Utilization Fee           

Collections  

FY2004 $7,427,903
FY2005 $8,757,918
FY2006 $11,179,325
FY2007 $12,559,877
FY2008 $16,671,570
FY2009 $19,582,981
FY2010 $21,290,112

Time Period over which Fee Applies Fee Per Inpatient Bed Day

January 1, 2004 through June 30, 2005 $19.43 
July 1, 2005 through December 31, 2005 $29.75 
January 1, 2006 through June 30, 2007 $27.70 
July 1, 2007 and December 31, 2007 $47.00 
January 1, 2008 through December 31, 2008 $43.00 
January 1, 2009 through December 31, 2009 $48.00 
Beginning January 1, 2010 $50.00 

Beginning in 2004, all hospitals licensed by the state 
(with the exception of the Montana State Hospital) are 
required to pay a utilization fee for each inpatient bed 
day.  The fees must be paid by the hospital for the pre-
ceding calendar year on all taxable inpatient bed days.  
The table below provides the fee per inpatient bed day 
since the fee was instituted. 

Subject to the yearly benchmarks provided below, all of 
the proceeds from the utilization fee are deposited in a 
special revenue account for use by the Department of 
Health and Human Services (15-66-102 (2), MCA) to 

provide reimbursements to hospitals serving Medicaid 
patients.  

For fiscal year 2009, proceeds in excess of $16,232,795 
were deposited into the state general fund.  Proceeds 
for 2009 were $19,582,981 and $3,350,186 was depos-
ited in the general fund. 

For state fiscal year 2010, proceeds in excess of 
$18,505,269 were deposited into the state general fund.  
Proceeds for 2010 were $21,290,112 and $2,784,843 
respectively. 

For state fiscal year 2011, proceeds in excess of 
$19,818,193 will be deposited in the general fund. 
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Nursing Facility Bed Tax
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Collections

All facilities licensed by the Department of Health and 
Human Services (DPHHS) and the Montana Mental 
Health Nursing Care Center (MMHNCC) are required 
to pay a utilization fee of $8.30 per resident day.  For all 
facilities, except for the Montana mental health nurs-
ing care center, $2.80 is distributed to the general fund 
and $5.50 is distributed to the nursing facility utilization 
fee account.  The revenue distributed into the nursing 
facility account is used by the Department of Health and 
Human Services to increase the price-based reimburse-
ment system payment rates to nursing homes (15-60-
101, MCA).

 
Nursing Facility Bed Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $9,158,829
FY2005 $10,780,189
FY2006 $13,752,750
FY2007 $16,196,108
FY2008 $15,868,028
FY2009 $15,308,973
FY2010 $14,928,685

Utilization fees paid by the Montana Mental Health Nurs-
ing Care Center are distributed 30% to the state general 
fund and 70% to the prevention and stabilization ac-
count  administered by the DPHHS to finance, adminis-
ter, and provide health and human services (53-6-1101, 
MCA).

In fiscal years 2009 and 2010, tax collections were 
$15,308,973 and $14,928,685, respectively. 
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The Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee is col-
lected at a rate of 6% of the quarterly revenue of inter-
mediate care facilities for the developmentally disabled.  
The fee was first implemented by the 2003 legislature at 
a rate of 5%.  The 2005 Legislature changed the fee to a 
quarterly payment of 6% of the intermediate care facil-
ity’s quarterly revenue divided by the resident bed days 
for same time period.  

30% of the revenue generated by this fee is deposited 
into the state general fund and 70% into the prevention 
and stabilization account in the state special revenue 
fund for the Department of Public Health and Human 
Services to administer.  In 2009 and 2010, fee payments 
were $907,764 and $913,971, respectively.  Payments 
are filed and paid quarterly (15-67-101, MCA). 

Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee

 
Intermediate Care Facility Utilization Fee 

Collections  
FY2004 $863,036
FY2005 $821,923
FY2006 $897,227
FY2007 $877,482
FY2008 $890,691
FY2009 $907,764
FY2010 $913,971
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Public Service Commission Tax

All companies providing services which are regulated by 
the Public Service Commission are subject to a quarterly 
tax on gross operating revenue, excluding revenues 
from sales to other regulated companies for resale.  The 
tax rate is set annually for the succeeding fiscal year to 
cover appropriations for the operation of the Department 
of Public Service Regulation.  All collections are depos-
ited in a state special revenue account. Motor carriers 
are not subject to the tax (69-1-402, MCA).  In 2009 and 
2010, tax revenues were $3,521,894 and $2,493,209, 
respectively.

Rail Car Tax
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Collections

 
Public Service Commission Tax                    

Collections  
FY2004 $2,875,741
FY2005 $3,050,213
FY2006 $3,005,151
FY2007 $2,619,321
FY2008 $3,520,803
FY2009 $3,521,894
FY2010 $2,493,209

The rail car tax provides for the central assessment of 
rail car companies’ operating properties.  The rail car tax 
is assessed on the rolling stock of freight line compa-
nies.  Section 15-23-214, MCA, provides that the tax is 
computed by multiplying the taxable value of the proper-
ty by the average statewide mill levy for commercial and 
industrial property.  Rail car tax revenue is deposited in 
the state general fund.

Rail car companies were moved from a gross receipts 
tax to an ad valorem tax by the July 1992 special ses-
sion of the Montana legislature.  Calculation of rail car 
tax is a three-step process.  The first step is to deter-
mine the Montana market value of rail car companies.  
The second step is to calculate the taxable value by ap-
plying the class 12 taxable valuation rate to the Montana 
market value.  The class 12 taxable value rate, which 
applies to railroad and airline property, is a composite 
rate reflective of the weighted average tax rate applied 
to all commercial and industrial property in the state.  
The third step is to apply the statewide average mill levy 
for commercial and industrial property to the taxable 
value.  Section 15-23-211, MCA, provides a definition 
of the “average levy.”  Prior to fiscal year 2004, 95% of 
the average statewide mill levy was used as the average 
state mill.  Under current law, tax calculations are calcu-
lated at 100% of the average statewide mill levy.  

 
Rail Car Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $1,567,868
FY2005 $1,604,005
FY2006 $1,667,441
FY2007 $1,614,509
FY2008 $2,063,981
FY2009 $2,099,454
FY2010 $2,579,263
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Rail Car Tax

Calculate General Fund Revenue

The rail car tax general fund revenue is Montana’s al-
located rail car value multiplied by the class 12 taxable 
valuation rate, and then multiplied by the average state-
wide mill levy for commercial and industrial property as 
shown in the table.  The calculated tax may differ from 
actual collections due to delinquent taxes.
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Description FY2010

Total Montana Allocated Value $144,031,288
Multiply by Class 12 Tax Rate 3.45%

Taxable Value $4,969,079.44
Multiply by Mill Levy 524.81

General Fund Revenue $2,607,822.58

Calculation of Rail Car Tax - General Fund 
Fiscal Year 2010

Fiscal Year
Montana 

Allocated Value
Class 12 Tax 

Rate

Average 
Statewide Mill 

Levy Tax Assessed  Tax Collected

2004 $84,020,000 3.88% 474.43 $1,546,630 $1,567,868
2005 $82,645,528 3.81% 503.39 $1,585,072 $1,604,005
2006 $89,055,569 3.74% 509.51 $1,697,014 $1,667,441
2007 $85,817,421 3.55% 515.71 $1,571,120 $1,614,509
2008 $113,863,887 3.52% 520.32 $2,085,447 $2,063,981
2009 $116,403,478 3.44% 524.79 $2,101,406 $2,099,454
2010 $144,031,288 3.45% 524.81 $2,607,823 $2,579,263

Rail Car Tax Assessment and Collections
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Alcohol Taxes

The Department of Revenue’s Liquor Control Division 
administers Montana’s Alcoholic Beverage Code (Title 
16, Chapters 1 through 6 MCA), which governs the con-
trol, sale, distribution, and taxes of alcoholic beverages.  
This division is separated into two bureaus with separate 
responsibilities, the Liquor Licensing Bureau and the 
Liquor Distribution Bureau.

Liquor Licensing Bureau

The Liquor Licensing Bureau is responsible for admin-
istering liquor licensing laws in an effort to protect the 
welfare and safety of the public.   The bureau oversees 
and enforces compliance with the state’s liquor laws, as 
provided for in the Montana Alcoholic Beverage Code 
(Title 16, MCA).

Duties and responsibilities include: 

•	 Issuing licenses and renewals for all individuals 
and entities producing, importing or selling alco-
holic beverages in Montana;

•	 Verifying the suitability of liquor license appli-
cants to ensure they meet the qualifications re-
quired to sell, manufacture, or distribute alcoholic 
beverages; 

•	 Ensuring compliance with Montana’s liquor laws 
by actively monitoring licensee  premises activi-
ties and issuing violation notices as needed; and

•	 Providing expert testimony in cases of foreclo-
sure, revocation, and other regulatory proceed-
ings.

The Liquor Distribution Bureau

The Liquor Distribution Bureau is responsible for fulfilling 
the public’s demand of distilled spirits and fortified wine 
through Agency Liquor Stores by efficiently maintaining 
a regulated channel of liquor distribution.

The bureau is responsible for overseeing and managing 
the effective receipt and distribution of alcoholic bever-
ages in the state.  General duties and responsibilities 
include:

•	 Overseeing all operations of the state liquor 
warehouse: ordering, maintaining, and monitor-
ing liquor warehouse inventories in a manner 
that balances state interests with liquor distribu-
tion outlet customers;

•	 Establishing and posting statutorily-defined 
prices for all liquor products distributed through 
the liquor warehouse; and 

•	 Establishing, maintaining, and monitoring rela-
tionships, compliance issues, and state contracts 
with 97 separate agency liquor stores.
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Table Wine Tax   

A tax of $0.27 ($0.28 if sold to an agency owned liquor 
store) per liter on table wine and a tax of $0.037 per 
liter on hard cider are levied on wine and cider sold into 
Montana (16-1-411, MCA).  

The revenues collected from the tax are deposited 69% 
to the state general fund and 31% to the Department of 
Public Health and Human Services for treatment, re-
habilitation and prevention of alcoholism and chemical 
dependency. 

Beer Tax

The State of Montana levies a tax on each 31-gallon 
barrel of beer sold in Montana. Depending on the size 
of the brewer a tax rate ranging from $1.30 to $4.30 per 
31-gallon barrel is levied on beer sold into Montana (16-
1-406, MCA).  

 
Beer Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $3,852,302
FY2005 $3,903,377
FY2006 $3,866,022
FY2007 $4,030,526
FY2008 $4,150,714
FY2009 $4,141,236
FY2010 $4,032,294

Alcohol Taxes

 
Table Wine Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $2,104,356
FY2005 $2,217,968
FY2006 $2,397,695
FY2007 $2,619,911
FY2008 $2,701,397
FY2009 $2,859,963
FY2010 $2,856,546
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A small portion of wine tax revenue is refunded from the 
general fund to the tribes that have a revenue-sharing 
agreement with the state.  Currently the state has agree-
ments with the Blackfeet, Fort Peck, and Fort Belknap 
Tribes.  

In 2009 and 2010, table wine tax collections were 
$2,868,286 and $2,859,927, respectively.

The revenues collected from the tax are deposited 
76.74% to the state general fund and 23.26% to the 
Department of Public Health and Human Services for 
treatment, rehabilitation, and prevention of alcoholism 
and chemical dependency. 

A small portion of beer tax revenue is refunded from the 
general fund to the tribes that have a revenue-sharing 
agreement with the state.  Currently the state has agree-
ments with the Blackfeet, Fort Peck, and Fort Belknap 
Tribes.  

In fiscal year 2009, the liquor control division collected 
$4,158,971 in beer tax revenue and $4,056,146 in fiscal 
year 2010.

Barrels Produced By a 
Brewer

Tax Rate Per 
Barrel

Less than or equal to 5,000 1.3%
5,001 to 10,000 2.3%
10,001 to 20,000 3.3%
Greater than 20,000 4.3%
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Liquor Excise Tax

The Department of Revenue collects an excise tax (in 
addition to the license tax) on the retail selling price of all 
liquor sold by the state liquor warehouse.  The tax rate 
ranges from 3% - 16% of the retail selling price, depend-
ing on the number of proof gallons produced by the 
manufacturer nationwide.   

Proof Gallons Tax Rate
Less than 50,000 2%
50,000 to 200,000 8.60%
More than 200,000 10%

The revenues collected from the tax are deposited to 
the state general fund (16-1-401, MCA).  A small portion 
of this tax revenue is refunded from the general fund to 
the tribes that have a revenue-sharing agreement with 
the state.  Currently the state has agreements with the 
Blackfeet, Fort Peck, and Fort Belknap Tribes.

Liquor excise tax collections were $10,662,763 in fiscal 
year 2009 and $13,113,048 in fiscal year 2010.

 
Liquor License Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $5,621,399
FY2005 $6,007,218
FY2006 $6,658,036
FY2007 $7,322,884
FY2008 $7,820,500
FY2009 $6,662,040
FY2010 $8,194,517

Alcohol Taxes

 
Liquor Excise Tax Collections

 
FY2004 $8,992,427
FY2005 $9,609,132
FY2006 $10,651,853
FY2007 $11,716,614
FY2008 $12,512,800
FY2009 $10,662,763
FY2010 $13,113,048
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Liquor License Tax

The Department of Revenue collects a license tax (in 
addition to the excise tax) on the retail selling price of all 
liquor sold by the state liquor warehouse.  The tax rate 
ranges from 2% - 10% of the retail price, depending on 
the number of proof gallons produced by the manufac-
ture nationwide.   

The revenues collected from the tax are deposited 
34.5% to the state general fund and 65.5% to the De-
partment of Public Health and Human Services for treat-
ment, rehabilitation and prevention of alcoholism and 
chemical dependency (16-1-404, MCA).

A small portion of this tax revenue is refunded from the 
general fund to the tribes that have a revenue-sharing 
agreement with the state.  Currently the state has agree-
ments with the Blackfeet, Fort Peck and Fort Belknap 
Tribes. 

Proof Gallons Tax Rate Per Barrel
Less than 20,000 3.0%
20,000 to 50,000 8.0%
50,001 to 200,00 13.8%
More than 200,000 16.0%
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State Liquor Distribution Profits

Cost of goods, agent discounts and state operating 
expenses are paid from the gross profit of revenues col-
lected by the Department of Revenue for distilled spirits 
sold to agency owned liquor stores. 

The remainder of funds is set up as an accrual to be 
deposited the following year.  In fiscal year 2009 the 
transfer was decreased by $1,750,000 due to a legisla-
tive appropriation for the liquor warehouse renovation 
project.

Liquor Licensing and Fee

All individuals and corporations producing, import-
ing, or selling alcoholic beverages in Montana must be 
licensed.  Alcohol licensees pay an initial fee to obtain 

 
Non-Tax Liquor Collections

 
FY2002 $2,225,504 
FY2003 $1,857,975 
FY2004 $2,062,646 
FY2005 $1,768,806 
FY2006 $2,091,179 
FY2007 $1,836,286 
FY2008 $3,155,184 
FY2009 $2,301,438 
FY2010 $2,242,529 

Alcohol Taxes

 
Liquor Funds Transferred

 
FY2002 5,600,000
FY2003 6,000,000
FY2004 6,500,000
FY2005 6,650,000
FY2006 7,450,000
FY2007 8,200,000
FY2008 8,775,000
FY2009 7,250,000
FY2010 9,000,000
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Liquor License Tax collections were $8,118,270 in fiscal 
year 2009 and $8,138,240 in fiscal year 2010.

a new license, plus an annual fee to renew the license.  
Beer and wine licenses, restaurant beer and wine licens-
es, brewery and winery registrations, and vendor permit 
applications and renewals have varying fees. All-bever-
age licenses, which allow retailers to serve all types of 
alcoholic beverages, pay an annual renewal fee based 
on a sliding scale. For all-beverage licenses in cities with 
a population of 10,000 or more, the annual renewal fee 
is $800; in cities with smaller populations, renewal fees 
are lower. The number of licenses available in an area is 
limited by state law, depending on the population of the 
area (16-2-108, MCA).

The department retains license and fee revenues from 
the non-tax liquor collections in a liquor enterprise fund. 
The administrative and compliance expenses associ-
ated with enforcing the liquor laws of Montana by the 
Department of Revenue and the Department of Justice 
are paid from the liquor enterprise fund. Then the bal-
ance remaining in the fund at the end of the fiscal year is 
deposited in the state general fund.

 
Non-Tax Liquor General Fund Transfers

 
FY2002 $1,306,184 
FY2003 $558,198 
FY2004 $734,102 
FY2005 $431,316 
FY2006 $305,976 
FY2007 $436,316 
FY2008 $1,407,218 
FY2009 $399,280 
FY2010 $322,734 
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Alcohol Taxes

Fiscal Year
Cost of Goods 

Sold

Agency Store 
Commissions 
& Discounts

State Operating 
Costs

2002 $35,279,453 $6,797,458 $1,477,563
2003 $37,321,005 $7,432,835 $1,506,793
2004 $39,933,421 $8,165,280 $1,331,391
2005 $42,693,308 $9,161,860 $1,376,294
2006 $47,306,545 $10,147,568 $1,464,299
2007 $52,142,312 $11,130,789 $1,445,840
2008 $55,687,736 $12,114,487 $1,578,194
2009 $57,703,567 $12,557,813 $1,525,151
2010 $57,881,004 $12,616,802 $1,687,744

Off-Premise Wholesale
Type of            
License

Number 
Issued

Annual        
Fee

Type of 
License

Number 
Issued

Annual       
Fee 

Agencies 95 No Fee Beer 4 $400
Beer 98 $200 Wine 2 $400
Wine 8 $200 Beer & Wine 26 $800
Beer & Wine 718 $400

Total Off-Premise 919 Total Wholesale 32

On-Premise Breweries / Wineries
Type of          
License

Number 
Issued

Annual      
Fee

Type of 
License

Number 
Issued

Annual            
Fee

Beer 78 $200 Beer 89 $200 - 500
Beer & Wine 638 $400 Wine 729 $25 - 400
Beer & Wine & Spirits 1,605 $400-$800

Total On-Premise 2,321 Total Suppliers 818

Number of Licensees by License Type - FY2008


