
2017 Livestock Reporting Form
Montana law requires all livestock owners to report the number of livestock owned as of 
February 1.

What do I need to do?
By March 1, report the number of livestock you owned as of February 1.
By May 31, pay your livestock per capita fees.

What kind of livestock do I need to report?
See the list of livestock types in the reporting table provided.

Even if you owned just one horse and a few chickens, you still need to report. If you reported last 
year, but no longer own livestock, you still need to submit a reporting form to let us know that your 
livestock count is zero.

How do I report and pay?
There are two ways to report livestock. The reporting form is due March 1, 2017, with or without 
payment. If you do not pay with your reporting form, you will be billed in May. Payment is due May 31.

Online at reportyourlivestock.mt.gov OR Mail completed reporting form and payment to:

•	 Login to ePass.
•	 Report your livestock.
•	 Option to pay by e-check or credit 

card (additional processing fees).

Montana Department of Revenue
PO Box 6169
Helena, MT 59604-6169

Make check payable to Montana Department of Revenue.

What are livestock per capita fees used for?
Per capita fees fund Department of Livestock programs that monitor animal health, monitor and 
restrict livestock imports, track animal movements, prevent and investigate livestock theft and 
manage predators.

Note: Some counties have a separate fee to fund predatory animal control (PAC) for cattle and 
sheep at the local government level. The cattle and sheep head counts collected by the Department 
of Revenue for per capita fees are also used by the local County Treasurer’s Office for PAC fee 
collection on personal property or real property tax bills.

What if I have questions?
•	 Call us toll free at (866) 859-2254 (in Helena, 444-6900)
•	 Visit revenue.mt.gov



2017 Livestock Reporting Form

1.	 Name_ _______________________________________________________________________________

Address_ _____________________________________________________________________________

City____________________________________State____________________Zip____________________

2.	 Owner’s ID:	 SSN__________________________	 or	 FEIN__________________________

3.	 Daytime Phone Number________________________________

4.	 Email 

5.	 Report your livestock in the table. If needed, complete a separate table for each county where livestock are 
located on February 1, 2017. Make sure to indicate the county name on each table.
Report poultry and bees, swine three months of age or older and all other livestock nine months of age or older 
as of February 1, 2017.

	 County_________________________________ Property ID_________________________________
	 (If known please provide. Format of ID number is XX-XXXXXXXXXX-XXX.)

Livestock Type
A

Head Count
(as of 02/01/2017)

B
Fee Amount

C
Calculate Total

Horses, Mules and Asses (ponies, donkeys, burros) x $5.85 =
Cattle (cows, bulls, yearlings) x $2.29 =
Domestic Bison x $6.38 =
Sheep x $0.54 =
Swine (report all swine three months of age or older) x $0.78 =
Goats x $0.54 =
Poultry (chickens, turkeys, geese, ducks and other 
domestic birds raised as food or to produce feathers) x $0.05 =
Bees (number of hives or boards) x $0.41 =
Alternative Livestock (privately owned caribou, mule 
deer, whitetail deer, elk, moose, antelope, mountain 
sheep, mountain goats indigenous to Montana) x $26.33 =
Ratites (ostriches, rheas, emus) x $9.73 =
Llamas and Alpacas x $9.73 =

Add amounts in column C.
This is your total Per Capita Fee Amount due for this county. $

Affirmation and Signature
I affirm that the information provided in this reporting form is true, correct and complete.

Livestock Owner Signature_ _____________________________________ Date______________________

Important! 
•	 Amount Paid _ ____________________

•	 Reporting form is due March 1, 2017, with or without payment.
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