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What is an All Beverages license?

An All-Beverages license allows the holder of the li-
cense (the licensee) to sell liquor, beer and table wine 
at retail for on- or off-premises consumption between 
8 a.m. and 2 a.m.

An All-Beverages licensee can request from the Depart-
ment of Revenue a catering endorsement that allows 
the licensee to provide and serve liquor, beer and table 
wine at a special event within 100 miles of the licensed 
premises.

Where do I start?

In accordance with Montana law, the Department of 
Revenue issues a limited number of All-Beverages li-
quor licenses. The number is limited by the population 
of the city or town in which the licenses operate. 

To see if any All-Beverages licenses are available in the 
town or city you’d like to operate the license, contact 
the Department of Revenue toll free at (866) 859-2254 
or in Helena at (406) 444-6900. If a new license is 
available, you may begin the application process.  

If a new license is not available, you may be able to 
purchase a pre-existing license. Check with a local real 
estate agent or the Montana Tavern Association for a 
listing of licenses for sale.  

What are the associated costs?

•	 One-time Liquor Control processing fee: $200 

•	 Annual license fee for establishments located five 
miles outside the limits of an incorporated city/town 
that has a population of less than 2,000: $400 

•	 Annual license fee for establishments located inside, 
or within five miles of, the limits of an incorporat-
ed city that has a population between 2,000 and 
5,000: $500 

•	 Annual license fee for establishments located inside, 
or within five miles of, the limits of an incorporat-
ed city that has a population between 5,000 and 
10,000: $650

•	 Annual license fee for establishments located inside, 
or within five miles of, the limits of an incorporated 
city that has a population of 10,000 or more: $800 

•	 Catering endorsement fee (if applicable): $250



•	 Fingerprint card fee for each individual with 10% or 
more interest in the business: price subject to fluc-
tuation

How do I apply? 

To apply for a new or existing license, you’ll need to 
provide the Department of Revenue with the following: 

1. A completed Alcoholic Beverage/Gambling Operator 
Combined License application, including:

•	 A personal history statement, 
•	 A completed liquor authorization to disclose tax 

information form 
•	 A certified survey affidavit

You can file your combined license application at 
https://tap.dor.mt.gov/?Link=CombinedAPP. You can 
obtain a complete application package, as well as fin-
gerprint cards for background check, by visiting rev-
enue.mt.gov/home/liquor/forms.aspx or by calling 
(406)444-6900 or (866)859-2254. 

2. Financial records showing the purchase of the license 
and/or building, including:

•	 Copies of any loan agreements, contracts, notes 
and all related security agreements. If you didn’t 
take any loans, then you will need to provide cop-
ies of your bank statements.

•	 Copies of lease, rent, purchase options, financ-
ing agreements or other evidence showing pos-
sessory interest in the building

•	 Financial statements, such as balance sheet, in-
come statement or tax return for the business

•	 Franchise agreement
•	 Purchase/transfer documents for liquor license, 

such as buy/sell agreement, contract for deed, 
warranty deed and bill of sale

•	 Copy of business’ bank signature card 

3. Ownership information, including:

•	 Copy of partnership agreement documentation 
(if applicable)

•	 Copy of Articles of Incorporation and Amend-
ments or Addendums

•	 Copy of Bylaws and Amendments or Addendums
•	 Copy of Certificate of Fact (for LLCs and LLPs)
•	 LLC organizational information
•	 Copy of stock certificates, corporate minutes 

and attachments 

•	 Stock ledger or register
•	 Copy of Certificate of Existence (for instate cor-

porations)
•	 Copy of authority to conduct business in Mon-

tana (for out-of-state corporations)
•	 Copy of documentation from the Secretary of 

State verifying that the use of the assumed busi-
ness name (ABN) has been approved



•	 Copy of federal employer identification number 
(FEIN) verification from IRS

•	 Completed personal history statement form from 
each individual with 10% or more interest in the 
business

•	 Two fingerprint cards from each individual with 
10% or more interest in the business

•	 Fingerprint card fee for each individual with 10% 
or more interest in the business

4. Management information, including:

•	 Copy of employment, management and other 
agreements and contracts. If you are applying as 
an entity, you’ll need to identify who is managing 
the daily operation of the business and provide a 
management agreement of their duties or min-
utes showing their duties. 

•	 Personal history statement form from each man-
ager

•	 Two fingerprint cards from each manager
•	 Fingerprint card fee for each manager

5. Miscellaneous information, including:

•	 An Authorization to Disclose Tax Information 
form to verify that all involved parties are up-to-
date with their tax filings and payments

•	 A floor plan showing any areas where you intend 
to serve or store alcohol, including seating areas, 
external dimensions, entry ways and any patio 
area.

•	 A certified survey identifying the exact location, 
including address and quota area (city or coun-
ty), of the premises. The survey may be complet-
ed by a licensed surveyor.

Mail all documents to:

Department of Justice, Gambling Control Division 
2550 Prospect Ave 
P.O. Box 201424 
Helena, MT 59620

What are the steps in the application process?

The application process takes between 90 and 120 
days and begins when the Gambling Control Division 
(GCD) receives a complete application package and all 
supporting documents. The process follows state stat-
utes, as written in Montana Code Annotated. 

•	 Application is reviewed by the Department of 
Revenue, Liquor Control Division (LCD).  

•	 GCD sends a letter to the applicant requesting 
any additional documents it might need.

•	 After GCD receives all documents it requires, 
LCD then publishes a legal notice in a newspa-
per circulated in the city, town or county in which 
the license would be issued. The notice informs 
readers of the applicant’s intent to acquire a li-
cense. The notice also tells readers where they 
can send any objections they might have to LCD 
approving the license and the deadline for doing 
so.  



•	 LCD notifies local agencies with jurisdiction over 
the area (e.g. law enforcement, fire department, 
health department, etc.) of any deficiencies in 
the application. 

•	 After the protest deadline and the completion of 
the audit review, LCD and GCD conduct a final 
review of the application. If necessary, LCD and 
GCD request from the applicant any addition-
al documents that the audit review might have 
identified as needed. 

•	 If one or more people filed a protest, LCD sched-
ules a hearing with the applicant and protes-
tor(s). The application process is discontinued 
until the hearing examiner makes a ruling on the 
application.  

•	 Once the hearing examiner makes a ruling and/
or LCD has received all additional documents it 
has requested from the applicant, LCD promptly 
issues a final decision.

What are the rules of an All Beverages License?

State rule, as written in Administrative Rules of Mon-
tana (42.13.101): 

All licensees, their agents, and employees must conduct 
the licensed premises in compliance with the rules of oth-
er state and local agencies and abide by all: provisions 
of the laws of Montana and the United States related to 
alcoholic beverages; county and city or town ordinanc-
es related to alcoholic beverages; Indian liquor laws ap-
plicable within the areas of Indian country, as defined 
by 18 USC 1151, provided a tribe having jurisdiction over 
such area of Indian country adopted an ordinance, certi-
fied by the Secretary of the Interior, and published in the 
Federal Register; and rules of the department relating to 
alcoholic beverages. 

Sales and service

•	 All employees serving open-container alcoholic 
beverages must be 18 years or older.

•	 All employees who serve or sell alcohol, includ-
ing their immediate supervisors and the licens-
ee, must obtain training from a state-approved 
program within 60 days of hire and every three 
years thereafter. You can find a list of approved 
training providers online at revenue.mt.gov/
home/liquor/liquor_education. 

•	 No sales or service of any alcoholic beverage 
can take place through a drive-up or walk-up 
window.

•	 Though you may provide free alcoholic beverag-
es, you are still required to follow all laws and 
rules relating to consumption of alcohol on your 
licensed premises.

•	 You may serve alcohol on your patio or deck if it 
was specifically designated on the floor plan you 
submitted with your application, if it has a pe-
rimeter barrier and if it is immediately adjacent 
to the indoor portion of the licensed premises. 
A perimeter barrier must enclose the licensed 



premises in a way that clearly marks for patrons 
and employees where consumption of alcohol is 
allowed. A perimeter barrier needs to be a fence 
or wall at least three feet high or an alterna-
tive, department-approved barrier. A perimeter 
barrier may include entrances from the parking 
lot, sidewalk or other areas outside the licensed 
premises, regardless of whether those areas are 
land or water.

•	 You may serve alcohol on your premises lawn if 
the lawn was designated on the floor plan you 
submitted with your application, if it is imme-
diately adjacent to the indoor portion of the li-
censed premises and if it is enclosed within a pe-
rimeter barrier.

Concessions

You may decide to let someone operate a restau-
rant out of a portion of your building and sell alcohol 
in the restaurant. This type of arrangement is called 
a concession agreement, which is a mutually benefi-
cial agreement between a retail licensee and a non-li-
censed entity. The agreement must be submitted to 
the department for review and approval.

Consumption

•	 Patrons may consume alcohol in a “smoking hut” 
if the hut is part of the approved premises on file 
with the department. You need to be aware of 
local laws regarding open containers, which can 
change from one county or city to another. 

•	 No one, including the licensee or employees, 
may consume or sell any alcohol on the licensed 
premises between 2 a.m. and 8 a.m. 

•	 Only licensees and their employees are permit-
ted to be on the licensed premises between the 

hours of 2 a.m. and 8 a.m. If the establishment 
operates in conjunction with a hotel, restaurant, 
bus depot, railway terminal, grocery store, phar-
macy or other lawful business that doesn’t sell 
alcoholic beverages, the other business can re-
main open. 

Alcohol on the licensed premises

•	 Patrons cannot bring their own alcoholic bever-
ages onto the licensed premises. 

•	 The only alcoholic products you can have on your 
licensed premises are those you have purchased 
from a beer wholesaler, table wine distributor, 
brewery, winery or agency liquor store.

•	 If you have more than one licensed premises, you 
may not split product between locations. 



Alterations

If you decide to remodel or otherwise alter your estab-
lishment, to keep your premises licensed you will need 
to send to the department a written request explain-
ing the alterations and include a copy of the existing 
floor plan and a proposed floor plan showing the al-
terations. Once the department reviews and approves 
the request, you may begin the alteration without it af-
fecting your license. You cannot use altered areas until 
they have been approved by the department and have 
passed  building, health and fire inspections. 

If you decide to add a poker room to your licensed 
premises, you will need to follow the rules for altering 
your premises and ensure that you or your employees 
directly handle all the sales and service of alcohol in 
the poker room. You will also need to contact the De-
partment of Justice for operating guidelines of a poker 
room.

Seasonal business

If a licensed establishment—such as a dude ranch, re-
sort, park hotel, tourist facility or similar seasonal busi-
ness—would like to begin operating its license on a 
seasonal basis, it will need to send a written request 
for doing so to the department. If approved, the license 
closure is only effective from the date of the depart-
ment’s letter of authorization through the end of the 
specified period.

Miscellaneous

•	 Allowing bar tabs is the prerogative of the licens-
ee.

•	 You may store pre-mixed drinks, such as margar-
itas and daiquiris, in containers in your cooler for 
up to 24 hours.

•	 A licensed establishment may not close its doors 
early to start cleaning up if there are still cus-
tomers inside the premises. 
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