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What is it?
How can | own one?
What are the rules of owning one?
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W HAT IS AN AGENCY LIQUOR STORE?

An agency liquor store is a privately owned liquor
store that is under contract with the State of Montana
to sell distilled spirits and wine to the public and li-
quor licensees.

WHERE DO | START?

If you're thinking of opening an agency liquor store,
you first need to find out if the Department of Rev-
enue can, by law, allow it in the community in which
you want to open the store. Montana law limits the
number of liquor stores in any given community ac-
cording to its population. By “community,” we mean
an incorporated city or town, or an area the United
States Census Bureau identifies as a community for
census purposes.

Here are the numbers of liquor stores that commu-
nities of various populations in Montana may legally
have:

* One agency liquor store in a community with a
population between 0 and 12,000

* Two agency liquor stores in a community with a
population between 12,001 and 52,000

* Three agency liquor stores in a community with
a population between 52,001 and 92,000

* Four agency liquor stores in a community with a
population between 92,001 and 132,000

* Five agency liquor stores in a community with a
population between 132,001 and 172,000

* One store per 40,000 inhabitants in community
with a population of over 172,001

If you want to open an agency liquor store in a com-
munity of fewer than 12,000 people that does not
have a liquor store, keep in mind that an agency
liqguor store may not open in a community if it is with-
in 35 miles of another community where one or more
agency liquor stores already exist. (We measure the
distance between two communities by the shortest
route on a paved road from one community boundary
to the other.)

The exception to this law, allowing for more than one
liquor store in a community of fewer than 12,000 peo-
ple, is when the most recent population estimate of a
community shows a 25 percent growth or a growth of
1,000 inhabitants within a two year period, whichever
is greater, and when that population increase is rea-

sonably expected to continue for at least five years.

To find out if a particular community is eligible for a
new agency liquor store, contact the agency liquor
store specialist at the Liquor Control Division at (406)
444-6900.



How Do | APPLY TO OPEN A NEW AGENCY LIQUOR STORE?

After you find out the community in which you’d like
to open your store is eligible for a new agency liquor
store, you then need to present to the Department of
Revenue a petition signed by either 20 adults in the
community or by however many adults in the com-
munity it takes to equal five percent of its population,
whichever number is greater.

You must clearly state in your petition that you are
requesting the department to determine if a new
agency liquor store, operated by an agent under con-
tract with the department, should be opened in the
community. Make sure the petition shows the printed
name, mailing address and signature of each person
signing the petition.

Within six months of submitting your petition, you will
need to send a letter of interest to the department
stating that you are willing to submit a proposal or
bid to operate a new agency liquor store. After the

department receives the petition and letter of interest,

the department holds a public hearing.

A department hearing officer presides over the hear-
ing (which is not a contested-case proceeding) and
collects the information you and the general public

present. The department’s hearing officer determines:

1. if the department should solicit proposals or
bids for a new agency liquor store in that com-
munity (this allows all interested citizens an

equal opportunity to participate in the process).

2. if the department should consider any limita-
tions or restrictions on the location and opera-
tion of the new agency liquor store.

3. if the department should consider any other
issues or possible effects on the community di-
rectly related to the operation of the proposed
new agency liquor store.

If the department decides to solicit requests for pro-
posals (RFP), which we do in communities with popu-
lations of less than 3,000, or solicit invitations for bids
(IFB), which we do in communities with populations of
over 3,000, the process to select an agent begins. To
learn more about the RFP or IFB process, please con-
tact the agency liquor store specialist at the Liquor
Control Division at (406) 444-6900.

The department selects an agent according to the
competitive procedures outlined in the Montana Pro-
curement Act. An Agency Franchise Agreement is then
drafted. (Agency liquor stores operate under an Agen-
cy Franchise Agreement, not a liquor license.) The
agreement is for a ten-year period and is renewed
every ten years if the agent satisfactorily meets all
requirements.

If we receive no proposals or bids in response to an
RFP or IFB, or if none of the proposals or bids we re-
ceive meet the minimum requirements specified in



the RFP or IFB, the department will wait three years
before it again starts soliciting for a new agency li-
quor store in the community.

How po | PURCHASE AN EXISTING STORE?

If you are interested in purchasing an existing agency
liquor store, you may be able to buy one from a cur-
rent agent. Agents may sell and assign their Agency
Franchise Agreement to a person who, upon approv-
al of the department, is named as the agent for the
remaining term of the agreement, with all the rights,
privileges and responsibilities of the original agent.

Though the selling price is negotiated between the
agent and the buyer, the department will need to
know who is going to be responsible for any outstand-
ing balances and how those balances will be paid.
The process of approving a person or entity to be the
agent on an existing Agency Franchise Agreement
takes a minimum of 60 days.

Here’s a list of the documents we will need from you in
order to approve the assignment of an Agency Fran-
chise Agreement to your name:

* Financial records supporting the purchase of
the agency liquor store

*+ Copies of any loan agreements, contracts, notes
and all related security agreements. If you took
no loans, then we will need to see copies of
bank statements.

* Copies of lease, rent and purchase options, as
well as financing agreements or other evidence
of possessory interest in the premises

* Financial statements (i.e., balance sheet, income
statement or tax return for the business)

* Purchase/transfer documents for the agen-
cy store (i.e, buy/sell agreement, contract for
deed, warranty deed, bill of sale)

* Copy of bank signature card for the business

How po | PROVE OWNERSHIP?

Whether you are opening a new agency liquor store
or purchasing an existing one, here’s a list of owner-
ship documents we will need to see before you can
begin operating your business:

* Copy of partnership agreement documentation
(if applicable)

* Copy of Articles of Incorporation and Amend-
ments or Addendums

« Copy of Bylaws and Amendments or Addendums

* Copy of Certificate of Fact (LLCs and LLPs)

* Copy of limited liability company organizational
information

* Copies of stock certificates, corporate minutes
and attachments

* Stock ledger or register

* Copy of Certificate of Existence (for Montana
Corporations)



 Copy of Authority to conduct business in Mon-
tana (out-of-state corporations)

« Copy of documentation from the Secretary of
State verifying that the use of the Assumed
Business Name (ABN) has been approved

« Copy of Federal Employer Identification Num-
ber (FEIN) verification from IRS

* Personal History Statement form for each indi-
vidual with 10% or more interest in the business

 Two fingerprint cards for each individual with
10% or more interest in the business

* Fingerprint card fee for each individual with
10% or more interest in the business

And a few additional documents we will also need to
see:

A Tax Certificate Request or Good Standing
Verification (to verify that all involved parties
are in good standing with their tax filing and
payments)

* A floor plan showing any areas where you in-
tend to sell and store alcohol, including external
dimensions and entry ways

* A plat plan showing the adjacent businesses,
streets, parking, access for a 40-foot semi-truck
and where you intend to hang your signage
identifying your business as an Agency Liquor
Store

Please send all of these documents to the address on
the back of this booklet.

W HAT ARE THE ASSOCIATED COSTS?

There are no department-related costs associated
with the IFB/RFP process for a new agency liquor
store. In fact, you should not incur any costs associat-
ed with opening a new agency liquor store until you
have been awarded a contract. Once you are offered
the contract, you will be required to provide proof of
insurance and proof of control of the premises. You, as
the agent, are also responsible for buying the equip-
ment you will need to operate the agency liquor store.
The purchase price of an existing agency liquor store
is negotiated between the current agent and the buy-
er. The department plays no role.

W HAT COMPENSATION DO AGENTS RECEIVE?

Agents receive compensation in the form of a com-
mission rate discount. You receive the commission
rate discount through a reduction on the posted price
of liquor purchased from the state liquor warehouse.
The posted price is the department-fixed price of a
bottle of liquor and serves as the wholesale price in
the sale of liquor to all beverage licensees and as the



minimum retail price for other customers.

Agents for stores in communities with a population

of less than 3,000 receive a commission rate that

we initially establish at 10% of adjusted gross sales.
Agents for stores in communities with a population of
3,000 or more receive a commission rate that's set at
the percentage bid by the lowest responsive bidder.
For example, an agent with a 10% commission rate
discount pays the state liquor warehouse $108 for a
12-bottle case of liquor that sells at a state-posted
price of $10 per bottle. The commission rate discount
may be reviewed and increased every three years.

In addition to the commission percentage discount
rate, agents receive a price reduction on purchases
from the state liquor warehouse. This additional price
reduction, expressed as a percentage, is the agency
liquor store’s weighted average discount ratio. The
reduction serves the purpose of offsetting some or

all of the cost that agents incur for providing an 8%
discount on the posted price of liquor to any liquor
licensee purchasing liquor in unbroken case lots. (The
law requires agents to provide liquor licensees with
an 8% discount on full-case purchases.)

The weighted average discount percentage is re-
duced on all purchases the agent makes from the
state liquor warehouse, whether or not the liquor is ul-
timately sold to licensees at the full-case discount. For
example, an agent with a 10% commission and a 1.67%
weighted average discount percentage pays $106 for
a 12-bottle case of liquor that sells at a state posted
price of $10 per bottle.

You also receive a volume-of-sales discount rate if you
operate under a continuous Agency Franchise Agree-

ment for at least three years. There are two volume-
of-sales discount rates that an agency may receive--
0.875% or 1.5%. An agency receives one or the other
depending on if its sales volume (based on its invoice
dates in the previous fiscal year) falls above or be-
low a certain figure the department establishes each
year as the threshold, a figure that changes each year
based on inflation (it was $560,000 in 2008). Those
agencies with a sales volume of more than the thresh-
old receive the 0.875% volume-of-sales discount rate.
Those with less receive the 1.5% discount rate. By April
1 of each year, the department determines the dollar
values of the sales volumes by using an inflation fac-
tor, based on the change in the cost of liquor to agen-
cy liquor stores during the prior calendar year.
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W HAT ARE THE RULES OF OWNING AN AGENCY LIQUOR
STORE?

* Montana law requires agency liquor stores be
open a minimum of six hours a day between 8
a.m.and 2 a.m. It also requires stores be open
Tuesday through Saturday and closed on Sun-
days, Mondays and all legal holidays. Stores



may, however, be open on Mondays that are not
legal holidays if 51% or more of the all-bever-
age licensees in your immediate market area
sign a petition - on a form prescribed by the
department - agreeing that the agency liquor
store located within the immediate market area
may be open on that day. The department will
verify the validity of the signatures on the peti-
tion, and if the department determines that the
petition contains a sufficient number of valid
signatures, the agency liquor store within the
market area will be allowed to transact business
on Mondays that are not legal holidays. Keep in
mind, though, that the state liquor warehouse
will observe the closure on Monday and not be
open.

Agents must order inventory on a depart-
ment-prescribed day every week. To be cost
effective, we require that agents order a mini-
mum of four cases, which can be a combination
of full cases and re-pack units. Agents can order
products in less than full cases. The department
offers approximately 600 products in re-pack
units.

Agents must pay for all liquor purchased from
the liquor warehouse within 60 days of the date
on which the department invoices the liquor to
the agency liquor store.

Agents can deliver to licensees and must re-
ceive payment upon delivery.

Agents cannot offer samples at an agency li-
quor store, nor can they allow containers of any
alcoholic beverage to be open or any alcoholic
beverage to be consumed on store premises.
Agents can sell just about anything in an agency
liquor store with the exception of beer (which
includes malt-based wine coolers). They can

even sell table wine, purchased from a wine dis-
tributor, without having to acquire an additional
license from our department.

Agents must sell liquor to all beverage licens-
ees (bars and restaurants) at the state’s posted
price, as listed in the current quarterly price
book for that month. An agent must give an 8%
reduction on case lots sales to licensees, but
may mark up the price to the general public
above the posted price. An agent may never sell
for a price less than the posted price unless the
product has been discontinued.

All employees who serve or sell alcohol, includ-
ing their immediate supervisors and the licens-
ee, must obtain training from a state-approved
program within 60 days of hire and every three
years thereafter. You can find a list of approved
training providers online at revenue.mt.gov/
home/liquor/liquor_education.
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For MORE INFORMATION

If you have any questions regarding agency liquor
stores, contact the agency liquor store specialist at
the Liquor Control Division at (406) 444-6900.



Department of Revenue

Liquor Control Division
2517 Airport Road
P.O. Box 1712
Helena, MT 59624

Phone: (406) 444-6900
Fax: (406) 444-0718
Website: revenue.mt.gov
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